We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, LOVED!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal to your Saves list
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love, love, LOVED!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and if you're considering staying here...you absolutely should! My husband and I traveled here 8.2012 and had an unforgettable vacation! The resort is gorgeous, our room was so clean you could eat off of the floor and the grounds were beautiful and constantly being maintained. The staff was incredible and beyond helpful. We were there for 8 days and by the 3rd day no matter what restaurant or bar we went to, the staff knew who we were. Stephanie Guitierrez was an absolute pleasure to work with and Katherine, Marisol & Milena deserve a special shout out for being so sweet and welcoming!

August is their off season, and it was perfect! I think there were close to 400 people staying the same week but you never knew it. The rooms are laid out 4 a pod and when it got dark, all you could hear was nature and it was glorious. The pool/bar was always full but never overly crowded and the restaurants were always at capacity but not in an obnoxious way. I will say this...if you're looking for a party hotel....the playa conchal is NOT it...at least not when we were there. It was however INCREDIBLY relaxing! I suggest going off season if you're able.

We experienced amazing bird watching, enjoyed seeing the millions of coati daily (there was a huge family of them that lived by our room) and we even saw some monkeys! The beach club restaurant had great food - ceviche was amazing and we loved the Latin restaurant, and the one that served cuisine from different countries (forget the name). The buffet was also really good any time of day. Never a disappointment! All of the food was excellent, however our least favorite was the French restaurant.

The drinks are great and strong, the pool is beautiful and the beach is breathtaking! Their sunsets are the most beautiful we've ever seen....bring a good camera! The fridge is stocked daily w alcoholic and non alcoholic beverages and you can get room service just about any time of day. I highly suggest taking the resort golf tour, great picture taking opportunities - we saw lots of monkeys! Also, snorkeling is free and there's a guide who takes you out about 20 minutes by kayaking, to a reef that is FILLED w/ aquatic life. He picked things up like puffer fish, squid and starfish and let us touch and play w whatever he could get his hands on. We loved this excursion so much we did it twice! We also went far right on the beach and there's great snorkeling there however we saw a giant sting ray and high tailed it out of there and back to the main beach.

We did two excursions with Eric Garcia - zip lining and a rain forest, volcano tour. Eric is located right outside of the gate when you go to the beach. Not affiliated w the hotel. He's great to work with and we were totally safe. On the rain forest tour it was just us and our guide Rico Suave who was fantastic and really gave us a great experience and taught us a lot of CR history past and present.

Bring the highest SPF you can find. It is hot hot hot and the sun is brutal! It cost us $30 for SPF 40 that we got at the resort store. We got fried, snorkeling. We've traveled many places before...such a rookie mistake!!

We stayed in the main area and only a few children were there. We had a huge water volleyball game one afternoon which was a blast and many people we met were staying at the royal beach club but loved the "regular" pool and bar much better. I also went to the spa which was divine!! Definitely check it out if spas are your thing. We didn't do the "club" thing at night but did do the nightly shows which were great! Very little nightlife when we were there which was fine for us. We thought we would hate not having a casino or things to do late night but being up real early and being out in the sun all day...I don't think we ever made it passed 11pm!

Last but not least...definitely take a day trip to Tamarindo...beautiful and awesome surf town! Great food, fun shopping! Also - buy local coffee! The reserva is what all the locals drink and what the hotel serves I believe and it's fabulous and less than $2 a bag! Don't buy the coffee at the resort coffee bar... It's very expensive!

One thing I will say...,if you want to get a true rainforest experience, or want to go to the cloud forest, butterfly conservatory etc. split your trip in two if you want to stay here because its really quite far for a day trip. We fell in love with CR and everything about it that when we eventually go back (because that's the plan) that's where we are headed!

Room Tip: See if you can ask for a room in the middle near the shops as its centrally located to everything. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,542
    653
    208
    54
    34
See reviews for
724
1,167
17
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Pros- Loved the rooms. They were clean, large and beds were super comfy. I also enjoyed the pool area, there was always plenty of chairs and a swim up bar.

Negatives- Lack of Beach area. My husband and I walked to the beach the first day we got there and quickly noticed the large sign giving warnings about the beach. As soon as you step foot on the beach, you are literally attacked by vendors. I hated not being able to enjoy the ocean. Also the food, it was about the same as I've had at all-inclusive resorts which is not great (except for Sandals which I love).

*We sprang for the $39/person upgraded dinner one night and was TOTALLY worth it! The best food and service we had while there. Plus the view was great over an infinity pool

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Family and I just returned from the westin hotel Costa Rica.Although rooms are clean and people are very friendly,the service leaves alot to be desired.There was a tremendous lack of communication and very annoying mistakes that seemed to be a constant.When you order room service for three,they bring you one fork,and forced to call back each time to correct.Orders were usually wrong.You are forced to make reservations well in advance to eat,I emailed the week before and unfortunately they made mistakes on the nights I had reserved I always showed up an hour late even though I had written confirmation of those times..If you call and leave a message for someone to call you back ,you have to continue to call as messages are not passed on.Found this very frustating and aggravating.There is alot of competion for the excursions and the best person to go to is
Eric Garcia who stands outside on the beach and he is great.HIs service is great and he is cheaper.On the Westin's premises their person was constantly after me and even threatened me that if I did not go with hotel's person it could be very dangerous.This is all nonsense.Food at the hotel is average, except for the cauri which is good.Had a good time with things to do in Costa Rica as weather was beautiful,but the hotel is certainly not five stars when it comes to service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was a wonderful place to go. The reservations could've been better. We could call after 8:00am to make them for that evening and called at 8:08 and they were all full on a few different occasions. So we ended up with room service a lot.
We used Erik from Trip Advisors on the beach instead of through hotel and he was GREAT! Awesome Excursions/half the price!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Words can not describe how fabulous this resort is! My husband and I brought our 7yr old son Feb 10-17....and the Westin Playa Conchal had it all!! First of all, the grounds are spectacular; from the soft, rolling hills of the golf course, to the views from the lobby and the landscaping - amazing....not to mention the gorgeous pool and beach. The Westin's modern and simple dark-wood decor is so refreshing as compared to most other resorts who drench their buildings in peach and flamingo pink paint reminiscent of the1980s! Our unit was in building #39, so we were in close proximity to everything, including most of the restaurants, pool and beach, shops and spa. Getting around was easy - the golf cart shuttles passed through regularly if we needed to get up to the main lobby. But you want to walk around here to experience the beauty! The staff could not be more accommodating or attentive. They were polite, always with a smile, and very hard-working. We opted for the Family-Concierge package which gave us a exclusive area at the pool with specialized service all day long. Selena and Valerie were so attentive and a pleasure to know. We loved Valentine who took amazing professional shots of us thorughout the week to create visual memories we will have forever. The Westin Kids club was great for our son, and they really got him engaged with activities from exploring the wildlife (iguanas, coatis, howler monkeys are everywhere) to a bonfire, crafts, etc. Rachel was his favorite! The activies crew was super as well, and with Victor's coaching, our 7-yr old son came in 2nd place in the ping pong tournament. All of the activites staff members were great - they managed to get people involved without being too pushy. I really enjoyed the coffee class taught at Britt. - learned a lot and enjoyed the tasting. Swim up bar was awesome - they started preparing at 8am and were there until about 8pm every single day. Food throughout the resort was great - French, Asian and Latin cuisine, as well as Italian, Mediterranean (our fav). And, we were really impressed with the Mitra buffet.- top notch quality food and nice, diverse selections for breakfast and lunch. We even had a very nice dinner there one night after an all-day excusion. Food service staff was great - I wish I could remember everyone's names - they were all so wonderful! We opted for Swisstravel tours (the one affiliated with the resort) for our Mega-Combo tour, which consisted of ziplining, horseback riding, hotsprings, etc.) and we were not disappointed! Perfect weather in the 90s with bright blue skies all week!!!!!

One suggestion - have a fresh fruit bar accessible throughout the day - unless you are sitting inside a restaurant or ordering room service, it is very hard to order a plate of fruit to snack on.

We want to plan our next trip to Westin RIGHT now for next year. Not kidding - I woud live there if I could.

Room Tip: Rooms in units #39, 40 are close to the pool, beach, shops but still very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I will keep it short and sweet... We were extremely disappointed.

The beach, 3 out of 10. Very little chair real estate, constant hassling by vendors, no bar, water is ROUGH and cold.

The food, 1 out of 10. Food poisoned from the buffet. Met other couples with same symptoms, location, and timing. Onsite management just tried to sell physician services and a "shot". No thanks. Overall quality was something that you would expect from airplane cuisine. (and no i'm not kidding" Upgraded liquors at the RBC made it tolerable, and pool food was OK when available.

The Royal Beach Club. I won't spend time describing, but rather will post pics and let you make the choice yourself. After speaking with Westin Corporate, our RBC upgrade was credited back to our account. Kudos for recognizing the shortfalls, wish onsite management cared even half as much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in March, just two adults. While the hotel was near full, a lot of the guest were groups, hence the restaurants and pool area were not as crowded as we expected, which was great. We were upgraded to the Royal Beach Club, Junior Suite for our stay.

Rooms: A-
If you are adult only vacationing, I would highly recommend the Royal Beach Club. No kids allowed, and you get your own pool, restaurants, lobby, and concierge staff to help you. It's well worth the extra money! Our room had a huge balcony with jacuzzi and we had two large bathrooms. Note though that no rooms overlook the ocean. Our room had no view, but that didn't bother us. There are a few rooms (not in the RBC) that overlook the ocean through trees. But most rooms have no views by the nature of how the resort is set up. If you want ocean views, then perhaps look elsewhere.

Staff: A
Everyone around the resort was very friendly. Even the gardeners stopped to say good morning. We found the concierges at the RBC to be exceptional. Anything we needed they were there.Especially "John" who ran the morning shift.

Restaurants: B
The food was excellent, however we found the portions to be small at dinner. So we ended up ordering two apps a piece which they didn't care. You MUST make dinner reservations when you arrive. On days we didn't make any reservations, the only seatings were really late. However we never found the restaurants full at the times we ate. Seems like they leave a lot of tables open. But the waitstaff was very attentive at all times. We didn't think there was enough dinner options for kids (no quick grab and go place) but us being without kids it was fine for us.

Pool: A
Royal Beach Club pool was quiet and lovely. Waitstaff helpful to get you drinks.

Resort grounds: B
Not up to a Four Seasons level, but overall very nice grounds. It's very very large. We didn't mind walking everywhere. It was nice to stroll around. But others on this forum tend to complain about having to walk or catch the shuttles to get around. The shuttles do come around all the time but I think those who complain about this are lazy. It's not THAT far from end to end.

Spa: A
Had a massage for $122 which seemed reasonable for a resort. Was excellent. Spa is very very nice.

Beach: C
The beach is a snooze. The sand is a bit rocky. And as soon as you step on the beach (it's public) you are met with vendors trying to get you to book a tour or buy a souvenir. Stay away.

Overall I would very much recommend this resort.

Room Tip: If traveling without kids, spend extra for the Royal Beach Club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Media 8, Inc., Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.