We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Ana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Ana to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Ana
2 Km East of Daniel | Oduber Quiros International Airport, Liberia 4050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Liberia
America
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value and convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were arriving late into Liberia airport and needed a place to rest after the flight. It cost $15USD to take a taxi to the hotel from the airport. It has a good location, 5 minute drive from the airport in one direction, and another 5 minute drive to the town of Liberia, which is full of supermarkets and restaurants. There is also a few car rental agencies a short walk down the road from the hotel. The room was small but had all the basic amenities. Television with satellite TV, AC, shower, free parking. We stayed in two different rooms during our trip, one of which also had a safe and refrigerator. The hotel does have WiFi but it is quite weak and the connection dropped frequently. But for checking your email or sending a message it was adequate. Bed was clean but pillows were a little lumpy. There is some noise from the road, so asking for a room in the rear of the hotel will help, be sure to bring ear plugs just in case though. We are used to traffic noise so it didn't bother us that much. There is a little restaurant at the front of the hotel that serves a good breakfast, with both American style and typical Costa Rican breakfasts. Given there aren't that many choices for hotels near the airport, and that I felt I got good value for my money, I would stay here again if I needed somewhere to rest before or after a flight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel if traffic noise is an issue. Not all rooms have refrigerato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
6
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at the hotel before flying out early the next morning. It is close to car rentals and airport. Price - quality is reasonable, it is clean and the beds comfortable. We appreciated being in the back of the building, as the front rooms must be noisy from passing traffic. The air conditioning was wonderful and we appreciated the early morning (5 am) shuttle to the airport (additional cost : 10 $) . Parking in the back was welcome. We reserved about 8 days in advance, while coming in from the airport and paid 50 % of the price in advance. The perfume of the ylang ylang tree in the back was a wonderful surprise !

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel (passing traffic noise), but air conditioning helps. Rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I know this is not the Ritz Carlton or even the Holiday Inn. When I made the reservation on line, I knew that it was not going to be the most luxurious place on Earth (or even in Liberia). I expected less than awesome bedding and linens; I expected adequate accommodations for the rather cheap price.

However, that does not mean that I was expecting a hotel without the most basic of services. Free wireless internet means to me that they actually have internet that works. They do not. I also expect, therefore, that my room have a phone for communication with the world outside of the Santa Ana Hotel and Liberia. There was no phone. When I asked at the desk, I was told that I could use their phone for $1.00/minute with the first minute free. I guess once they get you here, they don't want you to leave so they cut off all communication. Ugg.

The personnel who work at the hotel are very nice and helpful. However, I cannot recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We showed up without a reservation and the guy at the front desk said "no problem" but you need to pay in cash so we did. Then he walks us to our room and opens the door and its like a scene from a horror movie-dingy, bedding doesn't match, walls delapatated and ac is broke. We tell the guy we don't want the room and he refuses to refund our money. I threaten to get the police and he cusses us out saying we have no proof we paid for a room because he didn't give us any paperwork. He kept our money $80 and we found another hotel. Worse hotel experience of my life!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William A, Gerente at Hotel Santa Ana, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Estimado señor: Lamentamos su situación, sin embargo, usted vió la habitación primero y le dio su aceptación después de eso. Luego hizo el pago y se instaló en ella y después de haberla utilizado, sin ninguna justificación vino a recepción y exigió la devolución del dinero. Aún así, le fue devuelto el 50%. No es cierto que no se le devolvió nada, ni que no hizo uso de la habitación.

Dear Sir, We regret the situation, however, you saw the room first and gave his acceptance after that, then made the payment and settled in it and after used, without any justification you demanded the money back. Still, it was returned to 50%. It is not true that it was not returned anything, nor you did not use the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Bay, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked a room in the Santa Ana for our first and last nights in Costa Rica, as it was close to the airport. The rooms were clean and adequate, with TVs and large bathrooms, and a small fridge on one stay. The owners were very helpful on our first morning when the shuttle we'd booked forgot to pick us up. They made the necessary calls to sort out the problem, then drove us into Liberia (where we waited for the shuttle) and recommended some restaurants we might like to visit. On our last night, the owner got up very early in the morning to drive us to the airport. We'd stay here again. (Yes, it's on a busy road, but the noise wasn't that bad. We always travel with ear plugs if noise turns out to be a problem. Not everyone has the privilege of living or doing business in quiet surroundings.)

Room Tip: Request a room facing away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel is near the airport so great when flying in or out of Liberia. The price is right and the rooms were small but comfortable with twin or double beds. In some room you can sleep 3 persons. Car rental available on site and the restaurant for breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Don't take one near the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were pretty unhappy with this place. There was an odd smell in our room, and it was down a dark hallway. It wasn't unclean but the smell was... Bothersome.

In the bathroom the only way to wash your hands is to step into the shower to get soap and then step back to the sink.

We ended up leaving and staying at another hotel down the road.

The location isn't fantastic either. It's not close enough to the airport, and it isn't close to the centre of town either.

If you have low expectations and just need a room before you fly, then you'll probably be ok. Otherwise, stay elsewhere.

Oh and bed and breakfast just means bed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Ana

Address: 2 Km East of Daniel | Oduber Quiros International Airport, Liberia 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Ana is strategically located at only 5 minutes from Daniel Oduber International Airport in Liberia Guanacaste, making it a convenient place for the traveler to stay and from here visit the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Santa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Ana Costa Rica/Liberia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Ana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.