We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will have a great time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Save Saved
You added The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Playa Conchal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You will have a great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This resort was so incredibly relaxing! Our expectations were exceeded all around! The grounds were well kept, as well as the beautiful pool and beach. The food was delicious, especially breakfast! On our first night we arrived later in the night but were still welcomed enthuastically by the staff, and also the room service we had for dinner was delicious! The room we had was clean and modern with a fantastic luxorious bathroom. We stayed during off season (August) so it was very quiet and peaceful, I'm not sure how it is during the busy season.
We stayed at a different hotel at the end of our trip and had a horrible experience there, I'm glad we got the chance to stay here. It really was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Melh1985,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We're so happy to know that you had a great time with us, enjoyed our green areas, services and food.
We will love to have you back.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,306
    566
    166
    46
    26
See reviews for
616
1000
13
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hale,manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have been to this resort before, in 2012 and to be truthful it was shocking, ever since food, service, quality and language barriers have been improved. To make it a fantastic stay. A 5* resort. This time I bought my family. My 5 kids became friends with an American family, so I treated them to a ride on the jet ski powered 'Banana Boat' 70$ for 15 minutes and they didn't enjoy it but when the mother of the other family to 'repay' me took them on a boat they had promised 30 mins for 70$ because we went yesterday, after 15 minutes the knot between jet ski and boat broke so they pulled up, deflated the boat after 8 minutes, took there jet ski and drove off with our money. SO WHATEVER YOU DO DON'T GO ON THE BANANA BOAT!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Danthetravellman,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
Was a pleasure for us to have you back!
We're glad that you enjoyed your time in our resort.
Hope to see you again very soon! we will be waiting for you.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peapack, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I just returned from the Westin Playa Conchal and I can't say enough wonderful things about this resort. I'm a travel agent and have travelled all over the world. This resort by far is one of the most service oriented resorts I've travelled to. The food, the attitude of the employees and the grounds...all amazing! I was in Royal Service.....HIGHLY recommend! They bring you drinks/food right to your lounge chair and theres a private lounge with coffee.drinks..snacks most of the day. Check in was nice with being greeted with a tasty mojito.They have music going but at a nice..lower volume,,more background music. book Royal service Junior suite..we were right by beach in #1 building..few minutes walk from Royal Service pool but beautiful sunsets right from the glass enclosed porch. We travelled off season..so it was never crowded. We lucked out with weather..being the rainy season..it only rained a little in afternoon. Kudos to John and Yasil at the Westin! Thank you Tanya! Also if you book tours/excursions/transfers..use Memo adventures...memo-adventures.com! AMAZING time fishing..atv/zipline tour with Memo. So don't hesitate to go to this resort anytime of the year..you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Royal Service junior suite with glass enclosed porch..nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear DarMun,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We're glad to know that you had an amazing time in our resort and enjoyed the facilities and services of the Royal Beach Club section.
Thanks for your kind comments about our staff, we all work with passion to provide our guests beautiful memories and wonderful vacations.
We are looking forward to have you back.
Warm regards,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a great resort! We are so pleased we picked The Westin as our Honeymoon destination.

The actual resort is huge and beautiful. They have animals called Coate that look like monkeys walking around, which adds to the ambiance. The pool is gorgeous, and we loved the swim up bar.

The beach is very intimate, which is why we liked it! When you walk out to the beach, you HAVE to talk to Erik (He'll be standing outside wearing a blue shirt....you can't miss him). He gives you discounted prices on all of the excursions....Try to request Ricky to be your tourguide for the day. We went with him for the Mega Combo tour and the RiverBoat ride....DEFNITELY do the riverboat ride....just ask Erik about it and he will tell you (it's WELL worth it....but ONLY if you go through them). The other bonus with the resort is that they have beach activities like snorkeling and kayaking at your disposal, and we would totally recommend the snorkeling. We went for 4 days and saw so many amazing fish right at the reef about a block down the beach (by the rocks). Such an amazing view!

The Staff at the Westin was AMAZING. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The main reason why we had such a fun time at the Westin was because it was so fun to be around the amazing bartenders, activities directors, and wait staff.

Although we went in the off season, we loved it because it was quiet and not overly crowded. The night got pretty boring though, with only one activity to do at 9:30 but some of the things they had were fun (Circus Show, Magic Show, Trivia Night, and a Costa Rican Culture show...the rest of the nights they had movies....we didn't want to watch a movie on our honeymoon so we wish they did more activities at night). The activities during the day were not lacking at all though. They had sporting events, workout exercises, and fun things at 4:00 to do like cocktail tasting, sushi making, coffee tasting, and tequila tasting...we had a blast doing those!

The only thing we didn't absolutely love was the Food...When we heard 5 star resort, we were expecting 5 star quality food and this was not the case. It wasn't awful, and we didn't get sick (which was a big plus), but we thought the food could have been a little better. They definitely had options (French, Italian, Mediterranean, Latin American, Asian, Pizza, Lunch, and Buffet) which was nice, but we definitely didn't LOVE any of the restaurants. However, the French Restaurant Scallops were amazing and I liked the Mediterranean restaurant the best! The pizza's were surprisingly tasty as well.

Overall, would we come here again? Absolutely! We loved it and had a great time and hope to come back on an anniversary so we can have another great week at another great resort!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Jenna P,
Thank you so much for choosing us for your honeymoon! We're honored!
We're happy to know that you enjoyed the facilities, services, staff and wildlife.
Thanks for your comments about the foods, this help us to improve in all the areas, and we're always looking for the best to offer to our guests! We will work in this, so hope during your next visit, you'll love our culinary offer.
We will be waiting for you!
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent hotel. Complete service. They received you very friendly in the main Lobby (we remember the kindness of Alberto Cortes among others), bring you a mojito and proceed with the check in. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. The pool is really large and the wet bar is something you don't want to miss. All staff is really friendly, treating you like an old client and makes you feel at home. The All inclusive service is all you can expect for it. No restrictions. The food is always excellent and the "a la carte" restaurants in the evening are beyond expectations. The beach looks like a virgin beach, something hard to find nowadays. Coaties, iguanas and birds run between the villas in the gardens of the hotel. Our son enjoyed them the most!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Maite120570,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
We're happy to know that your stay in our resort exceeded your expectations! and that you enjoyed the facilities, service, food and wildlife, and of course, the beautiful beach, Conchal.
We are looking forward to have you back.
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a trip ...an experience of a lifetime!
We arrived at the Westin on a Saturday after picking up our rental car (National Rent a Car - not impressive!) and we're immediately greeted with refreshing mojitos and an introduction to our concierge, Bergen. We were quickly whisked away via golf cart to check in (very accommodating) and then dropped off at our room. The bungalow was incredibly spacious and beautifully appointed. We were close to the pool which is where we met Jorge Piña, who I can honestly say is now a new friend. While this trip was definitely a get away for us, our plan all a lot was to have the Westin be our "hub" where we relax and unwind, but that we also wanted to experience Costa Rica and it's amazing culture and adventures. This is where Jorge made a huge impact on our trip. After enjoying several "dirty monkeys" complements of Jorge out by the pool, we ended up asking Jorge where we should go. His recommendations were spot on! And while we did get lost a few times, the experience and memories we now have are even more meaningful thanks to Jorge, and honestly, the entire staff at the Westin. Until this trip, we had never experienced an "all inclusive". In short, Alli' and my expectations were blown away. If you're considering a trip to Costa Rica, put the Westin Playa Conchal at the top of your list. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: We stayed in the bungalows near the beach...I'd recommend doing the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Bill B,
Thank you very much for sharing your kind comments with us.
We're happy to know that your stay with us exceeded your expectations.
Thanks for your comments about Bergen and Jorge, they're a fundamental part of our crew and we're very happy to have them with us.
Hope you can back to visit us again soon.
Warm regards and Pura Vida from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The resort was absolutely beautiful. The staff was great and very helpful with everything. The food was delicious with great variety. The pool was extremely large and the pool bar staff made the trip extra fun. There was plenty to do on the grounds and options to leave the grounds for activities. Everything worked our just great with the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinConchal, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Christy D,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review.
We're happy to know that you had a great time with us and enjoyed your vacations.
We hope to have you back soon!
Warm regards from Costa Rica,

Zasha Pérez Gallardo
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.