We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reminded me of an old french quarter hotel, lot's of potential but gone cheap on some things.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Papel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Liberia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Papel
Calle Real, Liberia, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Liberia
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Reminded me of an old french quarter hotel, lot's of potential but gone cheap on some things.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

This is basically an old house, situated on a side street of Liberia. It is a nice place if you want to get a "town history and feeling" rooms are equipped with A/C, fans, TV , cable, Wifi.

I paid $70 for a big room that shares a bathroom with another room, this was not entioned to me prior to getting the baggage down from my car.

The air conditioner is a small 12k BTU unit for a 24m2 room with a really high roof. It took forever to cool down. TV was around 15 years old and small.

The lobby is nice, but considering the arid and hot Liberiia climate, you need a fan next to you.

The pool and jacuzzi are very convinient, nice garden area all around.

This is I guess, something very typical we have seen in Costa Rica, they charge a lot for something that did not take much investment.

The place has potential for a really nice boutique-antique pensione.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent a day in Liberia in May and stayed at the Casa de Papal. It was a great place to stay. Our room was comfortable and had everything that we needed. The staff's command of English was marginally better than our Spanish but we managed. The pool was lovely and the outdoor courtyard was exactly what we needed after a day of wandering through Liberia.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Its a great little place to stay, our room #3 was great, had A/C, TV, hot water fan and hot water. The place has free FAST WiFi, nice pool with Jacuzzi, really nice lounge area where to read, check mails etc, very save parking, and breakfast was good too! I do agree with other posts here, maybe a little overpriced but, as we did, maybe after asking for a better deal you could be surpriced. Here is their contact info I hope in helps others as I couldnt find it: (506)2666-0626 E-mail posadadelacallereal@gmail.com

Additional notes:

If you are planning to visit Rincon de la Vieja and/or Santa Rosa this is a great option, not many places to stay neared to both parks, and the few there are very pricey. Casa de papel (AKA Posada de la calle real) is just 200m from the central park in Liberia, 600m from interamerican route. We made it in 1hr to Rincon and 40 min to Santa Rosa in a small automobile.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. Huge, clean room, but overpriced for a shared bathroom (with one other room). Great location and breakfast. Staff not overly friendly, but satisfactory.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

please read post there...tiny budget room with new bunk beds #7 my last stay, no like. all the same otherwise--lovely helpful native staff, solo espanol. wonderful place, self contained, secure, very good desayuna gratis. muy tranquilo, close to local attractions. will def stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Casa de Papel and Posada de la Calle Real are one and the same and a great choice for staying in Liberia. Rooms are different prices and although we stayed in one of the more expensive rooms it was well worth the extra price which was still very comparable to other options in town. The room was spacious and airy with fan (and a/c if you need it), huge bathroom, TV, nice linens and the most comfortable (king) bed in CR. The posada was a mix of contemporary art and furnishings and colonial architecture - all very tastefully presented. The outdoor patio and pool were a welcome respite from the streets of Liberia and certainly more appealing than the noise of the main highway that you get from other similarly priced options. The price also includes a very nice breakfast. Unfortunately Liberia is only a stop over for most travellers - I could have stayed for my entire vacation!

Room Tip: Room #4 has a king bed and huge bath/changing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012 via mobile

The posada is exceptional. Pool, patio, long chairs...etc.
Our (cheap) room was basic but we saw the main room and they were exceptional.
Colonial style great experience

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa de Papel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Papel

Address: Calle Real, Liberia, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Liberia
Also Known As:
Casa De Papel Costa Rica/Liberia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Papel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa de Papel to your Saves list