We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Valeria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nicoya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Casa Valeria
Save Saved
You added Casa Valeria to your Saves list
Samara Main Street | 200 Est From the Police Station on the Main Street, Nicoya, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Nicoya
Reading
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Really nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

Great location, right on the beach front, next to a surf school. Easy walking distance to both restaurants and bars on the beach and in town.

Really pleasant, friendly and helpful staff.

Rooms are very basic, a room with beds, shelves, a bathroom with toilet, sink and shower but more than sufficient for what we needed. There's a big kitchen, with fridges, freezer, cooking job and utensils which is available for all residents to use. There's also outside tables which are nicely placed in the shade and was perfect for group breakfast and meals. There's also a number of hammocks, which are delightful to chill out in.

The other residents staying here were really friendly and had come back year after year (for the last 7!).

The rooms were $40 for a single room and $50 for a double, which I did think was a little overpriced, especially as there wasn't any air con in our room, however saying this I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
4
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This hotel was great value, right on the beach. Everything you need for a great weekend. Sun, surf, hammock, and a sushi bar next door.

Room Tip: On the beach, wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

Chilling in a hammock directly at the ocean, in the shadow of big palm trees, walking to a surfschool in 10 seconds, to a supermarket 30 mts. to get a cold beer. Comunal kitchen with a giant fridge. Where else do you have this? The prices of the rooms are really cheap considering this setting! The rooms look a bit worn and shabby, but they are cleaned very well every day. All the sand I carried into the room was removed every day. The people staying here are a nice mixture of open minded people. This is where I had the best time in Costa Rica! Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011 via mobile

Cheapest rooms I've seen that are on the beach ($25 per person)Short walk to restaurants/bars, bank, stores. Small rooms, but who wants to be in there room in CR anyway. Very friendly & helpful staff. Great lil place for the bargain adventurer.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2006

We stayed at Casa Valeria for six nights. Wonderful location, beautiful garden with hammock, nice owners, really rude staff.
When we came back from breakfast after our first night, we noticed our room was just about to get cleaned; mop and bucket in front of the door. My husband has issues with artifical fragrances, pesticides and harsh cleaning chemicals. So I looked in the bucket and saw, among other things, two different kind of pesticides (the property is right on the ocean, during the rainy season everything is washed directly into the ocean!).

I asked Jose from the front desk to please not have our room cleaned. He acted insulted. I think he thought we had something to hide. After 3 days the lovely owner inquired why we don't want our room cleaned. My husband explained the issue and she instructed her cleaning person Sylvia to clean our room only with water. After that the cleaning person made a point to spray pesticides in the communal kitchen while we were cooking. She stopped saying "hi", came into the room to clean (with water) without knocking. One day, I was laying in one of the hammocks, a huge coco palm branch fell on my legs. One of my knees was badly swollen, the other bruised. Jose and Sylvia came out of the main house, whispered, pointed at me and smiled. On another day my husabnd wanted to make a phone call from the public pay phone by the front desk. When he picked up the receiver he heard the sound of a dial up modem. Jose looked up from his computer and asked annoyed:"Do you really need to make a phone call right now?).

I want to reiterate that the place is great and the owners lovely. Unfortunatly they left for vacation and after that the staff was almost unbearable (we were not alone with that opinion).
And the excessive use of pesticides, indoors, in eating areas, right on the ocean, in this time and age is simply irresponsible.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2006

Our stay at Casa Valeria was so enjoyable that after leaving to go Nosara for 2 nights, we came back to Valeria! The cabins are literally steps from the beach. The black guard dog has been replaced by 2 small Lhasa Apso type dogs. The communal (shared) kitchen works very well, & the coffee (delicious) is on all day, free of charge. Since the cabins are so close to the beach it is strongly advised to keep the cabin doors locked when you're not in the cabin. All in all, we loved it here.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2005

We recently stayed at Valerie's Casa for - in total - four nights. We were in one of the cabins right in front of the beach for two nights before the weekend and in the other beachfront cabin after the weekend (during the weekend the place was fully booked because of some mountainbikerace).

The cabins are pretty simple, but okay. No A/C, but screens and a fan. No problem when there's a cool breeze from the sea...

Good rates and free coffee 24/7! Hammocks all over and a clean, but simple kitchen (when you would like to make your own breakfast, lunch or even dinner...).

The dog of Valeria, some black whatever, keeps the guests safe and even escorts you when you walk the beach or to the bakery, one block down the road...

Cheap and simple, that's it!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Valeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Valeria

Address: Samara Main Street | 200 Est From the Police Station on the Main Street, Nicoya, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nicoya
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Nicoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a great spot in front of the ocean, all our rooms have a prive bathroom with hot water, a communal kitchen, in the down town samara so we are near all the stores you may need.We hope to see you soon in Samara ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Valeria Hotel Nicoya
Casa Valeria Costa Rica/Nicoya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Valeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.