We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, english speaking and WIFI!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Liberia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Liberia to your Saves list
Hotel Liberia
Calle Real | 75 mts sur del parque central, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Liberia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Safe, english speaking and WIFI!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

What more could you want from a budget room? We stayed for one night on our way through to Granada. For $35 a night you can't go wrong - the only catch is a cold shower. It was so hot during the day we didn't mind at all. However im sure if you pay a bit more you can have hot water..We had lunch in the cafe which was fresh & well presented - I recommend the Sangria!
If you need help the staff are always happy to answer your questions and its really close to central park for people watching and good street food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingHL L, Owner at Hotel Liberia, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and writing this review, we are glad you like our hotel!
Hot water is never an issue in Liberia, as this city has a warm -to- hot weather all year around, but we will take your comment to see if is necessary to eventually install hot water showers.

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    60
    24
    9
    9
See reviews for
5
52
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

i stayed at the hotel for 2 nights before leaving the country. for the price (26 for a private room) it was great. clean, good beds, wifi in rooms. the staff are very helpful and friendly and the food is great and cheap. the hotel is close to everything in the city you would want to see and a block from the central plaza/park. definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: eat at the hotel restaurant at least once. the food is good, cheap, and the seating area is great ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Although we stayed at another hotel in town, we had lunch at Hotel Liberia one afternoon. The casados were very tasty and we had the best sangria ever... noche tropical. My traveling companion rarely drinks alcoholic beverages but he really enjoyed one of these refreshing cocktails. The service and atmosphere were great as well!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingHL L, Owner at Hotel Liberia, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear friend,
Thanks a lot for your nice comments, everybody is always welcome to visit us due our café-lounge is open for visitor as well! We hope next time you have the chance to stay with us in one of our rooms, so can have the whole Hotel Liberia experience.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed there one night. The rooms are very clean, only the bathroom was a bit small.
They offer breakfast, but its not included. The portions of food are a bit small.
The value is ok. There's also a very good hairdresser next door. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Perfect for all kind of visitors. It is a beautifull peacefull place with accomodation for all kind of bugets. The food is great and for a good price. Service is more then you can ask for and the Hotel is right by the centre of Liberia.
I am very happy I found this great hotel for my many days in Liberia.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Hotel Liberia was a both relaxing and economic stay; the room was small but private and comfortable. The dining area/lounge was beautiful and the food was really fantastic. I will definitely stay here again the next time I fly into Liberia airport.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel Liberia is a low budget gem offering an oasis of tranquility in Liberia thanks to its delightfully relaxing courtyard. We stayed for three days and ate and drank in the beautiful courtyard as it was so peaceful and incredibly inexpensive. The staff are all very helpful and attentive. I would recommend the day trip to Rincon de la Vieja national park for a mere $20! If you are on a budget and want good service and a relaxing stay then Hotel Liberia is your best bet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Liberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberia

Address: Calle Real | 75 mts sur del parque central, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Liberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the oldest 'bed & breakfast " accommodation in Liberia city, capital Guanacaste province. Located on the main street (Calle Real), 75 meters South of Central Park and the main Catholic church, rowed in a line of old houses, hotels, restaurants and cultural elements characteristic of the history of this legendary beautiful city. The hotel has an old house with thick walls and high bahareque (centuries-old technique of building with mud and grass) and decorated mosaic floors, where there are 6 rooms of the Casona and the main dining room.The hotel offers close proximity to the bus station, taxis, supermarkets, banks and shops, and it is located in the heart of the city being the oldest street in Liberia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Liberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Liberia Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Liberia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.