We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little oasis in Liberia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Papel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Papel
Save Saved
You added Casa de Papel to your Saves list
Calle Real, Liberia, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“little oasis in Liberia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Liberia is a safe, very clean little city and Casa De Papel is situated very close to restaurants and the central square, so it's nice to stroll about and look at the shops.
The hotel is small with a beautiful covered seating area/eating area in the courtyard. Very pretty and well kept garden and pool. Very clean.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. You can do a shop at the super down the street and store your beer/snacks/what have you in the fridge.
Reasonably priced and a hearty breakfast with fresh fruit, eggs, toast etc. is included. Super glad we took a chance on this hotel as were the other guests we met there. Will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My favorite part about this hotel is the outside - the entire building is covered in old Costa Rican newspaper articles. It's really beautiful and fun to look at! As for the hotel, the prices are good and the service is great. The staff is friendly and able to speak English if needed. The rooms are a little small, but I felt that it was very fair for the price.
Our room didn't have air conditioning or even a fan, so this was my biggest complaint because it was HOT. Luckily, I was able to borrow a fan from Instituto Estelar Bilingue, an English / Spanish school that is directly across the street.
Inside the hotel, there is a small pool that is really pretty and surrounded by greenery and hammocks - a very relaxing place to be.
Overall, I enjoyed my experience with this hotel and I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Nice historic home with easy to find location,but disappointing in most other ways. Room was stuffy even with the A/C. Futon mattress on a platform. Pool was a bit cloudy and uninviting, but the setting was beautiful with lots of greenery and a large covered living space nearby. Breakfast was flavorless, dry scrambled eggs with dry toast, no butter or jam offered. Coffee was good, no juice or water offered.
Keep in mind this city has very few street signs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I needed a budget place where to spend the night in Liberia before our departure to Europe. This place is a piece of art, beautifully decorated in a retro style. I loved the patio where guests could relax by the pool. The location is ideal: just a short walk the centre, and bus stop to the airport, although one of the staff offered us a lift in his car to the bus stop. Giovanni, the young receptionist, has been extremely nice and helpful.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

While I didn't actually end up staying overnight in Casa de Papel, I feel the need to express my gratitude to Geovany, who was on night duty and assisted me far above the call of duty. I arrived from the airport to Casa de Papel around 10pm to find it was fully booked (there was an issue with my reservation which was really nobody's fault, just sheer dumb luck). The house, by the way, looked wonderful. Although I was stranded, Geovany did everything in his power to help me find a new place, calling up other hotels and trying to negotiate discounts for me - he even personally accompanied me to a couple down the street to make sure I was safe, and offered to set me up with a bed in the office if I couldn't get settled elsewhere. In the end he found me a comparable hotel and I'm very grateful for his assistance, I will certainly stay here on my next visit to Liberia!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARATOGA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I loved the authenticity of this very original home of an era ago. Much of the architecture and interior design including furnishings and decor have been kept intact, so it was quite an experience to be in it. The very large bathrooms (we stayed in two different rooms during our stay), however, have had minor repairs (exposed pipes and tile work) that were done rather poorly - which was such a shame. The property has private enclosed parking behind the house and that was a plus for us. It's also in the center of the old (architecture) town with restaurants within short walking distance.

The inn keeper, Vladimir (Jose), was kind and responsive. When we told him our needing to leave by 5:30AM, he was quick to offer making us breakfast by 5.

Room Tip: The front street can get noisy in the morning due to car traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Was just passing on the way to a museum and stumbled across this amazing building. Definitely on the list to stay here next time. Great atmosphere with a lovely pool. Was told that if you have lunch there, you can stay and use the facilities. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Papel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Papel

Address: Calle Real, Liberia, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Also Known As:
Casa De Papel Costa Rica/Liberia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Papel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.