We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Save Saved
You added The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Playa Conchal
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent 5 days at The Westin, Playa Conchal in December 2012. Our experience was really good. The service was ok; the room was very clean; the resort grounds well kept, etc.
The beach was beautiful and not crowded. at all.
We've booked a ATV and zip-line tour with Erik. Good service; interesting experience. We rode the ATV for about 1h to the zip-lining place. I liked it because we got to see the villages, Flamingo beach and the area, etc. Loved it.
The food was delicious, but there are not many options on the menu, so we would recommend trying different restaurants so you don't get board with the same stuff :)
We would definitely return to this resort.
Enjoy your vacation!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,299
    564
    166
    46
    26
See reviews for
614
994
13
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melville, new york
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our stay at the Westin was even better than expected. Part of the reason was the supervisor Tri, who more than extended himself in making us a very happy couple. He gave us a wonderful room right near all the activities which made everything we did so-o-o convenient. The pool is beautiful, the specialty restaurants are good; especially the Italian and Meditteranean restaurants and the workers are a delight. The people of Costa Rica are polite, warm, helpful and a joy to be with. They helped make this vacation a pure delight. I would return to this place in a "heartbeat."

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, in a junior suite, in the 4000 room area which we loved. We were near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We just got back from a week at the Westin and it was definitely the place you want to go in Costa Rica. Let me say we've done All-Inclusives all over the South, so we have a pretty solid baseline. We would go back tomorrow, and frankly regretted not booking 2 weeks.

Service: Okay, this is the point that I want to make. I know I rated excellent overall, because really it is excellent overall, but the service was not great. Please read the full review though, because you will see why overall it is excellent. I think it is possible that there is a cultural thing here, because no one there seemed to be in a rush to serve us. Whether it was in the morning at breakfast waiting for water, coffee, juice, or getting the rooms cleaned, or getting drinks at the bar; it just seemed quick/efficient service was not their thing. Don't get me wrong everyone was helpful and super nice, it was just somewhat difficult to get them to pay attention to you. I even tried overt tipping, but that didn't seem to help either, which was odd. I actually started bringing water bottles from the room as well as other drinks so I wouldn't be half done my meal before I could get something to drink.

Food: By far the best Breakfast and Lunches of any place I've been to. Ever. Hands done. Amazing quality vegetables and fruit, might sound weird, but usually some fruit is ok and the vegetables at resorts (even 5-stars) leave lots to be desired, but with Westin it is great. Also, they have "Superfoods" dishes highlighted, so it makes it easy to eat yummy, but healthy food while away. Dinner was great at the Mediterrean and Italian restaurants. Dinner at buffet was so-so, as well as other restaurants, although I did have this absolutely amazing crepe at the French restaurant Cauri. Friends we were with got amazing pasta dishes at the buffet with the make your own pasta option, so maybe try that. It wasn't bad at all, it was just that we found Breakfast and Lunch so incredibly good. Turkey Burger and Market Salad on room service is great btw! Pizza by the pool for lunch is good.

Hotel and Rooms: Beautiful x 100. If you are adults only the Royal Beach Club is worth it. So worth it, both pools are gorgeous, but Royal Beach is just even more relaxing for adults only. We were in Royal Beach 2 and the concierge guys David and (maybe Jonathan or Nelson) were so helpful.

Excursions: Book through Erik Garcia and John on the Beach. Better deals, smaller groups, more flexibility. We did major research beforehand and these guys were awesome. Conchal Adventures, we did 2, they were great! If you are going to Costa Rica it is a huge waste to not do excursions, it is an absolutely beautiful country, and safe, safe, safe! We did a river boat tour and saw 2 different kinds of monkeys, macows, crocodiles, iguanas, lizards, geikos, so many birds, it was awesome. Then ATV-ing for Ziplining, which was great too.

Beach: Not the resorts fault, but the beach is public so it is not like other countries where the resort can own the beach. Plus there were a number of trees so it wasn't what I was expecting. Having said that the water was nice and if you walked north or right out of hotel on beach for 10-15 minutes there were even nicer beaches... Playa Flamingo literally took my breath away (I think that's what it was called, beware of the tides though).

Costa Rica: In the Guanaste province basically between December and March, it does not rain. At all. If you need the sun and you want a guarantee of good weather, then visit Costa Rica. Plus it is SO safe (a great place for kids) and you can drink the water, it is the first place I haven't gotten GI symptoms despite always staying at 5-stars and being careful. People are super nice too!

Gym (Westin Workout): By far, hands down, the best gym I've ever seen at a resort, and even most hotels (including 5 stars) in the US, Canada, and Europe. Plus the instructors/trainers (especially Kenny) were AMAZING! If you want to stay in shape while away, Westin Workout makes it easy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a nice all-inclusive property with sub-par service, activities & amenities. You have to make your reservation early to get into the better restaurants on the property. If you don't, you are stuck with eating at the average at best buffet restaurant. The reservation desk closes at 4:00. If you don't have a reservation by then, you are out of luck. The alcoholic drinks do not contain hardly any alcohol at all. You will get a sugar buzz before you feel any alcohol affect. The only extra activities included are snorkeling & a kayak. All other activities you have to pay for. The beach is public & you have to fend off the local people trying to sell you stuff. For two of us, it was $500 per night. I expected a lot more for my money. I will not recommend or stay at this property again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCManagement, Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Brock F,

Thank you for sharing this review of our resort, its services and facilities. I sincerely apologize for the shortcoming encountered during your visit and I am sorry you did not fully enjoyed your stay.

As you correctly point out, the best way to maximize your dinner experience is by making all your reservations at check-in; I have personally stressed this in all communications with future guests in this and many other channels. Unfortunately this is a common issue with most all-inclusive properties: even if a resort had à la carte seating space for the totality of their guests (without a buffet restaurant, that is), it would still not be able to meet the 7:00 pm demand, which is the preferred time-slot for most customers.

We have shared your observations regarding the alcoholic content on our cocktails to our Director of Food & Beverage, in order to review that all our bartenders are preparing drinks as per the specified traditional recipes. Though this has not been an issue in the past and I had not received such a comment, we will gladly follow-up on it.

Finally, I am sorry you could not partake in the other activities sponsored by the hotel and included in your package, apart from kayak and snorkel. We have approximately 15 different activities on a daily basis, from aqua-fit to bingo, wine tastings or jewelry workshops. These are prominently advertised throughout the resort in flat-screens, fixed signboards at the pool areas and in-room collateral.

I hope that the rest of your stay was to your liking and that our staff proved warm and friendly.

Victor Gomez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We were a small group in comparison to the large corporate groups staying therebut we did not feel unattended to. The grounds are stellar ith tons of wildlife roaming around.
Food at buffet was great, perfect after a morning workout at the gym. The best restaurant is the asian, then mediterranian, others trail behind. Swim up bar is pretty busy but a great atmosphere.
Jorges yoga on the beach is worth the 8am wakeup, he is a good dude.
The rooms are giant, a quick tip which they will hate i say is, push the two queen beds together and make one giant bed. We enjoyed the delicious morning coffee and drinks replenished each day.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Westin Golf and Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal: what a great destination. Four of us were there Jan. 24-Feb. 2, 2013 and stayed in the Royal Beach Club section, Tower 2. All of the concierge staff was over the top in service. Particular kudos to Erik and Andres----pleasant and always ready and willing to help with whatever we needed. Unlike many properties, I found the staff here very efficient: if they said they would take care of something they did so…and in minutes, not hours! We also enjoyed being able to eat at the Faisanela restaurant for breakfast and lunch, offered only to RBC guests. This restaurant had excellent food and was close to our rooms and pool, a plus at such a large property. Yes the property is huge, but all of the beautiful landscape adds so much and the shuttles are always available to take you wherever you wish.
The nightly entertainment was OK, rather typical of other resorts where we have stayed. However the multitude of day activities was great. We took advantage of the jewelry making, coffee tasting, wine tasting and origami classes. By the way, all of these started exactly ON TIME and were publicized on a daily sheet we received in our rooms. Westin Management take note: Evelyn is a real treasure….kind, knowledgeable, speaks perfect English and is a credit to your country and the resort.

As other reviewers have noted, getting reservations at the restaurants is very frustrating. Thankfully our concierge was successful in helping us with this. We booked when we checked in, but could only do it through Saturday night and we were there 5 more nights. They are strict in only holding the reservation for 15 minutes so it would seem if there is a no-show they could give that table to someone who is waiting without a reservation. Being told they are sold out and then seeing empty tables is upsetting. That being said, we found the food very, very good and varied. Our favorite dinners were probably the ones at Faisanela, but we also enjoyed the duck at Cauri and the steak and sea bass at Mediterra. And as reviewed by many, the pizza and ravioli at Spirula for lunch was amazing. We also ordered room service for breakfast one day and it came right on time and was very good!

Erick on the beach: Our experience was that he was not that friendly (I know we are in the minority for that) and not that much cheaper than the Swiss Travel at the hotel, so we booked with them. Glad we did. The agents that were on our bus to and from the Airport were wonderful and very educational and Eduardo who led our River Cruise was also very good. People who took the river cruise with Erick fed the monkeys and we heard the guides fed the crocodiles, which we would not have been comfortable with. We did book massages with Angel Hands on the beach for $30/hour and they were incredible.

We loved our time at the Westin and would and probably will return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Lauren and I were both first timers to Costa Rica. The Westin was the perfect place for this trip!
All the staff was incredibly helpful and always available to help. The all inclusive option is really great, as it is about 20-30 minutes to Tamarindo (closest town). Food was pretty good overall.
Italian restaurant was very good. One point. Make sure to make reservations if you plan on having dinner at any of the restaurants!! Very important!
Wonderful Pool area, lots of activities inside resort property. Westin can also schedule tour events if you want.
I recommend you talk to Eric Garcia for tours. You will find him right outside the gate to the beach.
His prices are better than inside and usually are more personal and less crowded. Lauren and I did the Buena Vista tour with them and we were the only two! It was great having our own tour guide for the day trip, to zip line, waterslide, and mud bath at thermal springs!!
Carlos, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and very helpful with any questions on our tour.
Highly recommend talking to Eric about any tours you plan!
Also, you should do the Marlin Del Rey sailing and snorkeling tour!! They are a great crew and it is a wonderful 4-hour trip to a calm beach area to snorkle and wander along the beach!
We are already trying to figure out when we can go back!!
We found the people of Costa Rica to be very happy, outgoing, and nice people. Truly and enjoyable trip all around!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.