We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Vacation - Thank you "Tri"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Melville, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Vacation - Thank you "Tri"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This amazing place rates at the top of all of our stays. We travel about 6 times a year - every year - and this hotel was amazing. The hotel was beautiful, staff very friendly and respectful. animals run freely demonstrating human cohabitation with animals can exist and without the laws we have in the USA. Food in the speciality restraurants was as good or better than most NY restraurants. service was superb. The Westin is a very clean and tidy hotel. We always felt very safe and as if we were all part of a bigger family.
There was one person that stood out above the rest of the staff and that was "Tri"., he was superb, friendly and extremely helpful and very courteous. i understand he is a supervisor at the hotel and congrats to the Westin hotel for recognizing him. He was very, very helpful to us. He will be among the great memories i will always remember about the Westin. Tri is a real bonafide wonderful person. He helped make our trip as great as it was. We are very grateful to Westin for having him as part of their organization. Westin organization - please recognize "Tri".

Room Tip: choose a room in near room 4041 - perfectly situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCManagement, Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear MITCHELL W,

Thank you very much for such a raving review of our beautiful resort!

As you correctly point out, local animal species —all of them quite harmless when not molested— roam freely through the resort. As you could attest, nature and wildlife are one of Costa Rica’s most prized possessions and Costa Ricans are very proud of it. Coatis, raccoons, squirrels, monkeys, iguanas, parakeets, woodpeckers, great egrets and much more, are part of our resident guests.

I am elated to know that our Assistant Manager, Marliontri Castillo — ‘El Tri’ to friends— was of such help during your stay. Indeed, we are very proud of him and he is certainly one of many of our local ‘jewels’; he knows this property very well, has a passion for our business and has grown within the ranks to his actual position. I will be more than glad to commend him on his sincere daily effort to please our guests!

Muchas gracias,

Victor Gomez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,126
    499
    146
    41
    21
See reviews for
514
889
9
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Westin Playa Conchal was gorgeous! The grounds were well kept, and the staff was so warm and friendly (with the exception of one very rude restaurant hostess who overestimated her importance there - and I wish I could remember her name). The huge pool was amazing and really clean, and the beach was beautiful. Our favourite part of our trip was walking up and down the beach, with the waves crashing in around our feet. This resort is on a public beach, so locals set up little wagons to sell their handcrafted wares. We got our best deals there, rather than paying the overblown prices in the gift shops on the resort. Costa Rican people (Ticos they're called) are wonderful, sincere and kind people who really know what's important in life - family and being kind to one another. It sheds a whole different light on us North Americans, and it made us realize that we don't have to live the crazy rushed life that we do. Life can be simple and wonderful, like the way it is in this beautiful country. They take such pride in what they do, and appreciate the little things. We want to go back, and not just to visit, but maybe in a few years spend our winters there - buy a little place and live life like they do. A special hello to Eric Garcia who sets up excursions for us visitors, and isn't part of the Westin, but was there on the beach from sunup to sundown trying to make a living for him and his family. Gracias Eric! You made us feel very welcome.
Kim and Bill Winkels
Canada

Room Tip: Get a room closest to the beach so you can hear the gorgeous waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Westin for a week in January and it was hands down the best all inclusive experience we have ever had! We upgraded to the Royal Beach section and felt that it was well worth the money. The Royal Beach pool was super peaceful, and the private restaurant for breakfast and lunch were great. The room was nothing special but it was definitely comfortable and had plenty of space for the two of us. The concierge for our tower was great and took care of all our requests quickly.
We booked all of our excursions through Erik on the beach - we did surfing, horseback riding, zip lining, river boat tour and the sunset catamaran and thought they were all amazing. We would highly recommend booking through Erik and his crew - they will take great care of you. We also did massages on the beach through Erik's wife and we would highly recommend those as well!
The food was great! We had no trouble getting reservations for all the restaurants (the Latin was our favorite).
This was the first all inclusive experience that we've had where we wished we'd stayed longer (we're usually ready to come home after a week) - we're already planning our visit back next year!

Room Tip: Royal Beach was well worth the added cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPCManagement, Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Nielle23,

We sincerely appreciate your recent review of our resort!

We are overjoyed that you enjoyed so much our Royal Beach Club category! As you could see, we sincerely strive to create a renewing experience focused on your absolute relaxation and comfort… it’s all about our guests and their wellbeing.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you in your next visit! You now know how much we like to pamper our guests.

Saludos,

Victor Gomez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I've had the pleasure in visiting this resort twice and both times were amazing. The staff is so friendly, the variety and quality of the food is great, spotless property and lots of activities. I also highly recommend seeing Erick Garcia on the beach. He sent us on 2 day trips at a very good price. I highly recommend the trip to Nicaragua and Vandara Hot Springs.

Room Tip: We were lucky to get a room right on the beach. The closer to the beach the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The room was spectacular and the beds were sooo comfortable. We found the property to be very large but once you got used to taking shuttles to roam about the property all was good. We enjoyed the food at the restaurants. We especially liked the food and view from the French restaurant.
The beach was beautiful and not at all crowded. Staff were very friendly. Had lots of fun drinking "dirty monkeys" at the swim-up bar.
We appreciated the help from Swiss Tours in booking a jetski ride and especially for the boat trip where we saw lots of creatures (iguana, crocodiles, monkeys, storks, etc.) Highly recommend this boat trip excursion.
If I were to go back, I would try to book a room that was closer to the main restaurant and the beach.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to beach, pool and buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We started at La Fortuna for 3 nights and then moved to Westin Playa Conchal for 4 nights. The Westin was beautiful and an unforgettable experience. My only complaint would be that the resort is a bit large, however, shuttles are provided to take you from place to place. We never waited for more than 5 minutes. The restaurants were to DIE for(though a bit difficult to get a reservation - MAKE SURE YOU MAKE ALL OF YOUR DINNER RESERVATIONS AS SOON AS YOU CHECK-IN).

Activities: Erick and John on the beach were excellent to work with in terms of excursions. They are the guys with the blue Trip Advisor shirts. The "resort guy" (orange shirt) has higher prices and and talks badly about Erik and John on the beach - LIES, all LIES!

Definitely a great place! I would try La Fortuna area as well though - this was our favorite(Hotel Nayara)!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our second time to Costa Rica. Last year we stayed at the Riu Guanacaste. Its one big resort hotel, lots of people and noise. We did enjoy our stay and knew what to expect this year.
I must thank Air Canada and the Westin for offering such a great deal in January. I normally would not pay the regular price they want, but we were able to get the same price as the Riu.
I have looked at this hotel for years in the travel books and finally we were able to go.
It is everything people say about this resort. If you are looking for peace and quiet, this is the place. We noticed lots of couples, young and old. Not many children, only on the weekend when local families come, but mainly Saturday, then back to quiet.
We found the middle of Jan. to be very quiet. Plenty of chairs around the pool and on the beach, i counted at times only 30 chairs set out. The sand did not get hot like at the Riu, yet the beach was just as long for walking. The water does get deep fast in front of the hotel, but noticed no real currents to make it dangerous. This is not the Caribbean, but pretty nice for the pacific side. They say one of the best beaches they have.
Our room was in building 37, very close to the pool, beach and restaurants. We had one of the best locations. The room itself had a king bed and was one of the best we have had in 20 all inclusives. The bed was a medium firmness, not rock hard as most resorts. We enjoyed the size of the room, number of tv channels, found a few english, enough to keep us happy.
We found the food was on par with the Riu or alittle better. They had less variety, but then again, must smaller crowd. We only wish they offered more prepared hot veggies at supper rather than so many meat dishes. The desserts were all small squares, no large cakes, but very tasty. Where they could improve is at the morning fresh fruit bar. The drinks were so watered down with ice, the real fruit got lost in water. It seemed most drank the orange juice they served at breakfast. The Riu had a far superior morning fresh fruit bar.
Not sure if its just me, since no one else has commented, but did the chairs in the buffet seem low? You sank down on the chair pad which made the table higher than usual. Took some getting used to.
At the evening buffet they had music most nights, singing, guitar playing and piano.
What stood out to us was the amazing staff. They were a pleasure to deal with. We met Heidy in administration and of course, you must say hello to Stephanie. She is extremely friendly and helpful.
To appreciate this resort, you need to walk past the lobby and back up the road to the entrance. We did this early most mornings looking for howler monkeys. On a few days we saw a few in the trees near the condos. Early in the morning is when you hear all the sounds and can look at the beautiful view looking down toward the resort.
For many years, all we have done is beach, beach and more beach holidays. This is so different. The views are worth the hike each day, and do you sleep good at night.
I did enjoy the ocean and pool which is perfect temperature for swimming, but did not miss the thousands of people jammed on a stretch of white sand. Here it was total relaxation, no stress fighting with large crowds. This was one of most low key places we have gone to.
At night we would go to the lobby , use the wi-fi and have a drink. Did not miss it in the rooms.
I saw the royal club area, but as i mentioned, we had one of the best spots. It suited our needs perfectly.
We met Eric and the team wearing t shirts with the trip advisor logo. They were nice but did not like the fact they camp out literally a few feet from the entrance to the beach from the Westin property. They stare all day at the people, looking for new ones to arrive. The other vendors who have tables are much more polite.
We did the palo verde boat tour. We got a price from Eric but our air canada rep matched the price with only 14 people on a small bus. Our tour guide was excellent. The last half hr to the boat is over a very poorly maintained gravel road. We saw lots of birds a few crocs and white faced monkeys. As for insurance, no one provides any proof. I doubt if any really have it.
One of vendors on the beach is Patricia and her husband. She also does massages with Norma. We got the two of us done for 40 dollars. My wife went back next day and got another with Norma. They were located just before Gigi.
The only disappointment my wife had was that the howler monkeys were hard to spot compared to the Riu.
We found the Westin to be more refined and catered to your needs. But then again, its usually not cheap. If we come again, Westin would have to offer another great special in Jan. I sure hope they do, as i have a long list of friends who would love to come with us. Heidy, hope you can pass this on to Victor and keep this in mind for next year.
Never thought i would make it once to Costa Rica, let alone twice.
The safeness of the country, the friendly people and the fact you can eat the food without feeling sick may draw us back for a third time.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the 4000 area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasil A, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear. Sunloving

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal. It is our pleasure to read that you found a warm and lovely place where you could enjoyed of an exclusive and quiet atmosphere in company of our most professional and polite staff that performed their best in order to achieve your customer expectations which became an unforgettable experience while you were hosted at our resort. We are also very grateful to learn that you have enjoyed of our vast variety of restaurants that were an important part of your culinary and unmatched encounters.

On another note, we would like to highlight your comment related to our nightly entertainment due to the fact that we have been working the best manner to fulfill our guests’ preferences by introducing magic, circus, alive concerts and disco shows.

Thank you very much for having chosen us, we expect that you can give us another opportunity to keep serving you on your future vacations or business trip.

Pura Vida!


YASIL
ALVARADO
Guest Service Manager / Gerente del Servicio al cliente
THE WESTIN GOLF RESORT & SPA, PLAYA CONCHAL (ALL-INCLUSIVE)
Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal
Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Media 8, Inc., Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal to your Saves list