We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel let down by poor management” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Save Saved
You added The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel let down by poor management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel facilities are very good the rooms are very comfortable, although the noise from adjoining rooms can spoil your comfort. You could tell this was an American chain, since unlike all other major hotels in the area they charge for internet.

The beach is very picturesque, but not all that great to walk on. We far (far) preferred Tamarindo Beach - flat/firm sand, that went for miles.

My beef with the hotel was management team. We had problems with our laundry, after several hours of being promised it was on its way I asked to speak to the manager. I was given the old 'he's with another customer' story. I asked for him to call me when he was done. I was assured (just like with my laundry) that would happen in a few minutes. It never happened.

On the plus side, the restaurant staff were uniformly great and the food was good. Just let down by the impression the management team left.

Room Tip: Shop around for the same date/room. We found a price spread of over $100/night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zasha G, Community Manager / PR Coordinator at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Bruce,
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time for write us and share your experience!
For us is very important, because if we have a fail you help us to fix it.
We will take note of your comments about the issues on your stay, and take actions on that.
Please, we will appreciate if you can write us an email with the problems that you had to our Guests Service Manager, Mr. Yasil Alvarado to yasil.alvarado@westin.com
Hope you visit us again, and let us bring you a better experience.
Best regards!

Zasha Perez Gallardo
Community Manager
zasha.perez@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    575
    169
    48
    26
See reviews for
630
1012
13
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (850)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Resort was wonderful. Got tired of food - Pizza shop closed and I was told it was the best thing they had. Enjoyed all restaurants - Service was impeccable. Our room steward Bergan was the best we have ever had. Always willing to help. The people who cleaned our rooms even folded dirty clothes! Pool and drinks were amazing! But the best was Eric. Eric books tours just outside the gate to the beach. He can get you any tour you would like and save you about $10.00 per person on any tour. Be sure and have a massage by Eva (she is just outside gate to beach too) Magic hands my husband, Estaban says. Resort is super clean and the Costa Ricans are the hapiest people I have ever been around. Rented a car and drove all around - felt safe at all times. Just a beautiful vacation.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by thinking the Royal Beach Club is on the beach. You pay more to be there and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zasha G, Community Manager / PR Coordinator at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Gayle,
Thank you for taking your time for share your experience with us, we are glad that you enjoy your stay! and that you know more about our beautiful country, Costa Rica.
Thank you for your nice comments, we will send it to our staff, they will very happy! we invite you to share your experience also in our facebook page @Westin Playa Conchal and in our new twitter account @WestinConchal
We hope you can visit us again soon!
Regards and Pura Vida!

Zasha Perez Gallardo
Community Manager
zasha.perez@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Westin Oct 19-26th. We had a fabulous time! The property was great. Clean, well tended and beautiful. We upgraded to the Royal beach club upon arrival ( we paid the 40 dollar per person for the upgrade) I would say for me the money wasn't worth it because we did three full day tours and were not on the property that much. Had we been there more I think we would have thought differently. The best part of the beach club for us was the pool. The wait staff bring you drinks, food right to your chairs and it was quiet and peaceful, also we enjoyed the private buffet dining there was a pretty good crowd at the other buffet. We did have a private butler but to be honest we didn't see or use him much.
We had a bungalow by the main pool which was pretty close to everything. The room was spotless. We did have a problem with the air the first day. It was very hot in the room. Maintanance came right away and worked it out. We also had a problem with the water (shower) temp. It seemed to be a problem when a very large group (over 200 people) checked in. I assume due to high consumption of water. Early morning was the only time the water was really hot. Other than that the water was luke warm at best.
I agree with everyone else about the beach , not very nice but we weren't there for the beach so I was fine with it.
Food was very good. I wasn't sure what to expect since this was the first all inclusive that I had stayed at but I thought everything was very good . The french restaurant was my favorite. My boyfriend loved the pizza place for lunch. Also, the drinks were good and plentiful . I thought it was very funny at the pool bar when people were complaining that they didn't have bud light!! (they only had Imperial) Seriously, when in another country try something new!!! We also used room service several times and it was very good. They actually closed room service one night due to very heavy rain, we did not get back to our hotel due to a traffic jam until after midnight and we were starving they made our food , brought it out in the pooring rain! Much appreciated!!
We book our three tours through Swiss travel at the hotel . We did talk to Erik on the beach and
rented atvs from him but decided to go through the hotel for the other excursions. I am sure that Erik is ligit , I spoke to several people that booked through him and loved it. The only thing that I can say negative is that when I was asking Erik questions about the Nicaragua tour he was constantly looking around at the other people coming on the beach. I didn't feel like I had his attention and that he was to worried about missing a 'sale'. Swiss travel (Melvin) answered all my questions and offered alot of advise so we decided to go with them. I did pay about 10 to 15 dollars per person more through them. We had a great time. We did white water rafting, the arenal volcano tour and the nicaragua tour. They were all awesome.
Overall this was probably the best vacation I have taken . Costa rica is beautiful and we definetly look forward to returning

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zasha G, Community Manager / PR Coordinator at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Debbie,
Thank you for taking your time for share your personal experiences.
We are glad that you enjoy all the facilities and the natural beauties that you can find at hotel.
Thank you for your nice comments! we invite you to share your experience also in our facebook page @Westin Playa Conchal and in our new twitter account @WestinConchal
We hope you can visit us again soon!
Regards and Pura Vida!

Zasha Perez Gallardo
Community Manager
zasha.perez@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a wonderful time there. the hotel was beautiful and clean. the people were very nice and helpful. the food was great. Each restaurant had different food then the other. The beach was clean and the water was calm. The pool was big and had a swim up bar. They have alot of different activities there to do in the resort. The room was amazing, big, and comfortable. We went on couple of excurtions. We got them though Erik Garcia. You can find him on the beach. His prices are better then in the hotel, and the service is great. We went on a Volcano excurtion and our guide, Rico Suave, was great. They were very nice, helpful and profesional. I will definitely be coming back. This was one of the best Vacations I ever took. Very reaxing and peaceful. We highly recoment it. New Yorkers

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed at the Royal Beach and just can't say enough good about the service and courtesy of the staff. Cleanliness of the entire property was above expectation. Grew tired of the food but to be expected after two weeks.
The people just outside the gate on the beach were annoying but it's a public beach and Westin makes it known. Hard to make them take no for an answer. Other than that....fantastic place!
Highly recommend

Room Tip: Villas are very nice. Upgrade to Royal Beach side if you really enjoy being pampered. All the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Super nice people working at this resort. Food is gourmet - French and Italian were excellent!! Buffet was always fresh and replenished. Healthy food choices!!! - so sick of all inclusives serving fries and burgers all the time. Fresh fruits and veggies, lots of variety - Top notch quality here! Beds were so comfortable, room super clean, fresh and modern up-to-date decore. Pool and Bar always clean. Mixed drinks were yummy... gotta try the dirty banana YUM!! Grounds beautifully kept.

This resort is suitable for families and couples.... singles may find it too quiet. Wonderful holiday!!!!! Nicest resort all around, compared to the many places I have been. If I were to complain about anything I would say the shuttles travel rather fast considering they share the walk/roadway with walking guests.

We used Erik Garcia for a few trips - he provided safe, fun excursions, yes cheaper than the hotel offered. You can also get a massage on the beach for 20-25 dollars for an hour. Proffessional quality though I must say they were rough massages...as an alternative, I heard the spa experiance is relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. We had an amazing time! The property was beautiful. The staff was helpful and always very nice. The food was great! We were very pleased with our stay. This isn't the most authentic Costa Rican experience you could have, but it was still very nice and I'm thrilled we picked this property for our stay. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Media 8, Inc., Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.