We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Costa Rican Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal to your Saves list
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Old Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our Costa Rican Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I arrived at the Westin after a 4 day stay in the Arenal region at the Tabacon Hotel. Upon arrival at the Westin, we were escorted to the Royal Beach Club towers where we stayed for 5 days. When walking into the lobby, we were handed a cool drink and oriented to the hotel. We then met Erick Hernandez, our concierge for our stay. He brought us to our beautiful suite in Tower One of the Royal Beach Club. The room was clean and beautiful. We were on the 3rd floor and we had two full baths, a living room and master bedroom. On our balcony, we had seats and a hot tub. Erick was available during our stay for anything we could have needed. Upon our arrival, he made us dinner reservations for each night of our stay (reading other reviews we saw that this was a complaint among other visitors that it was difficult to obtain restaurant reservations but for us that was not at all the case)

The only activity we participated in at the westin was kayaking (which was included) and horseback riding on the beach at sunset because we had done a lot of activities in the first portion of our trip ... for the horseback riding, we chose to go through Eric Garcia's guys at the beach rather than the company represented by the hotel... it was cheaper and also we didn't have to shuttle anywhere to ride the horses... $25 each if you paid cash, $30 each if credit card was used compared to the $45 each cost the hotel representative was charging.. it was a great experience and once down on the beach at sunset, we took some great pictures ...

Since this was the relaxation portion of our trip, we took it easy.. We used the gym facility that the Westin had and it was clean with fresh towels and a water cooler. We would then go to the buffet breakfast which had omelets to order and a great "green juice" along with anything else you could have wanted for breakfast.. after breakfast we usually went to the beach for a few hours. On the beach, there are a TON of vendors selling things but usually didn't bother you too much after you told them you weren't interested. My husband took advantage of the $20 beach massages and highly recommends them. The spa at the westin also offers massages which during our stay we had a couples massage which was also great.. it also gives you full access to sauna and pools when you use the spa services.

One thing we loved was that our concierge Erick set up for us to receive coffee and a fruit platter every day at 7 am. It was nice waking up to coffee already prepared before we started our day

We got a lot of our clothing very muddy during the first part of our trip & had to do laundry which I recommend for anyone to avoid.....the total for just a couple of shirts, shorts and some socks was $109.00

BRING ANY MEDS YOU MAY NEED, BUG SPRAY (IF YOU'RE GOING ON EXCURSIONS) & SUNSCREEN. If you forget these items , there is a gift shop with everything you could possibly need, however, like any other resort, they jack the price up. (ex bug spray, $20.00).. we met a couple whose husbands only pair of flip flops broke and he had to resort to buying $60.00 (the cheapest ones) flip flops at the gift shop....

There is a photo center on the resort and they offer an hour long photo session at sunset on hotel grounds...starting up by the photo center and finishing on the beach at sunset... . the photo shoot is free but requires you to buy a minimum of 10 pictures at $15.00 each. It is a little pricey but TOTALLY worth it. the photographers take amazing shots and although we ended up spending a little more than planned on pictures, we love every single picture (they give them to you on a CD) .. they're amazing

Again, we did not do a lot of excursions from the westin because we had done them in the arenal region, however, the activities and excursions (from talking to other people) were mostly long drives from the westin

highly, highly recommend the westin for a relaxed stay in costa rica. absolutely beautiful... and compared to the rainforest, did not rain one drop while we were there :)

Room Tip: royal beach club is the way to go if you're traveling as a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Nicole M,
Thank you so much for choosing us for your honeymoon.
We're glad to hear that you had a wonderful time in our Royal Beach Club and that you felt pampered by our staff. Thank you so much for your kind comments about our people, we're always working to give our guests a beautiful vacation. As well, it's nice to know that you enjoyed the facilities of The Spa, an atmosphere of relaxation.
When your travels bring you back to our beautiful province, we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,348
    586
    170
    47
    28
See reviews for
636
1,025
13
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just returned from a week at the Westin. We are from United States and we travel abroad every year. We've been traveling for the past 10 years with our children so we have lots of experience with resorts and this vacation was the best yet! After reading pretty much all 2,000 reviews I had some concerns about food, sickness, the beach, and getting an adjoining room (5 in our family had to get 2 rooms). The food was interesting. It was ALL GOOD however we are from the Midwest of United States and like hamburgers, chicken, and cheesy fries. You won't be getting these staples. Again, food is good to great, but selection is odd. Make reservations at every restaurant upon arrival. They are all good - better than the buffet although buffet is fine - just hard to find normal stuff to eat. Sickness - we just did what the reviews said - washed our hands all the time and used hand sanitize that the Westin provided plus they had station every where to use sanitize. We had a total of 7 in our party and nobody got sick. The beach - reviews are right - the ocean can be rough. Our small children are 10 & 8. There were a few days we didn't spend much time in the ocean because it was rough. But we snorkeled, went surfing, and had plenty of ocean fun swimming. All beaches in Costa Rica are public so be prepared for that. The vendors are not an issue on the beach. The massage ladies kind of bug you, but I just nicely said no thank you and they leave you alone. Costa Rica's are very nice people. We had 8 total massages from Gigi and her team for $20 each! TERRIFIC massages! Based on previous reviews we did use Erica Garcia on the beach to book surf lessons, jet skis, horseback riding, & banana boat. He's very good. Would use again. The last concern I had was our room. All of that worked out perfectly. I emailed the hotel about 1 week before our arrival and although they could not confirm adjoining rooms until arrival it all worked out. Rooms are nice and clean. Layout of hotel is big. Lots of walking but the shuttles are nice to take too. No big deal to us - we like the exercise. My mom and dad went (in their 60's and they don't exercise) and they didn't complain. So really no big deal there. Pool is terrific for families with kids. Only weakness the Westin has it there lack of activities. They post organized activities daily, but they don't do them. The guest has to make sure they happen. I don't think they have an activities director. They need to work on this.Shows every evening at 9pm are good. Drinks are fine. We would definitely come back to the Westin!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Katrina A,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We're happy to know that all your family had a great time in our resort. Thanks for your kind comments about the food, our Chefs will be happy to read your review! As well we appreciate your words about the facilities and services and your suggestions about the activities.
We're always working to be better for our guests and this kind of constructive comments are very helpful to us.
Hope to welcome you back again soon!
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
choochoo town
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous grounds, excellent food (though restaurants were better than the buffet), great drinks, beautiful golf course, wonderful staff. The rooms are nice but a little odd in their layout--unless you're in the bathroom area, there is no privacy at all unless the curtains are drawn. Curtains open and you can see the entire main room, including the bed. Not a big deal though. One word of advice--don't book your excursions from the hotel. Take one step onto the beach and you will be presented with opportunities aplenty from the locals. We did the jetskis and horseback ride from the "blueshirt people" and had a fantastic time. The horseback ride especially was phenomenal. Anyway, the resort is not to be missed, and we will be back!

Room Tip: Resort is "beachfront" so to speak, but no rooms have a beach view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear 4tiresngas,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We're glad to know that you enjoyed such a wonderful time in our resort!
We will be waiting for your next visit!
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My Boyfriend and I started our Costa Rica Vacation here at the Westin for a few days then we went whitewater rafting to get to our next hotel which was the Arenal Kioro. We were debating back and fourth between this hotel and the RIU.The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the beach is amazing. We spent a lot of extra money for the westin name and I don't think it was all everyone makes it out to be. I emailed the hotel and had requested a king bed, upon arrival we found out that isn't what we were getting. I was very upset because I had the emails stating it wouldn't be an issue. We had to fight to get a king bed and then wait 3 hours to gain access to our room. All said it done it was great that they fixed their mistake but it was fusterating that we had to put up a fight for them to keep their word especially when we found out the hotel was only at 30% capacity. The food was just okay nothing to rave about. I made all my reservations for dinner ahead of time through emails. However do double check your reservations when you arrive because they mixed up the times on a few of my reservations. We have been to other all inclusive resort's and the food has been delicious so it was a little disappointing. One of the nights I got sick from the dinner. Luckily I saw a lot of other people's reviews prior to coming and brought medicine from home so I recouped pretty fast. The breakfast buffet was terrible and food was always covered with fly's. The room service breakfast is outstanding and free so I recommend just ordering breakfast to the room every morning. For lunch we liked ordering the pizza to go at the pizza place and bringing it down to the pool. The beach was lovely the first day everyone knows your new and asks you a thousand questions because it is a public beach (all the beaches in Costa Rica are) but after ten-fifteen minutes everyone leaves you alone and it is pure bliss.If you ask someone at the hotel they will bring you down chairs and an umbrella so you can relax. We got massages by Gigi on the beach you cant go wrong with $20 massages. Just go down to the beach make a left and you will see her giant sign. The rooms at the hotel were very spacious and very clean. Drinks and bartenders are fantastic.The hotel it self is gorgeous it just didn't blow me away. My next trip to Costa Rica I would definitely choose a different hotel.

Room Tip: Wifi even when you pay for it still isn't very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear jbuonantuono,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the incident with the type of bed in your room, and we're glad to hear that after a while you had a room with king size bed. As well, we regret that our restaurants and culinary offer were not to your liking, but it's nice to know that you enjoyed the room service, and the drinks and bars as well.
Hope the next time you visit Costa Rica give us the opportunity to host you again to offer you a better experience.
Best regards,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This resort was absolutely amazing. My boyfriend and I went up for 4 nights and wish we could have stayed longer!

Getting to the Hotel: The drive from the airport is about an hour and costs $90/each way if booked through the hotel via Rizo Transportation. We thought it was completely worth it given they were very quick to respond and very easy to book with.

Resort/Rooms: Every area of the resort was always very clean, the staff was very warm and welcoming and the all-inclusive activities were great! If possible, try to get a room near the 4300 range as those are closest to the pool and the beach access (If they show you a map of the resort, there are three buildings east of the pool that are regular rooms, try to get one of those). The bed was very comfy and everything I would expect from a Westin hotel. We went snorkeling and saw many types of fish and even saw some eels! I would advise you ask and/or check when the low tide is to maximize visibility. The amount of wildlife here was amazing! The Coati Mundis (squirrel-like creatures with long noses) are super cute. If you are munching on a pizza (or any food), be careful as they will try to snag it from you if you put it down. We were also greeted on our first night there by a raccoon sitting on our porch. The butterflies hang around the pink/red flowers near the Mitra buffet alongside the fence. There's also iguanas all over the resort and some very interesting orange and red squirrels. Monkeys are a little harder to spot, so when you drive in the main entrance, look up in those trees as that was the area we saw most of them.

Food: The most impressive part for us was the food. I've stayed at many all-inclusive resorts before however this one was by far the best one I've ever experienced. You do have to make reservations for each restaurant and I advise you do this upon check-in so that you can have dinner at each one. Our favorite was Las Candelas, the Latin American restaurant near the pool. The food here had a great variety and was very tasty (we ate here twice during our four night stay).

Tours: We did a full day waterfall tour at a park called Sensoria. It was $145/person but definitely worth it! It is a two hour scenic drive from the resort. We stopped at a local village bakery and had freshly brewed coffee and pastries there halfway between the resort and final destination. The tour itself lasted about 5-6 hours. We visited 5 waterfalls total, the first three were very chilly, the 4th was cool and the last one was a warmer "hot spring". My biggest recommendation is taking watershoes (Keens, Chacos, etc.) as they'll give you a better grip on the ground while in the water. I wore tennis shoes and socks (they told us that was the best option) and I would not recommend. Take a waterproof bag for your camera/phone because it does rain a lot up there!

Beach: The beach near the resort is nice, however too crowded for our liking. If you walk out west about a mile, the beach there is much quieter (we were the only ones there for hours). I actually took a nap out there which was pretty awesome. The souvenirs on the beach are mediocre at best, so I would recommend checking out the wood pieces in the hut by the pool, I regret not buying one!

Room Tip: Try to get a room straight east of the pool by the souvenir hut as those are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Daisy A,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We're happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time in our resort, and enjoyed the beautiful nature and wildlife around you. As well, thanks for your kind comments about the food, we're glad that you enjoyed it! Hope to have you back soon!
Warm regards from playa Conchal,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Before coming to Liberia, Costa Rica, I read every single reviews posted on Westin, Hilton (both all-inclusive), the Four Seasons and Andaz. I reviewed all the positives and negatives, hence decided on The Westin. Needless to say, I don't regret at all.
The Westin is located about an hour from Liberia Airport. We rented a car and drove through paved road. Caution, they drive a bit slower here not only because of the road rules but they just like to take their sweet time.
The lobby of the hotel (main lobby) is gorgeous and spacious. Straight-away, they help you with your luggage as you check-in and hand you a welcome drink (delicious virgin mojito). We were lucky to have gotten upgraded to the Royal Beach Club hence was whisked away by a "shuttle" to the special Royal Beach Club check-in, where as it was in the main reception, we were given welcome drinks as we waited to get checked-in. Note, you will be given a bracelet that you'll have to wear for the whole duration of your stay at the property. This proves that you're a guest.

TOP NOTCH staff service - not sure if its cultural but everyone is so nice, helpful, always smiling, always seemingly happy. Is it the sun? the water? Not sure but special mentions goes out to David the special butler/concierge in Tower 1 at the Royal Club. Yazmina (not sure if this is the right spelling), the RBC manager. So accommodating, so professional. We had various (A/C, internet) issues with our room and she upgraded us to an even bigger suite! Then looked in to our issues straight away.
The room: It isn't the Four Seasons but the rooms have got all the amenities one would require when traveling. They're clean, not super worn out but tastefully decorated and like I said, they're fine!
The Food: Because its an all-inclusive hotel, you get to eat and drink to your heart's delight. It isn't why you would come to stay here however, the food's fine not gourmet but love the fact that they offer variety and especially plenty of health options. Love the 24/7 room service, at least two restaurant open at various times during the day (pasta, salad, sandwiches) and buffet at Mitra if you can't make up your mind.
There are plenty of activities within the compound so one don't really need to venture out.
Overall, highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Request to get a room close to the pool/shopping center/restaurants. Else you'd either be walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear travel_i_adore,
Thank you so much for choosing us for your vacation in Costa Rica.
We're glad to know that you had a renewal time in our resort and that you enjoyed the exclusive services and facilities of our Royal Beach Club. We appreciate your comments about the staff of Royal, they're dedicated to give the best for our guests. As well, thanks for your comments about our culinary offer, glad that you enjoyed our healthy dishes.
Hope to welcome you back again soon!
Warm regards from playa Conchal,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Westin Playa Concha Resort & Spa

Upon arrival we were promptly and warmly welcomed curbside. The bellman took responsibility for our bags and walked us to the front desk to check-in. We were immediately welcomed to the hotel by Eder G. who was very pleasant, helpful and checked us in with efficiency. As we stood at the check-in counter a waiter handed us each a refreshing cold drink, a very nice touch. We asked Eder for recommendations on the restaurants at the property and he gave us both the official response “they’re all wonderful” that you hear everywhere, and when pushed a touch, he also gave us his personal (which he clearly identified as his personal) opinion. This kind of honesty is so welcomed by guests. We’re smart enough to see through the “fake” answers. We came away from the check-in process impressed already with the staff, and Eder in particular.

(Note: you can’t make dinner reservations after 4pm, so if you arrive after this time and would like to eat somewhere other than the International Buffet, you need to call before arriving and push them to allow you to make reservations at least for the first night – they’ll tell you that you can’t make reservations in advanced, but pushed they will take them.)

Next an opened-air shuttle whisked us to our room. The rooms are call bungalows and appear to be 8 rooms per building. The room was attractively decorated and appeared to be in good condition, at first. I was a bit surprised that the bellman that took us to our room and handled our bags also felt the need to check and make sure everything worked. I’m guessing he does this, as more often than not something is wrong. In our case we’re glad he did check. The refrigerator was not working or stocked, the key slot used to turn the lights on didn’t actually require the key to work, a light bulb was out and the clock was not set to the correct time.

The bellman called maintenance and they showed up in less than 5 minutes! Wow, great response time! Unfortunately the repairperson told us the refrigerator was working and that the product inside was warm simply because it was just restocked (funny since the bellman had told us 5 minutes earlier that it was not stocked and he would send someone to stock it). The repairman left and the person assigned to refill the refrigerator showed up a couple minutes later. We expressed concern about the refrigerator not working. He called maintenance for us and although we don’t speak Spanish, we’re pretty sure maintenance told him they had already checked it and that it was working. He could tell we were still concerned and to his credit he took things into his own hands, pulled the unit out and loaded it into his beverage cart and brought us a new one. Restocked it full of beverages and confirmed we were happy. Although you hate to deal with things not working 5 minutes after arriving in our room, thanks to a great restock person all was well and we were moving forward again with our visit.

(Note: This property is showing it’s age, a higher quality maintenance program would go along way to improving this property and its appearance. Mismatched concrete patches, bent or chipped lighting, and electrical outlets that were not secured tightly to the exterior walls were common throughout the property)

The pools are beautiful, the restaurants have been recently updated and there are lots of activities. The beach is also very nice and large. You do have to navigate the local vendors that are stationed directly outside the gates to the Westin, but they are not pushy and common in this area. If you want a massage for $20 you have lots of options. There are also watercrafts of all types that you can use or in some cases rent. The beach was very clean and well kept.

The room design was ok. It was very open and if you and your significant other aren’t on the same except sleep schedule it’s a bit hard to be respectful of the one wishing to go to bed earlier or sleep in. The room design does allow for an easy fix however if the hotel wishes. A simple curtain of some type could easily isolate the bed area a bit from the balance of the room. This would have made a big difference for us. A night-light would also be helpful given there are two steps down from the bed area to the bathroom. Loved the oversized shampoo and lotions. Finally someone got this right! And the bed was so comfortable, a dream to sleep on for sure.

The food at this all-inclusive was excellent. The portion sizes were great and the food was very fresh. With the exception of the bee’s (lots of bee’s) that surrounded the poolside bar, the drinks were very good as well.

The staff is the shining diamond at this property. The level of service (minus the one maintenance person) was top notch, world-class at every turn. The hostess, Cinthia was wonderful from the first night at dinner at the Asian Bistro until our final breakfast. I was impressed that she offered us the choice of two tables at dinner, a 2 top and a 4 top. This is a really nice touch that is rare. Another call out goes to Fernando, a waiter we had for dinner one night and then for lunch a couple days later. He remembered our names and even what we like to drink. Amazing considering this is a large resort with lots of guests. There was no question that he cared, took notice and wanted us to feel important. This type of service was common at this property and I wish I had captured more names. One other that comes to mind was Albin who took care of us at the CaraCola (poolside restaurant). Even the young lady working the towel shack was great, taking the time to explain the towel control card in detail with a smile.

The staff at this property is top-notch. Some of the best I’ve ever had the opportunity to enjoy, and I rarely find this to be true. In fact I reviewed another 5 star property recently that should send their staff to stay at the Westin to see how it’s really suppose to be done.

Opportunities for improvement – 1) Overhaul the maintenance staff and improve the quality of repairs. 2) Create an environment in the rooms that would work better for people that would like to sleep on slightly varied scheduled. This is a simple fix that would be a big upgrade to the rooms. 3) Add a make-up mirror for those of us who wear contacts – or make-up. 4) Offer Wifi for free throughout the property. The days of charging $15 per day are over, long ago over. And even if you do pay, you need to switch back and forth between the room and the few areas were Wifi is provided for free … this is a pain. 5) Add some additional English speaking TV channels. There’s only one and it gets old after a while. 6) Add more lighting in the coffee bar within the room, super dark even once the light bulbs were replaced.

Overall I would recommend this property and primarily due to the outstanding service provided by the staff. They anticipated your every need.

~ Reviews by Rich

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Rich E,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We're glad to know that you enjoyed a great time in our resort, and deeply appreciate all your comments and suggestions, your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future and will help us to achieve our goal: offer our guests a renewal vacation and beautiful memories. We will keep your comments in mind to keep working to offer the best to our guests. As well, we appreciate your kind words about the staff, the culinary offer and the facilities and services.Thank you very much, and when your travels bring you back to our beautiful province, we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.