We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resort Destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Save Saved
You added The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Playa Conchal
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Resort Destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Simple review... Beautiful hotel, beyond friendly staff, good food, amazing trip and country overall. Went for our honeymoon and spent 12 days there. We stayed in the royal beach club which is well worth the extra money. You get a separate pool, bar and even restaurant (breakfast and lunch) which is all adults only. Also a private concierge is there to take cae of pretty much whatever you need for royal beach club guests only. Nice little open air shuttles can take you around the property as it is pretty big, so it's very easy to get around and check out everything. Awesome bartenders and staff everywhere.

I highly recommend the Westin at playa conchal. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: For couples, I would highly suggest getting a room in the Royal Beach club. Adults only pool and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,308
    566
    166
    46
    26
See reviews for
618
1000
13
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Beautiful place, well maintained. Nice service everywhere.
Everything was perfect with a couple of exceptions.
1) whoever was cleaning our room did not do a good job. We were out of soap and other things and they were never replaced. The stuff in the mini bar was not replaced either. As far as the mini bar, we have stayed at many all inclusive resorts and this one was the smallest mini bar by far with very limited variety.
2) I was very disappointed that such a nice expensive resort did not provide free wi fi in the room.
When we checked in we were told we were getting a room with a lake view. Upon arrival to our room we realized that was not the case.
A few tips for travelers - ask for a room facing the lake, preferrably on the 2nd floor. As soon as you check in book all your dinners.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed here for 8 days, November 14th to 22nd. Got in touch with the hotel and they arranged the transfer to and from the airport. When we arrived at Liberia airport the driver was waiting with a sign with our names on. It took around 45 minutes, which we got to see monkeys at the side of the road. $90 each way for 2 of us.

When we arrived at the reception area we were welcomed with friendly smiles and the offer to take a seat at the bar. We were pleasantly informed that we had been upgraded and will be taken to private check in over at the Royal Beach Club (we are SPG gold) (RBC) via the golf cart. The RBC is an adults only area pool, butler service around the pool for all your food and drinks needs and a private concierge. There is also the added benefit of premium brand alcohol (be sure to specify your preference when ordering), complimentary Wifi, coffee 3 to 5 in the RBC check-in (very nice foyer, with air conditioning!) and breakfast/lunch at Faisanela.

Private check-in went smoothly, lots of information to absorb but leaflets to take away. Top tip would be to enquire straight away the restaurants open days (we were there just before peak season) and then book all reservations. It can get difficult to get into each restaurant at the time of preference. However you do not need to book for the buffet and you can get 24 hour room service.

The service was out of this world, our concierges John and David were amazing. One evening they made bathroom up with flowers, very nice touch. The maid did a great job on the room including making me a towel animal, I did love that. The guys at the bar were super friendly and wanted to do their best at all times. They even remembered our drinks and were making them before I even got to the bar, some times they made you two! Restaurant service was also brilliant and efficient.

I am a big foodie, so tried all the restaurants, buffet and room service. Breakfast in the room was a perfect way to start the day on the balcony. Favourite Cauri (French) not only was the food amazing so was the view. Atmosphere was fantastic and there is a nice bar you can hang out before/after dinner. Duck was cooked to perfection and loved the creme brulee.

Cararcola we tried for lunch more than once. They have lighter options salads and wraps. But we tried a fish burger very enjoyable. If you don't get too full try the chocolate brownie. Spirula (pizza place) was very good if you like a thin crust pizza.

We ate at Mitra buffet on international buffet evening. Salad and desert stations were firm favourites. Like breakfast there is lots of choice, try the fresh fruit and smoothies at breakfast extremely refreshing.

Faisanella was open at lunch/dinner only (due to low season) so we didn't get to try breakfast there but did love the lunches we had. We sat out side but be warned it can get a bit too hot in the midday sun. Dinner must haves are the lamb shank and the tiramisu.

Las Candelas, Latin inspired, was nice but would be rushing back for any of the main course selections. We did enjoy the tres leches and strawberry desert. Bamboo, lovely Thai food. Big portions, try the spicy soup.

There were many shows and activities available incase you are not one for the pool/beach side. We saw most of the evening shows. They were all very good but the must sees would be the magicians and the circus. The day activities were either very active or informative. We went on the bike tour, you get a helmet and water which is difficult to hold. I am not at all adventures or fit and found some of the tour hills hard. Don't forget to put lotion on and bring a camera as the view is breath taking. The running session follows a very similar route to the bike tour. We also tried kayaking as part of the package for an hour, life vest included. Some of the classes you need to book and they are worth going to, coffee and food tasting. It is the staff that really make these enjoyable, they are awesome.

Yoga on the beach was very nice and relaxing. The aqua-tone session was also very fun way to work out. The beach is fabulous. We went horse riding booked through Eric Garcia.I have never rode a horse before so only wanted half an hour rather than an hour and he arranged this.Our Instructor was amazing and soon had me galloping down the beach

Don't forget at the airport there is a Departure Tax which needs to be paid before you check your baggage through, this can paid in us dollars and we got dollars change

Overall amazing resort,with friendly,warm,attentive, awesome staff,they truly made the experience hats off to them.

If you are not sure about this hotel or Costa Rica don't be it is truly amazing.We take 7 -8 trips a year and rarely visit anywhere twice but we simply can not wait to go back here and its first on our list to book for 2013!

Room Tip: The hotel offer golf carts as transportation from one part of the hotel to another. If you are not k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We looked at reviews before we came and they all recommended Erik Garcia. We found him easily on the beach and he was great. He created an amazing excursion for 10 of us to ride ATVs about an hour to the Conga Trail for zip lining, and back again on the ATVs. All of us (adults and teenagers) had a fantastic time for a reasonable price. Bring cash. He can provide almost any excursion you want directly from this location. Thanks Erik!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A beautiful resort with spacious rooms. The staff is wonderful and try to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The resort layout and condition are absolutely beautiful!
The only negatives: Inconsistency among the staff and restaurants. The day-to-day staff are very helpful and want to make sure you are attended to and keep you happy. In some cases it is like "the right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing." All of the restaurants are good and have varied menus-however, the meal quality is inconsistent and most of the restaurants use too much salt in the food.

Room Tip: Being an extremely large resort, you may opt to stay near your activities during the day. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My family (two adults, two teenagers) recently stayed at the Westin and had a fabulous family vacation. I would not hesitate to recommend this resort. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The rooms are spacious and the service is amazing. The staff work very hard to meet all your needs and are extremely pleasant. We found our Royal Beach Club concierge team of David and Bergin to be exceptionally helpful.
The food is the best we have experienced in an all inclusive environment. We visited all the restaurants and were not disappointed by any. Do make reservations early and be on time for your reservation. We did observe a large party arriving late for their reservation that were not able to be accomodated.
We booked two trips through Erik Garcia on the beach and were not disappointed. The guides were very professional and knowledgeable and Erik works hard to customize his tours to meet your needs. Our experience was very authentic and included an unplanned stop at a sugar cane farm so that we could sample some of the fresthly harvested crop.We would not hesitate to book through Erik again in the future.
There are also many activities included by the resort at no cost. Take advantage of the kayaking and snorkelling by booking at the kiosk at the entry to the beach. Bikes can also be booked here. The beach yoga was very worthwhile. I believe it is a daily 8:00 am activity. It is a bit confusing the first time - the instructor meets you at the gym at 8:00am and then the class walks to the beach for the class. Once you know the routine, you can pick up your own towel in the morning and meet the group at the beach. The instructor was fabulous and adapted activites for all levels. I would also recommend a trip to Tamarindo-lots of shops and big waves on the beach. A return trip can be arranged by the hotel for $50. There is also a shuttle service to Tamarindo.
Thanks to all the staff at the Westin and Erik Garcia for making our family trip so enjoyable. We have lots of wonderful memories!
Doreen H

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have just returned from the Westin and have some wonderful memories.
I will break this review into sections:

Resort: lovely well maintained grounds with wildlife all around including coatis, iguanas, squirrels and howler monkeys( very loud!). The hotel offers shuttle carts wherever you need to go around the resort, we preferred to walk as you would then get to see all the animals.
The pool is very big and just the right temperature, no need to reserve sun beds there were always plenty free( the hotel was not full when we were there though). There are a number of activities you can take part in through the activity centre by the main pool, such as coffee tasting, wine tasting, bike tours( you can hire these free of charge along with the Kayaks)

Rooms: very clean and spacious, comfy beds and room service is included. Housekeeping was a bit hit and miss. Sometimes towels were missing or laundry not returned until requested and the mini bar was not always filled. However a quick call to express service and this was sorted, a minor annoyance. The rooms are open plan so whilst there are doors on the shower and toilet they are not very private.

Beach: stunning! It might not be the softest of sand but very pretty and the sea is warm too. You can hire jet skis and banana boats etc which was great fun.

Restaurants: we enjoyed all the restaurants and had no trouble booking any if them. Our favourite was the Italian and this partly due to the ambience of this restaurant compared to the others. We found the portion sizes to be just right and the quality was very good. Our least favourite was the buffet, we only ate in there twice but the choices were not great.
The cocktails were okay ( dirty monkeys are fab)but I really dislike having drinks in plastic cups, understand you need this in the pool areas but they also used them in the reception and buffet bars.

Trips: we booked our trips through Pablo at Swiss Travel ( desk by the beach) . We saw Erik on the beach and chose not to use him due to a lack of insurance and also some people had told us they had been let down by him.
We went to Palo Verde river trip( amazing, wonderful wild life). Sunset cruise, this is only offered to Westin guests so there tend to be smaller numbers. The trip offered by the guys on the beach is open to everyone and when we arrived at the catamaran we could see lots of people getting on the Lazy Lizzard, whereas on ours we had only 15 people. We saw dolphins and the sunset was great.
We also went on a canopy tour to Borinquin, I had read about this resort before we went and knew I wanted to go there. Pablo doesn't usually offer this trip but arranged a private tour in a SUV just for the three of us, our guide Gio was fantastic and the trip to Borinquin went so quickly as he told us all about Costa Rica along the way. We did horseback riding, ziplining mud baths etc and the lunch was good too.
We checked our travel insurance and it did not include ziplining, so paid extra to ensure we were covered. I would recommend checking what cover you have , even though Swiss Travel have insurance I am not sure they would be happy to pay for us to be flown back to UK if we had an accident, we chose not to risk it.

There are a few shops, including a coffee shop that is not part of the all inclusive, the prices are quite high but we did enjoy having an iced coffee now and then.

We had a number of fantastic photos taken by the Ceaser and Irena from the photo shop. We booked a session on the beach and the quality of the photos are very good.

To sum up our holiday, Costa Rica is a beautiful country with wonderful friendly people. There are many trips to go on and the wildlife is great. The hotel is excellent and I hope to return again some day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.