We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid camp ground and hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground
Curubande, Liberia, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Liberia, Costa Rica
1 review
“Splendid camp ground and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

During a round-trip in Costa Rica we stayed a coupled of nights at El Sol Verde. The Dutch couple made this stay a very, very nice experience. We have newer before experienced such tidy washing facilities. Breakfast and advise on what todo was over-standard as well. We can only warmly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Trying out the tent-like accomodation was an excellent way to get closer to the dark sky with all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
55
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This beautiful spot is owned by a friendly Dutch couple. By their personal hospitality you feel very comfortable and would like to stay some more days.
Since the lodge was full, we booked 2 nights in the tent house. A perfect alternative. Although space is limited (bed and 2 backpacks) we slept well. Showers and toilets are continuously cleaned. The fresh breakfast is just perfect. The small town has several supermarkets, restaurants and a bus.
The beautiful spot is a perfect base for exploring the park Rincon de la Vieja (15 minutes by car). This park offers you beautiful walks, waterfalls, mud pods, lots of animals and hot water baths! Additionally you can daytrip to Liberia or just enjoy dinner in the evening. El Sol Verde is THE alternative to the two large tourist complexes located in the NP.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this nice place in Curubande. This is a typical Costa Rican village. Ingrid, Gerard and their dog (which watched us everywhere) were very welcoming. They give you a lot of information about things to do in Curubande and surroundings. We did not travel with a hired car and they arranged a taxi for us to go to the hot springs at the rio Negro and Ricon de la Vieja NP. The breakfast is very good and the rooms are nicely decorated. In Curubande we had some nice meals with cold beers at bar/restaurant La Guaria. From El Sol Verde you can walk to the Rio Blanco to take a swim in the beautiful blue water.

Groetjes,
Theo en Renate

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

El Sol Verde is an awesome bed and breakfast on the outskirts of Ricon de La Vieja National Park. The lodge is beautiful with marvelous views of the surroundings and kept impeccably clean. The hosts, Gerard and Ingrid, are a lovely couple from Holland who are dedicated to creating a great environment for all guests. They had great tips of the bests hikes, waterfalls and beaches in the area. They gave us more information than we could ever find online. Rincon de La Vieja National Park is right next door and this lodge is a great place to stay if you want to do the hiking trails, visit the waterfalls, and reach the summit of the volcano. This is also a great location to go to Santa Rosa National Park which is only an hour and a half away. If you rent a car, make sure you rent a 4WD vehicle, you will definitely need that wherever you go in Costa Rica. I had a marvelous time staying in El Sol Verde and highly recommend it for anyone in the area. Too bad we have to go back to work and can't just live at El Sol Verde.
- Daniel and Aviva

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radolfzell am Bodensee, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Dear all,

first of all we have to say that the waterfall in Rincon de la Vieja was the best spot of our Costa Rica trip!!
And all the National Park is worth it to spend some time there!
Don't miss it!!!

We went there almost in the beginning of our holidays and found great dutch hosts, a nice lodge that fits to Costa Rica, and a surrounding where you get a feeling of really being in Costa Rica - a bit outside of the touristic areas.
We got really spoilt by the nature we found there.

At El Sol Verde you can start your day with a nice breakfast where you can also get as much information as needed to make it a fantastic day.
In the evening you can chill out on a nice veranda or play one of the games that are available.

Gerard and Ingrid, again MANY THANKS for this fantastic experience and now after we have seen more places we can confirm it: "Congratulations to your choice of settling in Curubande"
Let's hope that it will stay as it is!

All the best for you and take care,

Sylvia & Peter

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

My favorite part about this place is the Dutch couple that owns it. Genuinely nice people that really make you feel welcome and safe. They were also knowledgeable about the area and CR in general. Other than that, it's a good value and not too far from the park. We'd love to stay here again sometime.

We stayed one night in a tent, which was fine, except we heard a loud roar in the middle of the night which scarred the crap out of us so we opted for the tent house the next night. Once we found out what this roar came from (a howler monkey most likely), we realized there was nothing to be scared of. Those things sound scary until you see them and realize they're actually quite small and not typically aggressive.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibolga, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Curubande is an incredible place to stay when visiting the park. The town includes a small stand alone grocery, several bars and several stores located in homes. Half the stools/chairs at La Guaria are horse saddles; fun for kids and comfortable. Everyone (including the policeman) loves to chat with visitors; some Spanish is helpful. This is a safe, clean (screens on windows so minimal bugs), comfortable place to stay and we would stay here again. Follow the very accurate recommendations of Gerard & Ingrid for restaurants and hiking. No coffee maker, but hot water provided gratis if you have your own coffee/cup. Porch fridge is stocked with drinks to purchase, you can also bring a small supply of your own from Liberia and store them here. Great evening at Bar/Restaurant Mixcuac; "Hi" to Bernie.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground

Address: Curubande, Liberia, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty lodging in Liberia
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'El Sol Verde' (the Green Sun) is a combination of a lodge and a campground, located at the boundary of Curubande,15 km. northeast of Liberia. It has a small-scale setting with a pleasant atmosphere and is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the sounds of nature. It is only 8km to the entrance of National Park Rincon de la Vieja. 'EL Sol Verde' therefore is a good starting point to make excursions to this magnificent piece of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground Costa Rica/Liberia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Sol Verde Lodge & Campground to your Saves list