We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average beach resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Save Saved
You added The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Playa Conchal
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average beach resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

After staying in the rainforest for a few days and then near the Arenal Volcano, we headed west to the Westin for some beach time. Right from the get go we were disappointed.

1. They had no record of our reservation - we were lucky we printed out our email confirmation because they used that find us a room. Admittedly we were early, but we had to wait several hours for a room - despite them telling us they were 65% full. It was hot, we had just traveled two hours and we had to wait while they prepared our room.

2. Once we get to the room I discovered that our ipod clock radio was broken. I called the front desk and someone replaced it. The next morning we go to make coffee only to discover that we have the wrong pods for our machine. It took a note and talking to someone to get the appropriate pods for our machine. The coffee shop in the shops doesn't open until after 8am. So we had to go to the buffet to get coffee (which we prefer before breakfast). Twice at the buffet we had to chase down a waiter for coffee. They should really just put it on a table like the rest of the buffet. And it's time to get a Keurig in each room.

3. Next, we discovered that our shower water would not get hot. We called the front desk and they sent someone over to fix it.

4. Wifi is only free in the lobby, which is a ten minute walk from many rooms. It's $12 a day if you want to pay.

5. The sports lounge was closed the whole time we were there.

6. The first night we were there we were unable to get a spot in the restaurant despite calling several hours in advance. And some of the restaurants were closed! frustrating. I highly recommend making all of your reservations as soon as you arrive. During the day there is only one place to get a snack if you at the pool and it is not lunch or dinner time. There are no restaurant menus in the room to figure out what you might like to try.

7. The pool bar closes at 6pm despite having a ton of people there wanting drinks.

8. The beach has the usual locals trying to sell you things such as massages, excursions, plants, etc. It's annoying, we opted for the pool like most other people. In fact, there isn't much at this resort to differentiate it from any Caribbean all inclusive. Although the ocean water was brown because when it rains sediment enters from a nearby river.

9. There are no instructions on the phone for making international calls. And it ended up costing a fortune to just check our cell phone voicemail (our phones didnt work in costa rica).

10. Room service - you are unable to order bottles of wine. I can see why they have this policy so people don't fill their suit case with wine. So the two of us would order multitudes of glasses instead. We called once for a smoothie and half an hour later they called us back to say their smoothie machine was broken.

11. One of the biggest annoyances is the fact that there are trucks and golf carts constantly driving around on the walkways. It's like walking on a road and not very pleasant to have to constantly be looking over your shoulder. By the way, you have to flag down one of the golf carts to get to the lobby if you don't feel like walking. I will give them credit for having plenty of carts available. It never took long to find one.

12. It rained so hard one night that the pond flooded and it came within two inches of our door. Other people had to switch rooms because water got in. I find it hard to believe that the rain was a surprise to whomever designed the water systems.

13. There is a Britt store on the property. They promise delivery to your home within a certain time. Unfortunately it took us about three times as long to receive our coffee and chocolates. It took five emails and us demanding our money back before they said they even shipped them.

Positives:
- Pablo! he's the concierge I think. You'll find him in the lobby and he is extremely helpful!
- The kayaks and bikes are free to use. (The kayaks are the backless kind so user beware if you have a back issue. My bike gears kept slipping.
- We took a cab to Tamarindo for surf lessons. We liked the town.
- check the event board for things going on. We played some bingo at the bar, and survived a tequila tasting.
- THE FOOD! great... really no complaints here. The bacon at the buffet is amazing. The restaurants are all different with excellent service and food.
- The pool is huge! plenty of chairs available, a volleyball net in the pool, and a pool bar.
- The price! for an all inclusive it wasn't too bad booking online. We heard paying extra for the 'club' wasn't worth it but we didn't see it for ourselves.
- There are iguanas on the property and some crazy raccoon-like animals walking around.
- I was forced to get a pedicure and really enjoyed the spa. very relaxing in the steam room.
- It's an all inclusive so we enjoyed not having to worry about how much money we were spending.

There are other excursions nearby that guests told us they really enjoyed - atvs, water slid, ziplining, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,046 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,265
    548
    163
    44
    26
See reviews for
592
979
12
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife, my infant son, and I had an amazing stay at the Westin! The landscaping, the pool, the beach, and the restaurants on the property are great, but what truly sets the Westin apart is their staff. They are the friendliest, most well trained staff I have ever encountered! All of the staff took special interest in my son, and asked how old he was. We told them that he was turning 1 on Thursday (this was Monday). Well, to our surprise and delight, they had a cake and the entire crew working at Mitro sang to him on Thursday, we did not ask them to do this, and we did not remind them that it was his birthday My only regret was that I fumbled to get my camera out to photograph the celebration, however another guest took some great photos and emailed them to me. The chamber maid folded the towels into different animals each day, everyone smiles and says hello, the waiters and waitresses are very efficient, and the front desk personnel are extremely helpful. It is clear that the management at the Westin are focused on customer satisfaction and making their stay great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I had never stayed at an AI, as we normally like to go it on our on. Since this trip was our 40th anniversary trip, we decided to stay here for a few days, mainly as a relax time from all our activities prior to our arrival here. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are very nice and comfortable. There is almost any kind of food you can imagine, however some is better than others. Most drinks are free and plentiful. The pool area is nice, as is the beach area. The only thing that we really didn't care for here, was the Italian restaurant that seems to always get high praise, we felt was only average at best, All the other restaurants including the buffet, we felt were much better. We felt that we definitely had a great stay here for the price. We do plan to visit again in the future,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We looked high and low for an ideal honeymoon destination in mid-November. After contemplating Mexico, Grenada, Aruba and places in between, we decided on the Westin. From arrival to departure, the Westin was absolutely outstanding. Aside from being a beautiful, immaculately maintained property, the staff is also very accommodating. They worked so hard to make our trip memorable. We were upgraded to the Royal Beach Club and thankful to have John, David and Jonathan as concierges to help us with anything we needed.

Of course we met Erick Garcia :) He was very helpful and sincere, so we booked our day trip to Nicaragua through him. It was a wonderful experience- if you go, be sure to go into it knowing you will be exhausted by day's end, but it's worth it. We also booked the Palo Verde river tour through the Swiss Travel company so we could charge it to our room. That too was awesome.

The berry Mojito drink was our favorite. We also loved every single restaurant (Las Candelas and Cauri were the best) and the room service breakfast (Costa Rican)! The food really is amazing. Renting bikes, walking to Brasilito Beach, golf, the spa (Zoyla gives great massages) and watching the sunset were some of our favorite activities. We really liked the main pool, but renting a Bali bed was another highlight.

The weather was gorgeous- rainy season was over, but the countryside was still green. Stunning.

I have already recommended the Westin to couples, young and old, girls' trips and families. I wouldn't hesitate to come back to this property. It is ideally located in Costa RIca, close to the airport and many excursions. Best of all, the staff was appreciative of our business.

We did have a little raccoon friend who liked to wait for us outside the room (the previous guests must have fed him), so if you book at the Westin, please do not feed the animals! Also, tipping (US dollars are widely used- no need to exchange your cash) is really appreciated by the staff for a job well done.

Needless to say, I will be daydreaming about the Westin as I go back to work tomorrow!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Westin August 24th-31st, 2012 and had an amazing vacation. We stayed in the junior suite and our room was plenty big, there was fresh fruit and a bottle of wine waiting for us when we got there. We booked all of our dinner reservations the first day there, and I'm glad we did because some people we talked to had trouble getting times or had to go to the buffet. We loved all of the restaurants, but our favorites were the French and Italian. Pizza for lunch is delicious, but we ate at the sit down restaurant by the beach several times and it was great (order the guacamole & the avocado salad)! If you like watermelon, order a watermelon martini at one of the restaurants, it was made with fresh squeezed watermelon, so good!

The pool was warm and never too crowded, we also had no trouble getting seats at the beach. If you plan on doing any excursions, talk to Eric Garcia on the beach. We did a full day tour which included ziplining, time in the volcanic hot springs & natural mud bath, a waterslide and horseback riding. Lunch was also included and was delicious With each couple that booked, the price went down, and even though the 3rd couple for our group did not make it we still got the lower price. Our leader for the day was wonderful! He took pictures for us at all of the events of the day for free and couldn't have been more informative. The drive wasn't too long and we were in a comfortable, air conditioned van. We also got massages with Eric Garcia's wife on the beach for $30 per person...they were amazing and definitely worth it! Also, we did the snorkeling & kayaking trip that is included with your stay..our tour guide was great, and found quite a few ocean creatures for us.

For airport transportation, I highly recommend Eco Trans...$20 per person, each way, and they were on time and reliable.

This is definitely a couples resort, so I would keep that in mind...although we did see a few families while we were there. No need to upgrade to the Royal Beach Club, there don't seem to be too many perks for being there.

All in all an amazing vacation and I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

To say that the Westin in Costa Rica exceeded our expectations is an understatement. We could not have had a better experience for our honeymoon. Aside from it being affordable, the food was absolutely outstanding, the service was world class and the weather was outstanding. We had the opportunity to relax and catch up on some R&R as well as get out on some fun excursions (jet ski tour, zip lining, ATV, waterfalls, hanging bridges in the rainforest, volcanic crater etc..). The beach and pool were second to none and everything ran pretty smoothly. Even the airplane ride into Liberia was great. We met up with quite a few couples at the Westin who have done multiple "all inclusive" trips in the past and they all agreed that their experience at the Westin ranked #1 on their list. My two biggest takeaways were the food and the service, they were really world class. If you are considering a stay at the the Westin..here are a couple of helpful tips:
- When you check-in, book your dinner reservations for the entire week.
- Every restaurant is great (even the buffet) so please take a chance to try out every one of them
- There might be a little lineup at the omelette station in the morning (breakfast) but it's worth the wait.
- We stayed in the Junior Deluxe suite and loved every minute of it (saved $600 by not doing the royal beach club). We were able to use the internet in the business centre so that was not an issue and you'll hardly be in your room anyway.
- Pool is amazing (nice swim up bar!)
- They have nighlty entertainment which is fun to catch (we went to see a circus show)
- We booked our excursions through Erik on the beach. We did ATV, Zip-lining and a rainforest tour. They are 100% legit and you will save ALOT of $$ by going through them. You also get to experience more of Costa Rica with them. The excursions through the Westin are more expensive and alot more limiting. For example..instead of taking a bus to zip-lining (westin) we took ATV's through the the city/forest by booking with Erik.
- Rico Suave took us through the rain forest...we could not tip him enough. He is so knowlegeable and did an amazing job (volcanic crater, hot springs etc..)
- We heard the Arenal volcano is dead and not that impressive so might not be worth a 20 hr excursion.
- We booked a 2 hour jet ski tour through the Westin (Gilberto was our guide). This was awesome! You hit up a bunch of different beaches and than go snorkling to see exotic fish.
- 24 hour room service was really great.
- We did the free 1 hour golf tour.This was great because we got to see the Howler monkeys.
- There are quite a few inguanas and "racoons" on site but they are harmless and stay out of your way.
- They have a 24 fitness centre. It's really great. They have a studio and run classes during the day. If you're a free weight guy, they have a smith machine (enough to do sets of 225lbs) a multi-purpose aparatus and dumbells that go up to 55lbs.

Watch outs:
- It gets dark pretty early in costa-rica...pitch black around 6:30 (we were there in November)
- Bring some bug spray just in case. Zero bugs during the day but they do come out at night.
- The nightlife isn't that great, it's pretty casual. If you're expecting Las Vegas than you will be disapointed.

This was the perfect resort for our honeymoon. It provided a great balance of relaxation and excitment. We will be back again and would recommend this resort to anyone and everyone!

Cheers!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

First off, the Westin Golf Resort and Spa at Playa Conchal offers great value for anyone who is looking for an inclusive vacation. The service is great and the food is good.

Now let's talk about the day trips you can do from Playa Conchal. While the hotel offers many tours through a tour company, there are guests (as evident from the reviews here) that would step out to the public beach and sign up for tours with Erik Garcia - a friendly and knowledgeable local who will suggest activities that suit your interest and physical capability at a rate lower than what the licensed hotel tour company offers. No need to look for him. As soon as you step outside of the hotel area on the beach, there will be a few guys approaching you to sign up for tours, and one of them will be Erik (you can see his name on his tee shirt)

Erik's wife also offers a great massage for USD30. You can tell they both are entrepreneurs who run their business on Playa Conchal :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Amex, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.