We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Destination in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal to your Saves list
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Destination in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We've visited Costa Rica 5 times and have visited a different part of the country each time. It's a favorite destination for us. We never stay at a big resort and typically prefer the smaller mom/pops. But we LOVED the Westin. Fabulous Beach and Pool with very clean and spacious villa-like rooms! So nice to see such a variety of restaurants at an all inlcusive resort. Great food! Many online reviews raved about Erik Garcia. I must agree - BOOK ALL YOUR EXCURSIONS through Erik Garcia on the beach. we didn't think we'd find him but low and behold- we went onto the beach via the main entrance and there he was! Just like everyone said he would be! His prices were half of the hotel's concierge and they were exactly the same trip. In fact, the river cruise we did had others from our hotel on our boat (so I know it was the exact trip) We enjoyed the horseback riding on the beach so much, we did it TWICE! The ATV ride was a thrill! The 7-day trip was amazing! We'd go back again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: try to request a room close to the beach - it puts you in a great location to walk to restaurants, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,534
    649
    208
    54
    34
See reviews for
720
1,161
17
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at the Westin for 6 days. The rooms were excellent. Clean and roomy. Pool was awesome as well as the bar in the pool. Food was great. We hit the buffet most of the time as we were super busy. Take a trip to Tamarino, it's 20 20 minute car ride. Beach is beautiful, big waves and surfring. VEry freindly. Good out to beach and take right, about 1/2 mile down is Brasadilai. Cool little village to have lunch or a beer.
You have to do the excursions! We did the 4-wheel, zipline, catamaran, and jet ski, as well as take surf lessons. Go see Erik Garcia. He is the best. Very knowledgeable. No pressure. Set us up with everything! Props to his helper Pablo, for takling care of all of us! Just loved It there. One thing I did not expect, No bugs! Maybe it was the time of the year. Can't wait to go back. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCManagement, Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Martin G,

We appreciate this review of your recent vacation in Costa Rica at our resort. We are very happy to know that everything was to your satisfaction and that we exceeded your expectations!

It is great that you took the time to visit neighboring Tamarindo town! A beautiful upbeat community with surf running through its veins and a vast array of shops and restaurants, it is a jewel of Guanacaste’s northwestern coast! I personally visit this amazing town at least once a week!

We hope to see you back at soon!

Sinceramente,

Victor Gomez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A very wonderful six days spent at The Westin! Bungalows clean, everyone professional and friendly! Food was amazing! That surprised me the most because you don't often find that the food is all that great at all inclusive resorts. Lots of different choices! Pool was great! Eric Garcia on the beach will provide affordable excursions - we did canopy zip line and national park boat ride and atv's! He is very professional and gracious, trustworthy and insured. His wife Gigi is on the beach and will do affordable massages!!! Costa Rica is a beautiful place along with meeting wonderful people!

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalow and it was clean and nice. Recommend staying near pool. It's close to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our stay at The Westin was very comfortable. We stayed on the family side of the resort which was a lot closer to the main pool and most restaraunts. The food was very good. We especially like The Bamboo which served asian fusion. The pool side conceirge was worth the extra and my daughter loved Valerie in the kids club. She begged to go and do the arts and crafts and adventures with the kids club. (She normally does not like to spend much time in the kids club) This vacation was very active and adventurous with a lot fun excursions. We had read on Trip Advisor to go out to the beach and visit with Erik Garcia for excursions. All of the people on Trip Advisor were exactly right! Thank you Erik for your help in arranging horse back riding and ATV Tours for us and Erik even helped the group we were with to the Monkey Crocodile Jungle Tour to Palo Verde National Park which our group consisted of 18 people. The guide that Erik sent us with, Mitch, treated our daughter like a little princess. He took her hand and lead her down to the boat a head of all the adults and gave her the best seat on the boat. He made sure that she saw everything that he was spotting and even gave her a white lily flower. He helped her to feed a banana to the white face monkeys which was a huge highlight to her trip. Mitch is a very kind person and we truly enjoyed all of his knowledge and expertise. My daughter liked him so much that she gave him a package of chocolate chip cookies at the end of the tour from her backpack which he greatly appreciated. Erik also helped us to book massages out on the beach with his wife which were fantastic and really relaxing hearing the waves crashing in on the shore. Much cheaper than the resort's spa. If you are hesitant about using Erik, don't be! He was so helpful and guided us to the correct tour to match our families needs. He is honest and the people he hires to guide you on your tours are very kind people who greatly appreciate the chance to guide you to show you their country and it helps them so they can make a living. We are all about helping the little guy! :-) These guides also stop along the way of the tours to show you many sites you probably would not see otherwise. We had no problems at all and really got to see a lot more of Costa Rica for a better price by using Erik! Thank you so much Erik for your services and tell everyone Hola from your "Nebraska" family! We appreciate good service!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our stay at the Westin Conchal was fantastic. The staff and accommodations were second to none. We chose this location because of the ammenidies at the hotel (which were fantastic) but the other opportunities within close proximity were excellent as well. We were very fortunate to meet Erick Garcia, a local excursion planner that worked with us and helped us take advantage of all CostaRica had to offer with adventures we'll never forget. Erick understood what we wanted and made suggestions that worked within our timeframe and budget, thank you Mr. Garcia. He is located on the beach at the hotel, perfect.
It's very important to me that I say without mycostarica.com non of this would have been possible. The folks there (especially Lynn Bateman) were so accommodating its hard to describe, just contact them if your considering Costa Rice as a destination. On a side note to fellow Canadians, fees were not an issue (yes we are cheap) so no worries.
All around an excellent country to visit,

Pura Vida

JW

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Would highly recommend to all my friends and family. Great food, the staff was extremely friendly! Excellent all-inclusive, the only meal that was buffet was breakfast and it was wonderful too. Never a problem getting a lounge chair by the pool. Very clean resort, shuttle aways available, if you didn't want to walk. Never had a problem making a reservation for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Westin for 7 days, 6 nights and had an Amazing time. The rooms were Very nice, the grounds were kept up with and clean. The food was awesome, the service was excellent and all the Ammenities were Great. however, there was one thing that put this trip over the top. That was Erick Garcia, with the Trip Vendors on the Beach (outside the Hotel). They were Very Professional and excellent planning. Everything was above and beyond with them. Alex Rabbit (part of Ericks staff) took us out to explore the nightlife and we had an absolute blast. Safe and secure the entire night with transportation accommodated. Ericks wife Gigi gave The BEST full body massages on the beach. all in All it was Excellent!!If you stay at the Westin or anywhere near Playa Conchal go see Erick to schedule all yourAdventures!! Pura Vidal!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Media 8, Inc., BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.