We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa to your Saves list
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cabo Velas, Playa Conchal 506, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you are looking for a space, peace and high quality stuff, you are in a great place. We stayed in Reserva Conchal Maliche Appartment on thr 4th floor for 8 days. The place is big, spacious and not crowded at all. There are only few people during our stay, so you don't have to deal with noisy children running all over around. The beach - which is big, clean with white sand was usually empty apart from 3 or 4 people staying there. We had a two bedroom condo, each with separated bathoorm, which was cleand every day, with a huge tarrace with the view over ocean and mountains. Really cool. The stuff is always very helpful, the only thing is that they offer shuttle service all the time - the place is very big, so it's better to travel by car or by shuttle there - which is NOT TRUE. Shuttle service is avaiable but in eveing hours no one came for us when it was raining, so we forced westin shuttle to take us back. During our way back to app we saw our shuttle bus on a parking spot. Waiters in a beach club restaurant are really good qualified, nice and helpful, the food is really good and not very expensive. Reserva has a big, well airconditioned gym with modern devices, water and towels which is usually empty as well. Swimpool is avaiable but honestly it is not very big and the water, even if clean is extremaly warm there. Haven't tried a spa, so i can't say anything about it. Great place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    34
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
65
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Reserva Conchal is a nice resort. It has security barriers as soon as you enter with your car. The accommodation are in the style of apartments with kitchen, cutlery etc. The resort is very clean and the surrounding area is beautiful. When we visited we literally had the whole place to ourselves. Apart from a few American tourists it was nice and quiet with no kids running around the pool making too much noise. The pool is a stones throw away from the pool and every afternoon around 4pm we would be visited by a family of monkeys. Got ourselves some nice photos. The downside of Reserva Conchal for me was that the beach club was quite far away from where we staying within the resorts grounds. But luckily we had a car so it wasn't an issue, you could also call concierge and request a golf cart to pick you up, the drive itself was very nice with the scenery you observe on the way. Amazing phot opportunities. All in a all a good hotel, discreet, and clean. Define fly worth a visit for a day or two to relax on the beach. 4/5 for me

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We are at the end of a week with a large group that spans 3 generations in two condos, both which are very nice. The jitney is fine to get to the beach club, just make sure you call a few minutes early. The food and drink was outstanding and staff very nice, although the first day the service was horrendously slow but improved after some pointed conversations. The pool is small but nice, and the staff will take a chair down to the beach for you, but you will not get bar or restaurant service on the beach. The fitness room and lockers were very good. We ate mainly at the beach club restaurant and the spot was so nice it made it hard to want to leave and explore the area. We stayed on the golf course which got a little noisy early with the maintenance crew.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilbert, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed here with our two kids and it was JUST right. No cramming into one (or separate) hotel rooms) We had a bedroom for them and and bedroom for us. A kitchen, family room, 2 baths and a washer and dryer (my favorite). It was WONDERFUL! The large condo also included daily maid service. We had a golf course view and while it would have been nice to have an ocean view, it gets dark so early in June, so I don't know how much we would have seen anyway. The beach club was great - very private with a lovely, quiet beach. It was quite a hike from our condo to the beach (we tried it once!), but the on-site shuttle was a just a phone call away. We spent time each day enjoying the pool and beach (they would take a beach chair down to the beach for you, towels were checked out down there) and also took advantage of the work-out center and spa. On property we saw monkeys, birds, iguanas, racoons, and a possum who went past our patio each night about 5:00. We ate a lot at the beach club restaurant (reasonable and BIG servings), but we also made a quick trip to town to get food for breakfast & snacks (eggs, milk, bread, cereal, etc. & that was nice to have in the condo. If you are looking for a safe, quiet place to relax and stretch out - this is a great one to consider!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Well we've just returned from a two week (just over) spell in Costa Rica absolutely fabulous country and well worth a visit.....BUT we stayed at the Reserva Conchal which is billed as a "one bedroom suite hotel" which it is not. It is a one bedroom condo that you are sub letting via the owner hence the grubby sheets and even worse towels (not hotel standard because it's not a hotel!). If you didn't have a car you would be stuffed as it's a 5 mile drive to the beach bar which they market as the 'hotel', it's where you DRIVE to for breakfast, meals, spa and beach. The staff are very much aware that 'ha ha you're staying in the condo's and we are really sorry", they don't give any information as to the rest of the resort ....'The Westin', because you are not encouraged to go there. All the restaurants are fully booked all of the time. You definitely need a car to get to the supermarket, restaurants or even resort bars. There is no laundry service, which if you've been trekking you might need (we were told there were machines on the floor above, thank god we had a car to get the products needed!!).
To make matters worse the terrace door (we were on the ground floor) had no lock except for the two bits of bamboo that stopped the door sliding back...ummm not secure. There is a swimming pool at the condos, but rather dismal, no towels or cushions for the loungers. The staff know the situation and sympathise but what can they do ? Not 5 star and not worthy of the SLH title BEWARE!!! The staff are amazing, the food great but this is not as billed ....we will be contacting SLH as!!. They make you wear a wrist band.....say no more!!

Room Tip: If this is what you wan,t then great, but it is not what they advertise. You need a car if you are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We spent nine days at Reserva in a 3-bedroom villa with our two teenagers. The property exceeded our expectations. There was plenty of room for all of us to spread out. Having a washer/dryer was a definite plus and the kitchen was well stocked with dishes and cookware. We spent a lot of time at the beach club where the staff was friendly and accommodating in every way. the restaurant was delicious and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was included in our stay which was another plus. The wait staff took the time to remember our likes from drink orders to how we took our coffee. The two pools are beautiful (and quite big) and very well kept. the gym is by far better than any i've encountered at 5-star resorts. the beach is small and the water wasn't very inviting so we stayed by the pool except to jet ski. It is a public beach but no one bothers you. The red tide thankfully left the day after we arrived. It certainly was not the resort's fault and they have no control over the air quality as another poster seemed to insinuate. You could have stayed at the Westin next door for a lot more money and encountered the same issues!
My only issue with the villa were the towels (or lack thereof) and the paltry toiletries. I think the resort (or the property owner) could have gone the extra mile to make sure there were plenty of towels available so that we didn't have to keep rewashing the same ones. Also housekeeping could have done a better job of restocking the miniature bottles of bath wash. I don't know if this was just an issue with our unit or a resort issue all around. A car is a definite plus for getting to the club and exploring the area. Great places to eat in Playa Flamingo and Tamarindo. Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Be aware that some units have stairs. Malinche offers great sunset views on higher floors. Jobo and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I spent our holyweek at Conchal Villas, Ours was a big house fully featured with all ammenities, the villa was big with nice living room and kitchen, swimming pool an a great view to the golf course, three big bedrooms each with its own bath rooms, the Villa is well equipped to hold 10 persons and a centrallized A/C for the whole Villa, full speed Internet and cable TV, Housekeeping is not included on the base rate but you can have that service for an addtional fee.

Everyone who staying on a Villa has a fully beach club access, there you can find a state of the art Gym, a great Spa, I tried the "Sueco" Sweeden Massage for 80 mins for $115, worth it. large swimming pool and a restaurant, this restaurant will change menues during the day and prices for day time are razonables considering this is not a cheap place, but at dinner plates can go high on prices, a fish plate can reach $50 including taxes and tips.

Only thing I would prefer to be different, from the Villas to the beach club there are 4.7Kms, sadly the beach was at just 200mts away from us but due the golf course that side is closed and unaccesable, so you have two ways to reach the Beach club, calling the hotel for a complementary shuttle bus that takes just 20 mins to pick you up, or just take your car if you have one and drive, some of my family walked that distance but you have in good shape to do that, and it is dangerous, there were no sidewalks so you have to run or walk on the way.

Staff are nice, we hired a chef for us so I have no idea of how the food tasted at the retaurants, but I heared that they were great.

Room Tip: Hotel is better located than villas. but for a large family the villa's prices won over the few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa

Address: Cabo Velas, Playa Conchal 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reserva Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.