We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow - great value! and amazing staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada del Tope

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada del Tope
Save Saved
You added Posada del Tope to your Saves list
Calle Real, Liberia, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“wow - great value! and amazing staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Hi, I first stayed here ten years ago and i think it's an amazing place... It smells amazing as the owner lights incense in the morning and everyone is super helpful and friendly. Liberia is a small city with lots of shops for clothes, shopping and great restaurants; and the hotel is smack dab in the middle of it just a couple of blocks away from the church. It's an amazing spot and i count myself lucky and blessed to have found it. There are many parks around liberia and fun things to do such as swimming under waterfalls etc etc... The staff are super friendly and accomodating. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    8
    11
    3
See reviews for
1
15
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

By far the most disgusting place I have ever seen. I know you should not expect much from 25 dollars a night but the black mold was literally falling from the walls. The room(We stayed in the 'newer' part of the hostel) looked like it had not been cleaned in years. Under one of the two beds there was even a pile up of black mold. Very unhealthy if you ask me. The mattresses where not changed since ever and where absolutely horrible. When you lay down you sank to the bottom and every movement could be heared. The net that should protect against mosquitos was full of holes and because you we where laying with our feet outside the bed and against the net we where getting stung a lot. Do not go to this place. There where only two positive things about this place and that is the very affordable and good food of copa d'oro around the corner and the taxi driver they sometimes hire to drive around tourists. This guy was very nice and would wait at every location till you are done.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We spent just one night in la posada del tope, it was the only hostel we found when we arrived a 7pm. Our room (double bed and private bathroom for 30$) seems nice but it was before we go to bed... We could feel every sprung of the mattress, and ear it at any movement, we had to turn with our feet at the top of the bed for sleeping. The fan was old and so noisy. The mosquito net covered half of the bed ans was very dirty.
We did not have the choice, but we were really angry to pay 30$ and sleep worst than in a 10$ dorm.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in total, and had a double room with a shared bathroom for $20 a night.
The rooms are relatively clean, comfortable, and even have a TV and mosquito nets.
The sitting area outside is really nice although make sure you have some insect repellant because the mosquitoes will eat you alive.
Staff members are very friendly and helpful in case you need any information.
The location is also great, being only 1.5 blocks from the main square.

Overall, we had a great time and would come back here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Posada del Tope because Hotel Liberia where we stayed the last time was full. Our double bed room for $25 was a hut in the back garden. The window has to be closed during the night (according to the sign on the wall) but the fan was efficient and loud. The room was quite dirty with cracks in the concrete floor, a cockroach in the sink, a few ants and lots of mosquitos. Definitely not worth $25 per night.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

$8 for my own private room with a fan is hard to beat in liberia. They also organise trips from here as well which is nice. It was a little bit dingy because the lighting inside was pretty poor.

It does lack a communal area to socialise in and there is no kitchen or restaurant so you are forced to eat out.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I've stayed here on 4 separate trips through Liberia. 3 out of the 4 I was with another person and stayed in the building across the street. These rooms were basic, but certainly good enough for the price. All are shared bath. The best room in my opinion is at the very rear of the property. Once I was on my own and stayed in the "main building" where the front desk is, and that room was very dark and cramped. Kinda creepy, but I survived.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada del Tope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Tope

Address: Calle Real, Liberia, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Also Known As:
Posada Del Tope Hotel Liberia
Posada Del Tope Costa Rica/Liberia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada del Tope, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.