We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada de la Calle Real

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada de la Calle Real
Save
You added Posada de la Calle Real to your Saves list
200 mtrs sur de la Gobernacion | 200 mtrs sur parque, Liberia, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Liberia B&B and Inns
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Perfect for our family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had a good one night/two day visit to Posada de la Calle Real/Casa de Papel. For $100 they put up my family of five in our own room with good A/C and fans to keep cool. Pool and garden/courtyard area were nice relief from the heat and good place to chill before departing Costa Rica after 2 weeks. The place is a good value and in a nice location. Door security was somewhat lacking, but if you trust the proprietor (we did/do) than it's all good. The "issue" is that you could get into our room from another room adjoining to our bathroom (which, thankfully, we did not have to share) and the lock to our room from the hallway could be easily opened with your fingernail as lock pick. The way I look at is that the proprietor always has access to your room anyway, so what's the difference. Hotel access from the street seems secure and the overall vibe of the place is tranquillo. It was absolutely perfect for our family and the owner, Adrian, was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

very secure, quiet, great service, beautiful space, enclosed pool and gardens, huge loggia, birds singing. almost a destination in itself, the moreso if you have bisne in Liberia.

Room Tip: number 7 is cheapest, overlooks garden, but sheer curtains and public banos with room a little odd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altdorf, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Fantastic colonial-style building with a huge room and huge bed. Huge bathroom - although shared for 2 rooms (we had it for ourselves). The garden, colonially decorated veranda and a pool - it is much more than you can expect for this price. Breakfast done according to our requests, generally service very OK.

Room Tip: Get the shared bathroom one if there is noone else in the other room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Refurnished colonial house where my family and I have stay several times. Very neat and less than an hour away from all the great beaches in Guanacaste. Just in the heart of Liberia with good restaurants blocks away so you walk.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This place is full of memories very cozy so you really fell like home. The location is excellent and the service is more than "pura vida". The chesse and tortillas for breakfast is something you will remember for sure!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Located in the Capital of Guanacaste, is a small B&B, with swimming pool, ac, garage, excellent atmosphere, and best local experience.
You can contact owner Adrian, aclachar@me.com tel 2666-0626.
Rooms have different rates, from $20- $75 depending on the room

Room Tip: Best rooms are #3 and #4, rates for individual occupancy $55, including continental breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada de la Calle Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de la Calle Real

Address: 200 mtrs sur de la Gobernacion | 200 mtrs sur parque, Liberia, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint little bed and breakfast with permanent art exhibition easily recognisable though its papered walls... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada De La Calle Real Costa Rica/Liberia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada de la Calle Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.