We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Royal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Save Saved
You added The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Playa Conchal
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Go for the Royal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

After days and days of research my husband and I decided to book a regular room at the Westin. When we arrived to the resort we figured out that it wasn't good enough for us. The front door had a large gap above and the door seemed like it's not locking properly. Also, we were hoping for a separate shower, which some of the regular rooms have, but they were not able to find one that day. We did not like tub/shower combo. The room felt too dark. After 4 hours of talking to the assistant manager and checking different rooms in the royal section, we decided to upgrade to Royal Suite on the third floor. We paid additional $100/per night. Best spent money ever! Free wi-fi which worked great every time. Huge room with the jacuzzi on the patio. Our room was facing main road but we never heard any noise and the view was awesome. We used room service at least 6-7 times. The food was delicious and it took about 25-30 minutes to get it delivered to the room. Our concierges, John and David were awesome!
Our housekeeper Hilda did a great job every single day. The room was spotless and, if we needed something extra, we would leave a note and she would have it ready for us. At the end of our stay, she came to thank us for the tips and little gifts we left for her. I was so touched.
They made all restaurant reservations for us and we had no problem getting those, even for the same day. My favorite restaurant was French, Cauri. My husband really liked Meditera. We also tried Italian and the food was great. The service in all these restaurants was outstanding. Our hostesses remembered our last name after couple nights, amazing! Mitra buffet was good but we enjoyed it better for breakfasts and lunches then dinners.
We met many locals and really enjoyed talking to them. Don't be afraid to book your tour on the beach. We booked Buena Vista tour with Eric and it was awesome. Also, look for Dee on the beach. He works with different tour company. We booked a river cruise with him as well as a tour to see giant turtles nesting (must see, out of this world experience!). We also went for a golf course tour, do not miss it. You will see all kinds of birds and trees and some great views.
Go to the beach, look for Diane, she gives the best massages we've ever had (and we get massages all the time, here in US). I went to the spa for one hour massage. It cannot compare to Diane's massages. And she charges $20/hour.
At the Westin, we felt like we are the part of a big family. Costa Rican people are so nice!
If you care about details and like to be pampered, go for the Royal. It's worth it. The weather was great, no rain at all for the entire stay (11/10 - 11/21).

Room Tip: The cheapest royal suites are all on the ground floor. Consider this when upgrading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,307
    566
    166
    46
    26
See reviews for
617
1000
13
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here over Thanksgiving with the wife and four kids. Kids range from 7 to 17. We took two adjoining suites; one with a king bed, one with two doubles.

The rooms were great. The only drawback being that the bathrooms don't have doors. There are frosted glass doors to give privacy for toilet and shower, but no door for the whole bathroom.

Service was top notch. Everyone there was, at the very least, polite. Most of the staff were amazingly nice and helpful. We had the Family Club service, which included a dedicated Concierge who helped with everything from dinner reservations, to planning excursions, to small room or amenity related requests. You also get a poolside area and pool attendant. You also get food poolside if you are part of this club.

They have shuttles running throughout the large property, so if you don't feel like walking, you can just hop on and enjoy a quick, smooth ride.

Pool is fantastic. Beach is just outside the resort. It is phenomenally beautiful.
You will see plenty of Iguanas and Coati's (Costa Rica's version of the Raccoon).

The food is generally very good, and in some cases excellent (Faisanella). The kids loved the buffett (Mitra). We also recomnend Caracola, which is poolside.

With a family of six, we could not fathom paying the resort to do our laundry. Based on TripAdvisor mention, I contacted Wash-A-Go-Go in nearby Huacas. $4/load. An extra dollar if they fold. What a deal! Rick and his wife are Americans. Very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This review is a bit late--but better late than never!
My husband and I vacationed to the Westin for our honeymoon in February 2012, staying 6 nights/7 days. It was my husband's first trip out of the county and without a doubt, the Westin far surpassed his expectations for what a vacation can be. We stayed in the adult-only "Royal Beach" section of the resort and I highly recommend it for any couple looking for a relaxing get-away without the noise that inevitably comes with children. (Although there is a large portion of the resort that is family-friendly). As "Royal Beach" guests, my husband and I were able to enjoy the 18+ pool and a breakfast buffet in the Italian restaurant, poolside, each morning. This was much more serene than the alternate buffet. I recommend the waffle with sweetened condensed milk and scrumptious Costa Rican coffee--a splurge, but well worth it!
The meals were fantastic and we enjoyed a different restaurant each night. But be warned that each restaurant, except for the buffet, takes reservations and unless you call early in the morning, you may miss out on your choice of menu for the evening. Concierge was more than happy to assist in making reservations for us on those days where we left early for excursions away from the resort. Truthfully, the entire staff was more than accommodating during our stay and were genuinely warm, eager to please, and made every attempt to greet us by our names--no small feat given the turnover I'm certain the resort experiences.
While the resort is lovely, I encourage visitors to take a few excursions to experience all that Costa Rica has to offer. Pablo was by far the best to work with with regards to coordinating our trips. He even helped prepare our paperwork for international travel and made sure that everything was in order for a smooth and seamless transfer back home. You can find him on the bottom floor of the main lobby.
As an all-inclusive resort, this is the one to go to while staying in Costa Rica. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in November.
Positives -
Very Clean
Huge connecting rooms for us and our kids
Wonderful Costa Rican People - Could not be nicer
Hug clean pool
Great exercise class in pool
Good deal for what we paid

Negatives -
Lots of bugs
Mitra buffet got old - Pizza Rest. was closed for Renovations
Wi - Fi not free for SPG Gold Members

We went on the Mega Combo Tour with Swiss Travel and we were very pleased. They could not have been nicer.

Room Tip: Bring lots of small bills - The staff is lovely - we spend over $150.00 tipping in 5 days. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

After staying in the rainforest for a few days and then near the Arenal Volcano, we headed west to the Westin for some beach time. Right from the get go we were disappointed.

1. They had no record of our reservation - we were lucky we printed out our email confirmation because they used that find us a room. Admittedly we were early, but we had to wait several hours for a room - despite them telling us they were 65% full. It was hot, we had just traveled two hours and we had to wait while they prepared our room.

2. Once we get to the room I discovered that our ipod clock radio was broken. I called the front desk and someone replaced it. The next morning we go to make coffee only to discover that we have the wrong pods for our machine. It took a note and talking to someone to get the appropriate pods for our machine. The coffee shop in the shops doesn't open until after 8am. So we had to go to the buffet to get coffee (which we prefer before breakfast). Twice at the buffet we had to chase down a waiter for coffee. They should really just put it on a table like the rest of the buffet. And it's time to get a Keurig in each room.

3. Next, we discovered that our shower water would not get hot. We called the front desk and they sent someone over to fix it.

4. Wifi is only free in the lobby, which is a ten minute walk from many rooms. It's $12 a day if you want to pay.

5. The sports lounge was closed the whole time we were there.

6. The first night we were there we were unable to get a spot in the restaurant despite calling several hours in advance. And some of the restaurants were closed! frustrating. I highly recommend making all of your reservations as soon as you arrive. During the day there is only one place to get a snack if you at the pool and it is not lunch or dinner time. There are no restaurant menus in the room to figure out what you might like to try.

7. The pool bar closes at 6pm despite having a ton of people there wanting drinks.

8. The beach has the usual locals trying to sell you things such as massages, excursions, plants, etc. It's annoying, we opted for the pool like most other people. In fact, there isn't much at this resort to differentiate it from any Caribbean all inclusive. Although the ocean water was brown because when it rains sediment enters from a nearby river.

9. There are no instructions on the phone for making international calls. And it ended up costing a fortune to just check our cell phone voicemail (our phones didnt work in costa rica).

10. Room service - you are unable to order bottles of wine. I can see why they have this policy so people don't fill their suit case with wine. So the two of us would order multitudes of glasses instead. We called once for a smoothie and half an hour later they called us back to say their smoothie machine was broken.

11. One of the biggest annoyances is the fact that there are trucks and golf carts constantly driving around on the walkways. It's like walking on a road and not very pleasant to have to constantly be looking over your shoulder. By the way, you have to flag down one of the golf carts to get to the lobby if you don't feel like walking. I will give them credit for having plenty of carts available. It never took long to find one.

12. It rained so hard one night that the pond flooded and it came within two inches of our door. Other people had to switch rooms because water got in. I find it hard to believe that the rain was a surprise to whomever designed the water systems.

13. There is a Britt store on the property. They promise delivery to your home within a certain time. Unfortunately it took us about three times as long to receive our coffee and chocolates. It took five emails and us demanding our money back before they said they even shipped them.

Positives:
- Pablo! he's the concierge I think. You'll find him in the lobby and he is extremely helpful!
- The kayaks and bikes are free to use. (The kayaks are the backless kind so user beware if you have a back issue. My bike gears kept slipping.
- We took a cab to Tamarindo for surf lessons. We liked the town.
- check the event board for things going on. We played some bingo at the bar, and survived a tequila tasting.
- THE FOOD! great... really no complaints here. The bacon at the buffet is amazing. The restaurants are all different with excellent service and food.
- The pool is huge! plenty of chairs available, a volleyball net in the pool, and a pool bar.
- The price! for an all inclusive it wasn't too bad booking online. We heard paying extra for the 'club' wasn't worth it but we didn't see it for ourselves.
- There are iguanas on the property and some crazy raccoon-like animals walking around.
- I was forced to get a pedicure and really enjoyed the spa. very relaxing in the steam room.
- It's an all inclusive so we enjoyed not having to worry about how much money we were spending.

There are other excursions nearby that guests told us they really enjoyed - atvs, water slid, ziplining, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife, my infant son, and I had an amazing stay at the Westin! The landscaping, the pool, the beach, and the restaurants on the property are great, but what truly sets the Westin apart is their staff. They are the friendliest, most well trained staff I have ever encountered! All of the staff took special interest in my son, and asked how old he was. We told them that he was turning 1 on Thursday (this was Monday). Well, to our surprise and delight, they had a cake and the entire crew working at Mitro sang to him on Thursday, we did not ask them to do this, and we did not remind them that it was his birthday My only regret was that I fumbled to get my camera out to photograph the celebration, however another guest took some great photos and emailed them to me. The chamber maid folded the towels into different animals each day, everyone smiles and says hello, the waiters and waitresses are very efficient, and the front desk personnel are extremely helpful. It is clear that the management at the Westin are focused on customer satisfaction and making their stay great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I had never stayed at an AI, as we normally like to go it on our on. Since this trip was our 40th anniversary trip, we decided to stay here for a few days, mainly as a relax time from all our activities prior to our arrival here. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are very nice and comfortable. There is almost any kind of food you can imagine, however some is better than others. Most drinks are free and plentiful. The pool area is nice, as is the beach area. The only thing that we really didn't care for here, was the Italian restaurant that seems to always get high praise, we felt was only average at best, All the other restaurants including the buffet, we felt were much better. We felt that we definitely had a great stay here for the price. We do plan to visit again in the future,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;