We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Liberia Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Javy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Javy
Save
You added Hotel Javy to your Saves list
Barrio Moracia 200 Norte del IPEC, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Liberia
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location for Liberia Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had an early flight from Liberia, so we stayed here for one night. We had two rooms which were on the bottom floor. To get around you would definitely need a taxi as the hotel is a little out of the way.
Service is very good, they are very sweet and we had a fruit plate and fresh juice when we got there and as well in the early morning before we left.
I had to make a local phone call and they let me use their phone which was very nice of them.
They helped us arrange a taxi to Playa Hermosa ($35 dollars one way) and a taxi to the airport as well, the ride to the airport is around 10-15 minutes (depending at what time you're driving at).
We had two rooms, they were both very clean. One of the rooms was aged and very dim lighting, this was the one nearest to the stairs. The second room which was further down was a lot nicer and brighter and the bathroom was nicely done and the shower was good.

Perhaps it was just that night, but the wind outside was so strong that it was super noisy to sleep. Also make sure when you arrive to have enough cash in case their credit card machine is not working.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    44
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
56
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicoya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I live and work in Guanacaste. I usually stay near the highway when I am in Liberia, but I will be staying at Javy from now on! The breakfast was the best part. Spanish speaking, but even if you don't speak much they will work with you and there are always people there to help you translate.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This small hotel has clean rooms with good beds, TV, air conditioning, WiFi and plenty of hot water. The service is friendly, helpful and definitely upbeat. Our plane was late getting to Liberia and we didn't arrive at Hotel Javy until 12:30 a.m. We were greeted with a smile and a marvelous fruit plate. It was one of the best things that happened all day to weary travelers! Our room was cozy and quiet - just what we needed. The breakfast next morning was tasty and served a little later than usual to allow us to sleep in a bit - same friendly helpful service. We stayed there two nights before continuing on our way and stayed there again on the night before our flight left. We had to leave at 4 a.m. to make our flight and were sent on our way with fresh coffee and fruit to go. We highly recommend Hotel Javy! Thanks Isabel and Carla.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utopia, NB
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived after a long hot stinky bus ride. She looked at us and said, you look dry, let me get you something. Next thing we knew we were drinking fresh pineapple juice, and two huge plates of fruits arrived. We ate then looked at our room. It was so clean, we felt total relief. We had a lovely supper here for a great price. Than it was off for the best hot water shower to date and an amazing sleep. In the morning she served us the biggest and best breakfast we have had in 6 weeks. Fresh juice, good variety of fruits, gallo pinto, eggs, French bread, fresh mango juice and coffee. She included all this in the price of the room. What a lovely experience to end our time in Costa Rica. A 3 star hotel with 5 star service.

Room Tip: We reserved in advance so she said free breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

From the airport pickup & drop off, to the food & room, everything was taken care off & friendly. We met our driver at the airport after a long day of traveling & took us straight to the hotel. We were welcomed at the hotel, shown our clean room, and offered a tasty fruit plate as a late night snack! Breakfast the next morning was delicious before we set off for Arenal. During our week in CR, we looked forward to returning to Hotel Javy for our last night before flying out. Our reception back was again warm and friendly, to a clean room and a great dinner. The attention and smile of Javier's mother is amazing! Recommended!

Room Tip: All set within the green trees & A/C if needed.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Extremely helpful and friendly service, good local fresh food. The breakfast portion sizes were very generous. Clean room with air conditioning and hot shower. Great place to stay if you're passing through Liberia. They will also help with airport pick ups. No worries here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We are hoping to stay here our last night in Costa Rica but cannot find contact information. Can anyone help us with information how to book this hotel or contact them? It has great reviews and we would really love to stay here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier R, Manager at Hotel Javy, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hi thanks for your review. if you would like to contact us you can send us an email to info@hoteljavy.com.

Best Regards,
Hotel Javy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Javy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Javy

Address: Barrio Moracia 200 Norte del IPEC, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Javy is one of the hotels in Liberia. Our attractive is our personal service and the quality of our rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Javy Costa Rica/Liberia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Javy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.