We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the redeeming quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Mts - West Of Main Entrance, Liberia 5000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Liberia
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Location is the redeeming quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Background: I've been traveling to CR at least once/year since 1992 and have Tico friends in Liberia, so I've spent many days/nights in this lovely little city that has personality and charm.
After my "regular" Liberia motel closed unexpectedly, I booked two nights here in July, 2011 so I could be right in the center of the action for the end-of-July holiday celebrating Guanacaste's annexation ("Anexion") from Nicaragua by Costa Rica in the early 1800's. This two day event is capped by a horse/rider procession of over 1000 riders from all over CR but also features traditional music and dancing. And a State Fair rivaling the best ones in the US. If you can be in Liberia around July 25, plan to attend this celebration to get a sense of the Guanacaste traditions. A great time to be in Liberia!
So, El Sitio...A bit reminiscent of any number of nameless anywhere US hotel chains. Room was nothing to write home about but there were none of the glaring issues I've read from other reviewers. Either they're sprucing up (esp for the Anexion) or I just got lucky. The pool is unquestionably the best feature; it's huge and clean with both sunny and shady spots. I chilled for hours after shooting the Anexion. It's walking distance from "downtown" Liberia and I got a good price for three nights, so it met my needs.

Didn't eat there but highly recommend Paso Real on the corner by the Church and Central Plaza and also Pronto Pizzeria about 3 blocks behind the Church for clay oven-style pizza. My favorite pizza anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviana M, Gerente at Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments about us, we hope to see you again in Liberia, Guanacaste and stay in our hotel.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    32
    25
    30
See reviews for
27
43
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I should have written this review a long time ago, but an article on Slate.com about fake reviews led me to believe that perhaps there were fake reviews here. We booked the El Sitio Hotel for the last night of our vacation in Costa Rica, because we needed a place close to the Liberia airport. First of all, our room was not ready when we arrived in the late afternoon (around 3 or 4 PM), which, I get, sometimes rooms aren't ready. They said they were replacing a curtain and that the room wasn't clean. We hung out in our friends' room for about an hour and on our way to the lobby to see what the status was, we noticed that housecleaners were still working on our room. The people at the front desk were not courteous nor apologetic for the delay.

Finally, we get our room. It had an incredibly uncomfortable bed, unusable lumpy pillows, extremely worn out bedding, and the A/C was barely emitting cold air.

If you are staying on the coast, do not bother staying at this hotel in Liberia for your outgoing flight. Just get up and leave early from your hotel. It is not the worth making your last night a horrid one.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviana M, Gerente at Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

I don't recommend this hotel at all. I have stayed here several times because of work, but not anymore, I have had a lot of bad experiences at this place. Just to name some: dirty rooms, tv doesn't work, air conditioning not working,lack of hot water, even once lack of electricity. Very old rooms, that lack renovation. Worst of all: people at the reception, Jocelyn; Viviana general manager. Arriving at 9 am at the hotel with a baby 6 months old after a 3 hour ride in car; they were unable to fix a room, although they had empty rooms, although I offer to pay more for the early check in,etc. Not only were they unkind, but disrespectful. I do not know how someone with so little skills in customer service got to be general manager of a hotel. It's a disgrace for Best Western to have a hotel like this.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I arrived at night with no reservation beforehand, and find a room, clean but really think the hotel needs a refreshing process, great location, right across the main highway and just 2 minutes away from downtown Liberia. What I could say it was reaaly bad was the reception at night, the rest is average but breakfast was really good. The parking is next to the street and the cars have to be parked in the grass if the hotel is full.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviana M, Gerente at Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your opinion, We are working to do improvements in the hotel to be able to offer a better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Good hotel, but the service at the reception is bad.Good pools, good food, but the wifi doesn't worked at the rooms. Parking space is minimun. Room service very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

If this place was locally owned I would cut it some slack. It's owned by the Best Western and it looks like it is owned by the woman in Great Expectations. This place hasn't been updates since 1990's. It's run down and semi-comfortable. For what you get, you're better off supporting a locally owned hotel and not a huge chain that refuses to invest in its' property.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hotel was our first stop for the night when we arrived in Liberia, Costa Rica. We arrived at dinner time on a Wednesday night. The hotel is located about a 10 minute drive from the airport and about 5 minutes from the majority of car rental agencies. Check is was easy and the young woman working at reception was very kind. The rooms are located on two floors in two side by side complexes; one facing a street side and one on the inner side. I would definitely book the inside room. There is not much out side as this is located in a mostly business/industrial area. But somewhere near there is a restaurant/bar which plays very loud music until about 3am.

The room it was self was dates and very musty smelling but it was clean. The beds were very hard but the sheets were clean and crisp. It had the usual, radio & TV. During the night everything echoes; people talking outside, opening and closing doors, etc.
Parking is free and is available right out front which is nice. An internet computer is available is available near the front desk for guests.

Breakfast is included and consisted of a breakfast bar with fresh fruit, rice and beans, scrambled eggs and toast and juice or coffee/tea. It was decent.

There is large court yard in the centre with a pool and a small play area for kids. We did not use the pool as it was covered with filth.

All said and done, for the price you pay, we could certainly do better in the area. But for an overnight stop, it is tolerable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the court yard, not the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino

Address: 175 Mts - West Of Main Entrance, Liberia 5000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino offers 52 standard rooms, complete with 2 queen-size beds, air conditioning, cable tv, coffe maker, hot water showers, hair dryer, safe box and closet. Our hotel site is beautifully landscaped with jungle flora surrounding two shimmering pools... One for adults, one for children. We also have tennis courts, a gymnasium and play areas for kids. In addition, we have facilities for meetings and events with capacity for 300 guests.Located in Liberia, capital city of the Guanacaste region, Best Western El Sitio stands adjacent to the Panamerican Highway, just 30 minutes from the beautiful tropical beaches of the Pacific. Visitors have easy access to a myriad of activities including surfing, sailing, fishing and SCUBA... And close proximity (25 minutes by car) to Costa Rica s national parks with waterfalls, bike trails, capony tours and more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Sitio Hotel And Casino
Best Western El Sitio Hotel Liberia
Best Western Liberia
Liberia Best Western
Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/Liberia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western El Sitio Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.