We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy, small B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Papel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Papel
Save Saved
You added Casa de Papel to your Saves list
Calle Real, Liberia, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A cozy, small B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

At the last minute, my son, his girlfriend and I decided to go to Liberia for the local Festival. There was only one chance... LA CASA DE PAPEL a small B&B in the Calle Real, a cultural and historic site 2 blocks away from the Central Park in Liberia, Guanacaste.

Since we called, Sirleny, the recptionist was very kind, she patiently explained to me that the only 2 rooms left were very simple, no AC, no TV and only one would have a private bathroom. despite the doubt, we took it!

This is something we will never regret because the place is very comfortable and even with no AC the roofs are so high that just a fan is enough to help distress from the heat. The living room is well furnished, the terrace is magnificent and the swimming pool is the cherry on top!

The next morning, a delightful breakfast was served: coffee or tea, bread, eggs and fruit, more than enough for the $30 we paid! we decided to name CASA DE PAPEL our home in Liberia. From now on, we will stay with Sirleny and Giovanni every time we visit Liberia. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

This is basically an old house, situated on a side street of Liberia. It is a nice place if you want to get a "town history and feeling" rooms are equipped with A/C, fans, TV , cable, Wifi.

I paid $70 for a big room that shares a bathroom with another room, this was not entioned to me prior to getting the baggage down from my car.

The air conditioner is a small 12k BTU unit for a 24m2 room with a really high roof. It took forever to cool down. TV was around 15 years old and small.

The lobby is nice, but considering the arid and hot Liberiia climate, you need a fan next to you.

The pool and jacuzzi are very convinient, nice garden area all around.

This is I guess, something very typical we have seen in Costa Rica, they charge a lot for something that did not take much investment.

The place has potential for a really nice boutique-antique pensione.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent a day in Liberia in May and stayed at the Casa de Papal. It was a great place to stay. Our room was comfortable and had everything that we needed. The staff's command of English was marginally better than our Spanish but we managed. The pool was lovely and the outdoor courtyard was exactly what we needed after a day of wandering through Liberia.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Its a great little place to stay, our room #3 was great, had A/C, TV, hot water fan and hot water. The place has free FAST WiFi, nice pool with Jacuzzi, really nice lounge area where to read, check mails etc, very save parking, and breakfast was good too! I do agree with other posts here, maybe a little overpriced but, as we did, maybe after asking for a better deal you could be surpriced. Here is their contact info I hope in helps others as I couldnt find it: (506)2666-0626 E-mail posadadelacallereal@gmail.com

Additional notes:

If you are planning to visit Rincon de la Vieja and/or Santa Rosa this is a great option, not many places to stay neared to both parks, and the few there are very pricey. Casa de papel (AKA Posada de la calle real) is just 200m from the central park in Liberia, 600m from interamerican route. We made it in 1hr to Rincon and 40 min to Santa Rosa in a small automobile.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. Huge, clean room, but overpriced for a shared bathroom (with one other room). Great location and breakfast. Staff not overly friendly, but satisfactory.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

please read post there...tiny budget room with new bunk beds #7 my last stay, no like. all the same otherwise--lovely helpful native staff, solo espanol. wonderful place, self contained, secure, very good desayuna gratis. muy tranquilo, close to local attractions. will def stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Casa de Papel and Posada de la Calle Real are one and the same and a great choice for staying in Liberia. Rooms are different prices and although we stayed in one of the more expensive rooms it was well worth the extra price which was still very comparable to other options in town. The room was spacious and airy with fan (and a/c if you need it), huge bathroom, TV, nice linens and the most comfortable (king) bed in CR. The posada was a mix of contemporary art and furnishings and colonial architecture - all very tastefully presented. The outdoor patio and pool were a welcome respite from the streets of Liberia and certainly more appealing than the noise of the main highway that you get from other similarly priced options. The price also includes a very nice breakfast. Unfortunately Liberia is only a stop over for most travellers - I could have stayed for my entire vacation!

Room Tip: Room #4 has a king bed and huge bath/changing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Papel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Papel

Address: Calle Real, Liberia, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Liberia
Also Known As:
Casa De Papel Costa Rica/Liberia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Papel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.