We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Mts - West Of Main Entrance, Liberia 5000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 x 2 Promotion
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old and average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights.
Room was clean however there were no towels and it took us almost 2 hours to get them delivered to the room.
Linen seemed a bit used (not as in dirt, but as in wear and tear).
A/C and TV worked well.
However the place (overall) looked old and at some spots uncared for.
Food was average.
Room service extremely slow.
Extremely loud music from nearby bar/club kept us from having a good night's sleep during the weekend.

Room Tip: Only room 110 has a working door to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    20
    21
    27
See reviews for
19
33
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed here in march 16 to 19, 2014. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good. The location is good. I took short trip to beaches and took hikes in the national parks. The places in the town are within walking distance or take taxis, which is cheap. I enjoyed my stay and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimli, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

An average hotel with a great location to explore the surrounding region from. Breakfasts were pretty good and staff was very courteous, though all spoke very little English...and I speak very little Spanish. One highlight was the resident cat...Mia, who meowed at our door every morning promptly at 6:30. This was precipitated by our buying cat food for her and feeding her. The grounds and interior walkways of El Sitio were fantastic displays of native plant species, well cared for as was the very large pool in the centre of all the landscaping. An armed security guard mans the parking lot at night. A decent quality place to stay in Liberia and worth the cost.

Room Tip: Try for a room farthest away from the western edge of the building. All westerly rooms are very muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in this BW in Dec 2011. During that visit the hotel was around a average level.

We booked this visit for Jan 06 2014 and at the time of booking we asked for a main floor room near the pool. One day before our arrival we called and confirmed our booking and reiterated our desire for a first floor room near the pool. When we arrived at the BW we were greeted by two very friendly staff at the front desk. Our room was assigned to us and it was on the second floor. We declined the room and were relocated to a first floor room near the pool. Upon entering the room we noted that there were no drapes and only sheers on the windows. The room was not ready for occupancy as the beds required making. I went back to the front desk and both girls were very flustered. We were assigned a third room but it required the maids attention and we could not relocate for 20 minutes and were asked to stay in the second room. We were called in approximately 20 minutes and informed that our room was ready. We walked to the room with our bags etc. and the maid was still preparing our room. We stood in the walkway while she finished up. She was very apologetic for the delay we had. It was not her fault in our opinion and we were called too early for her to complete her task.

We located ourselves in our room and went over to the restaurant / bar for a drink. On our way to the restaurant there was a dead (very large) squirrel type animal on the walkway. It was obvious it had been there for a long time and there were hundreds of flies around and on it. It had been partially devoured. The bartender spoke no English and we communicated by a app on our iPhone when we needed to. Fernando was a very nice young man and he was very interested in making us the appropriate drinks. We seated ourselves at the bar. We had two drinks each and decided to have an early dinner. We seated ourselves at a table and waited for our meals. In a very short time our meals were brought to our table and along came several dozen flies. We attempted to eat but quickly lost our appetites. We paid our bill and left. Fernando felt very bad about the situation. On our way back to our room we went to the front desk and told them about the dead animal which was quickly remover by a grounds worker.

In our room we communicated with our family via Wi-Fi and then turned on the TV. While watching TV we saw a black band above the baseboard beneath the desk / TV stand. I got down on the floor with a flashlight and sure enough it was a very thick fuzzy band of black mould. We didn't disturb it and said we are out of here in the morning. While watching TV we heard a animal gnawing on the wall structure from within the wall. I banged on the wall and it quit. Several minutes later it started again in the same wall but a little further over. We banged on the wall again and retired for the night. We were awakened several times during the night by the same or similar noises.

In the morning we showered under a shower head that had no pressure and very little water. The water dribbled out and it was difficult to wash the soap off our bodies let alone out of our hair. While sitting on the toilet you had to be careful because it was not secured to the floor and it would tip from side to side.

We participated in the breakfast which was poor compared to other BW we have stayed at. The breakfast in 2011 was very good.

When we checked out we were presented with a bill for the room which had already been paid for. Luckily we had a copy of our booking receipt.

We use BW almost exclusively while traveling through Canada and the USA. As we said at the beginning of this review we stayed here in Dec 2011. We will never stay here again and BW Corporate will be sent a copy of this review. We know all BW's are privately owned but we are sure they will look at their badging for this property.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel. The Hilton Garden we have been told is very nice and across from the airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We will never stay in this Best Western Hotel again because of two big problems. First, the noise from the nightclub across the street kept us awake until early in the morning. Second, it is very obvious that the hotel management has never slept in one of their beds. The pillows were a nightmare-big and very hard. We even tried rolling up a towel to make a pillow, but the towels were not fluffy and so not comfortable either. The breakfast was good and the grounds well taken care of, but we came to sleep and that didn't happen!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELELSITIO, General Manager at Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Linda M,

Thank you for your cooperation in taking the time to complete our comment card following your visit to the Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino.

Please accept my deepest apologies for the inconveniences that you suffered during your stay in our hotel. Unfortunately the “nightclub” is not associated with our hotel. Unfortunately, we have no control over the noise produced by it. We have contacted the club regarding the noise problem into the morning hours, but have been unable to achieve a satisfactory response. We have reported the noise to local authorities but have not been able to get their cooperation in this matter. We are still striving to find a solution to his problem on the weekends.

Regarding the pillows, please note that we are currently in the process of replacing all those pillows not comfortable for the satisfaction of our guests.

We are striving to achieve a high level of service as per Best Western standards, and again I apologize for your inconvenience. Thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Mr. Herold Ovares
General Manager
BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Liberia, Guanacaste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was on a medical trip to Liberia and booked the hotel for 2 nights. Basically, the hotel is very well situated near downtown Liberia. Just near by, you will find a shopping plaza, burger king, pizza hunt, Mcdonalds etc....I guess you get the picture..This not a new hotel, a little dated but it is very clean with nice big rooms, big pool, large training room with aerobic machines, free weights etc. The grounds are beautiful with all the mature growth. The staff are very friendly and the free breakfast is very good....Hey, this is not a 4 star hotel but very adequate for the cost. Off season rate was $60.00 USD...Overall a nice refuge upon arrival for beginners of the Costa Rican life...Once you have a car and feel more comfortable strike out towards the beaches and settle in. Lots of deals over there also, especially in the off season.

Room Tip: Book a room in the back facing the pool on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great location..this hotel is at the center of Liberia and 14 km from the international airport...room was very clean..breakfast is included in the price...very close to shops and restaurants...
Un lindo lugar para pasar en familia o para una escapadita...PURA VIDA...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino

Address: 175 Mts - West Of Main Entrance, Liberia 5000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino offers 52 standard rooms, complete with 2 queen-size beds, air conditioning, cable tv, coffe maker, hot water showers, hair dryer, safe box and closet. Our hotel site is beautifully landscaped with jungle flora surrounding two shimmering pools... One for adults, one for children. We also have tennis courts, a gymnasium and play areas for kids. In addition, we have facilities for meetings and events with capacity for 300 guests.Located in Liberia, capital city of the Guanacaste region, Best Western El Sitio stands adjacent to the Panamerican Highway, just 30 minutes from the beautiful tropical beaches of the Pacific. Visitors have easy access to a myriad of activities including surfing, sailing, fishing and SCUBA... And close proximity (25 minutes by car) to Costa Rica s national parks with waterfalls, bike trails, capony tours and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Sitio Hotel Liberia
Best Western El Sitio Hotel And Casino
Best Western Liberia
Liberia Best Western
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/Liberia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.