We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cerritos, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great hotel and incredible grounds. Lush and beautiful. Service was amazing and the food was top notch. We got some rain but they cannot control the weather. Try not to go during the rainy season. Yet, if you want peace and quiet that is the best time to go....

Room Tip: Resort is very large. Choose a room near the pool area. Most restaurants are in that area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,130
    499
    146
    41
    21
See reviews for
517
890
9
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jenison, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a fantastic resort! We stayed 3/1/13-3/8/13.The grounds were beautiful. The staff was so friendly. The 1st room they placed us in smelled like old smoke ( and the rooms are all non-smoking). I called the front desk and the manager found us a new room and had us moved with-in 15 minutes. Rooms are clean and spacious. There is abundant wild life on the grounds ( monkey, racoons, coati's, iguana's and many many types of birds). the food was FANTASTIC!! we ate at the buffet for breakfast and lunch. There was a fantastic selection for both meals. We dined at the restraunts for dinner. Our absolute favorites were Cauri ( french) and Las Candelas (Latin), but every restauraunt was good, I especially recommend the fish, it is so fresh. The pool area was beautiful and always seemed to have enough chairs, but we are beach people. the Beach is a public beach, so there are locals ( they may try sell you things but are VERY polite if you decline). The beach is not busy or crowded and the Westin Staff has beach chairs available. The beach is huge and you can walk a long way down it. There is usally a very nice breeze on the beach. The water is cooler than the caribean and is not clear, but absolutely swimable and a nice way to cool down ( was 95-98 the week we were there) It is Dry season from Dec-May, and there had been no rain for 3 months, so the surrounding area is not lush and green like you see in pictures, it is still a pretty landscape with rocks and hills, but the vegetation is pretty brown. ( The resort waters so its landscape is green).

One recommendation. You need to make your restaurant reservations the day you get there and they fill up fast. I e-mailed them several days prior to our arrival and got the 1st few nights set up ahead of time. If you dont do that you may end up at the buffet ( we never ate there for dinner, but it was excellent for breakfast and lunch)

Eric Garcia on the beach was fantastic to book a trip through. We booked our day trip to Arenal through him. This is a long trip, but the rainforest is beautiful and the chance to see a volcano was well worth it. Unfortunately it was rainy the day we were there and did not get to see the volcano. we did zip line and walk on the hanging brides. This was a wonderful experience and we had a private tour with Enrique ( Kiki). he was so friendly and provided a safe and fun day with all kinds of information and was able to spot animals we never would have seen. We saw a sloth, monkeys, tucans and coati's

Downside- was minimal, but they do not have many bars and the pool bar closes at dark. they seem to have a lot of conventions and 3 nights one of the bar areas was closed for a private part. The only othe negative is 3 of the 7 days we had many many small and very annoying flys that you could not actually get away from them. One night they were so bad that I had to move inside from the porch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lots of Pros here: Lovely and accommodating staff, overall. Lots of choices for dining, and food was good quality for an all-inclusive. We had no problems getting a reservation as some have noted. The Italian resto was best, surprisingly, as we are not huge fans of Italian food. The French spot was great too, despite warnings against it. The resort was well maintained, although initially I felt the exterior structures looked a bit institutional in striving for modern simplicity. We loved the pool area, and the super friendly staff. In particular, the gals at the towel/activity centre, our water aerobics/yoga instructor (Sorry, it was about a month ago, and their names escape me now.) and the young Argentinian resort photog.
The Cons: Nothing major. We initially had a room with two doubles rather than a King bed but we politely asked for a King when it was available and they gave us a great room next day. The only tiny complaint I'd make was that on two occasions, food requests were dealt with slightly begrudgingly. One morning we were leaving early for a tour and wanted some quick room service breakfast. I had to call twice (no answer) and got clearly frazzled individual on the third ring who quickly advised me that it would be up to one hour and quickly got off the phone with me. Perhaps they were understaffed. We just went to the dining room, which was quick and delicious. On another occasion returning late from a tour, we were accommodated for dinner at Cauri, but it took a bit of wrangling, and the manager or whoever was clearly not delighted. We get that it was a bit late (9:30) and we didn't have a reservation (it was 30% full, maybe), but the buffet restaurant was closed (without notice) so we had few other options. We ate quickly and left a good tip, and the service was lovely otherwise. But it is these little things that count sometimes, especially when one is paying a bit extra for a better experience. However, these are small matters. The experience overall, was excellent and I would recommend the resort highly. TIPS: Book your restos on the first day. Take advantages of the fitness classes!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Some confusion during check-in. We were upgraded to the Towers (adults only), which was a bonus. The room however had 2 queen size beds instead of a single king which was what we wanted. When I told them I would go back to the original reservation with the king-size bed it had already been re-assigned. I was somewhat irritated and told them that was pretty unprofessional. After about an hour of waiting in the Towers clubhouse (having cocktails) another room in the Towers was found with a King-size bed and we moved in. I was made to feel like it was somewhat of a burden for them to do this and I should be very grateful. The front desk offered apologies for the delay and promised a bottle of wine would be delivered to the room. That never happened. I didn't care but don't promise something and not deliver. The room had a garden view which was less than spectacular. It looked like it had recently been defoliated. While this was somewhat disappointing for the room price it did provide for some unexpected wildlife viewing (see pix). We didn't spend much time in the room anyway.
The room was clean and nice. We had to ask for an iron and board because it was missing. We had to ask for hand towels and facecloths because they were not replaced after use. The room itself was not serviced for the last 2 days we were there. The minibar was not re-stocked on a regular basis.
The Towers had its own pool with swim up bar, and restaurant offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Best of all there were no screaming children (bonus). Special thanks to David at the pool for providing excellent service and Spanish lessons. Gracias Amigo, Pura Vida.
The Towers restaurant had an outstanding breakfast buffet, lunch, and dinner items.
We had dinner at every restaurant and all of the meals were outstanding as was the service.
We tried the dinner buffet outside of the adults only area and that was pretty lousy. Food was cold and not appetizing).
The Towers Concierge's were outstanding and quickly fixed most of the issues.
The grounds of the resort were immaculate, well kept, and quite beautiful. Lots of iguanas, families of white-nose conties, birds, and a solitary monkey were encountered in our walks (see pix).
The beach (which is outside of the resort) was spectacular. It was a little crowded right outside the gate of the resort but if you turned left and walked for 15 min you had the entire beach to yourself. The beach itself was exceptionally clean (as was all of Costa Rica that we travelled through); the water was pristine and warm. You could not have asked for a nicer beach experience. Bring towels to lie on. Excellent sea shells for collectors.
We did a zip-line half day tour which was great, and a shopping trip to Tamarindo. Souvenir prices were about the same as the resort.
Didn't use the spa services.
We are not overly fussy. Overall it was a good experience with just a few minor irritations. The service staff were very friendly and tried very hard to accommodate our requests. Still a little pricey.

Room Tip: Stay in the Adult only towers if you want to avoid children. Beware of the Guaro. It will hurt you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCManagement, Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear jph704,

Thank you for sharing this great review of your recent vacation at our resort! I am very happy to know that you had a chance to visit all of our restaurants and found them outstanding in every way. I am also glad that, with the exception of the check-in process and your room’s location everything else exceeded your expectations and provided for a memorable experience of Costa Rica.

Nevertheless I am sorry for the lackluster experience during your registration process. Though high season proves a true challenge in trying to accommodate to each customer’s requests for bedding and location preferences —due to the obvious scarcity of available inventory— you should always feel tended to, with a genuine and caring attitude. I am sorry if this was not the case.

Finally, I agree fully with you… beware of Guaro and do enjoy it responsibly. It goes so smoothly in the right cocktail, that you might not know what hit you.

Muchas gracias,

Victor Gomez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The place is nice enough and the food is mostly good but not great. The resort is inclusive and you can feel trapped. With the exception of Pesotes you could be in Florida or anywhere. The service and staff were great with the exception of getting dinner reservations. That is a nightmare that is unexplainable. We were so frustrated by the dinner reservation issues that we went to Tamrindo almost every night for dinner. The food in that village is great at Copacabana and Nibbanna. The drinks are good at La Palapa but the food is not.

Be sure to also walk up to the beach to Braslito where there is an adorable little village where you can get lunch and a drink but not much more.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCManagement, Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear groverguy,

I want to show my gratitude for your contribution related to your recent stay at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal. I am delighted to read that you found our resort to be very nice, with good food at our restaurants and a great staff!

Though I understand that when enjoying certain areas of our resort you could not necessarily feel in Central America, it is the simple possibility of walking a little over half a mile to explore Brasilito village or taking a 20 minute drive to discover vibrant & surf-infused Tamarindo town —just as you did during your vacation— that will unmistakably set you within the magic of our exotic location within Costa Rica. As I have discussed with many a traveler, enjoying an all-inclusive resort does not necessarily mean that you have to be sequestered within its walls and exploring the area can also be part of a fun AI vacation. We believe that the resort’s location at Guanacaste’s countryside with its lushness, warm weather and small villages pairs beautifully with a cold margarita or mojito enjoyed pool-side with a slice of our freshly-prepared wood-oven pizza. The best of both worlds.

We hope to host again in the not too distant future!

Muchas gracias,

Victor Gomez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Pros: Hotel and property are absolutely breathtaking. The service here is worth noting; the staff takes pleasure in helping with any need, whether large or small. We stayed at the Royal Beach Club (Tower 2) in Room #2308. Although I was traveling with a girlfriend of mine (we left the boys at home), we joked that this room was the epitome of the “fantasy suite.” The room itself was huge, including two bathrooms, copious amount of closet space and a large balcony with two extremely comfortable chairs for lounging. The best part of the Royal Beach Club is that it caters to adults only; children are not allowed in this section of the resort. Our concierge, Bergen, was fabulous! He greeted us every day by name with a huge smile and made sure we were always taken care of.

Cons: The food here is OK. Make reservations as SOON as you arrive (or up to a week prior to arrival). Best choices are La Catalina at Reserva Conchal (extra surcharge – WORTH IT!), Mediterra and Bamboo. The rest of the restaurants did not impress as food was bland and typical of all-inclusive resorts.

Miscellaneous:
1. Pay your departure tax AT the hotel. We were so glad the hotel offered this service to us. If not, we would have waited at huge lines in the airport.
2. Took the Aqua Class at 11am in the main pool – it was a blast (yet surprisingly challenging) and the teachers were very high energy + nice on the eyes. Wear a supportive bathing suit!
3. We partied in town of Tamarindo (20 minutes by shuttle) on Friday & Saturday night – this town is a total party scene and we loved everything about it! Highly recommend Monkey Bar & Beach Bar – open air bars with live music.

Tours: We read about Eric on TripAdvisor before our trip and all posted comments are true – he is the best! Eric is located immediately outside the Westin (on the beach). He was friendly, knowledgeable and the prices are cheaper than booking with the Westin. We booked 3 adventures with Eric; horseback riding on the beach, river tour to Palo Verde and massages on the beach with Gigi.

Horseback riding – Spectacular! The guide let us do as much as we wanted for an hour. The horses were not typical trail horses – they moved if you asked them to! As an experienced rider, riding on the beach for an hour with no rules was fabulous.

Palo Verde – we loved our guide Keke! He was friendly, experienced and very attractive (thanks Eric!). We saw beautiful scarlet macaws, crocodiles, howler monkeys and white-faced monkeys. We came face to face with the white-faced monkeys and fed them mangos right from our palm! It was incredible. On our way home, we stopped at a supermarket and picked up some local coffee ($3 a bag vs. $11 at the airport).

Massages – WOW, Gigi and team are the best! We had massages on the beach at sunset. It was incredibly relaxing and worth the $30/hour.

Costa Rica is a dream destination; you can do as much (or as little) as you want. The Westin offers all types of services, from couples to families and everything in between. If they could just improve on the food, it would be perfection!

Room Tip: If you are an adult without children, you MUST stay at the Royal Beach Club (exclusive to adults onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and if you're considering staying here...you absolutely should! My husband and I traveled here 8.2012 and had an unforgettable vacation! The resort is gorgeous, our room was so clean you could eat off of the floor and the grounds were beautiful and constantly being maintained. The staff was incredible and beyond helpful. We were there for 8 days and by the 3rd day no matter what restaurant or bar we went to, the staff knew who we were. Stephanie Guitierrez was an absolute pleasure to work with and Katherine, Marisol & Milena deserve a special shout out for being so sweet and welcoming!

August is their off season, and it was perfect! I think there were close to 400 people staying the same week but you never knew it. The rooms are laid out 4 a pod and when it got dark, all you could hear was nature and it was glorious. The pool/bar was always full but never overly crowded and the restaurants were always at capacity but not in an obnoxious way. I will say this...if you're looking for a party hotel....the playa conchal is NOT it...at least not when we were there. It was however INCREDIBLY relaxing! I suggest going off season if you're able.

We experienced amazing bird watching, enjoyed seeing the millions of coati daily (there was a huge family of them that lived by our room) and we even saw some monkeys! The beach club restaurant had great food - ceviche was amazing and we loved the Latin restaurant, and the one that served cuisine from different countries (forget the name). The buffet was also really good any time of day. Never a disappointment! All of the food was excellent, however our least favorite was the French restaurant.

The drinks are great and strong, the pool is beautiful and the beach is breathtaking! Their sunsets are the most beautiful we've ever seen....bring a good camera! The fridge is stocked daily w alcoholic and non alcoholic beverages and you can get room service just about any time of day. I highly suggest taking the resort golf tour, great picture taking opportunities - we saw lots of monkeys! Also, snorkeling is free and there's a guide who takes you out about 20 minutes by kayaking, to a reef that is FILLED w/ aquatic life. He picked things up like puffer fish, squid and starfish and let us touch and play w whatever he could get his hands on. We loved this excursion so much we did it twice! We also went far right on the beach and there's great snorkeling there however we saw a giant sting ray and high tailed it out of there and back to the main beach.

We did two excursions with Eric Garcia - zip lining and a rain forest, volcano tour. Eric is located right outside of the gate when you go to the beach. Not affiliated w the hotel. He's great to work with and we were totally safe. On the rain forest tour it was just us and our guide Rico Suave who was fantastic and really gave us a great experience and taught us a lot of CR history past and present.

Bring the highest SPF you can find. It is hot hot hot and the sun is brutal! It cost us $30 for SPF 40 that we got at the resort store. We got fried, snorkeling. We've traveled many places before...such a rookie mistake!!

We stayed in the main area and only a few children were there. We had a huge water volleyball game one afternoon which was a blast and many people we met were staying at the royal beach club but loved the "regular" pool and bar much better. I also went to the spa which was divine!! Definitely check it out if spas are your thing. We didn't do the "club" thing at night but did do the nightly shows which were great! Very little nightlife when we were there which was fine for us. We thought we would hate not having a casino or things to do late night but being up real early and being out in the sun all day...I don't think we ever made it passed 11pm!

Last but not least...definitely take a day trip to Tamarindo...beautiful and awesome surf town! Great food, fun shopping! Also - buy local coffee! The reserva is what all the locals drink and what the hotel serves I believe and it's fabulous and less than $2 a bag! Don't buy the coffee at the resort coffee bar... It's very expensive!

One thing I will say...,if you want to get a true rainforest experience, or want to go to the cloud forest, butterfly conservatory etc. split your trip in two if you want to stay here because its really quite far for a day trip. We fell in love with CR and everything about it that when we eventually go back (because that's the plan) that's where we are headed!

Room Tip: See if you can ask for a room in the middle near the shops as its centrally located to everything. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal
Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal to your Saves list