We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it! But not for everyone.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ecoplaya Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ecoplaya Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ecoplaya Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bahia Salinas | Plaza Colonial Escazú, La Cruz 837-126, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Cruz
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We loved it! But not for everyone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Spent 1 week here in February and absolutely loved it.

The Pros:
- Remote
- Quiet
- Great beaches
- Spacious room with full kitchen
- Great base for exploring the area

We visited half a dozen beautiful beaches within 30 min drive, all were beautiful and empty of people. Food at the resort is limited in selection, but very good. Staff was helpful and friendly. We took the day trip to Nicaragua organized by Humberto which was lots of fun. We had a 4x4 rental car which was a big plus. The dirt road in would be ok for cars, but much more freedom to explore the area with 4x4. This place was perfect for us

The Cons:
- Remote
- Wind
- Isn't new

If you need lots of people around to enjoy your vacation, don't come here. There are limited options for food nearby, ie you'll be driving 10-15 min to try other restaurants. The resort shows it's age a little, but was clean.

All in all, this was a great fit for us because we wanted to be out of the crowds, get our monies worth for the 4x4 rental, and see lots of Guanacaste. If that describes you, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    22
    18
    33
See reviews for
32
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

First I want people to realize that Ecoplaya is not a 5 star resort but I enjoyed it more than any vacation I've ever had! The landscape is beautiful and extremely well maintained. We received excellent service, the employees were all very friendly, prompt and treated us in a first class manner. Our rooms were clean and room service did a wonderful job. We had a few little bugs in our room occasionally but who cares! They weren't a big deal, and I don't like bugs! As far as the facility goes, yes, a person can tell that it's old and does need some sprucing up. It has beautiful woodwork, comfortable beds, the shower spray had something to be desired... but the water was hot! We cooked on occasion in our room with adequate pans and dishes. We had to buy food in Liberia on our way back from Monteverde, we went on the zip line.... yes, worth the 3 hour trip! The beaches were beautiful, clean and so fun to swim in. The restaurant at the resort was good. There was a nice menu to choose from, the service was a bit slow, but the people were so friendly it didn't matter. There was even a raccoon "Bandito" that would come and visit for dinner and try to beg for food. He'd scurry off, but it was so fun and different. After we would go to the beach we would come back and spend the rest of the day at the pool. They would clean it everyday and it was kept very nice. Once again, I want to say that the facility is old, but well taken care of. They really work hard to make it nice.The whole experience was relaxing and enjoyable. I loved how a person didn't have to put on "airs" to be there like on a cruise, it felt like we were part of the community. I don't know who that guy was that wrote the August 11th review but it was nothing like he wrote, and I was worried after reading his posting. Don't worry, it's a wonderful place. Be sure to rent a vehicle that has a higher wheel base than a car as there are lots of dirt roads.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This was the worst place we ever stayed - thankfully for only one night, The hotel is located in a very remote location, close to the border to Nicaragua with virtually NOTHING around. The hotel had virtually no guests - the rooms were fairly clean, but without well functioning shower, coffee-maker or fridge. The surroundings looked beautiful, but the hotel areal is poorly maintained. The pool was closed for use, containing a green mushy fluid with plenty of leaves and flowers hovering on the surface. The whirlpools were empty. The pool bar was dismantled (all the installations including fridge, sinks and faucets were missing). There is a beach next to the hotel, but we were told that the beach is not suitable for swimming. We should use another beach, 4 km away, round-trip about 18 -20 USD by taxi (Note: we booked this as a BEACH Vacation). The restaurant was decorated with a dried up flower arrangement. Dinner was edible, and the choice was chicken or beef, both with identical sides. Airline food offers a better selection. Dessert consisted of chocolate cake or ice-cream, but they were out of (!)ice-cream. Since we were traveling as a group with 4 families, all with kids, we wanted to spend the evening somewhere together. This was not possible, since the pool chairs were used to hold the yellow-tape that closed off the pool. There was a hall without outside seating options. Inside were two worn out sofas, together with about 20 IKEA-style plastic folding chairs lined up along the wall. Billard-table and table-tennis were covered with plastic foil and labeled " Do Not use". The story continued the next morning when we ordered breakfast. There was a menu with three options (rice and beans, fruit and pancakes and a 3rd option I forgot). We ordered our choices, and a few minutes later the manager appeared, telling is that the menu was not options, but one for each of the next days (today rice and beans, tomorrow fruit and pancake) - we are talking about a 4 star hotel!!!!!
By this time, we had called our travel agency with a description of the place, and the agency arranged a pick-up for the late morning. I have never seen kids packing their suitcases that fast. We were all quite relieved to leave this place!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

The staff at Eco Playa are very friendly and helpful. The resort is on a beautiful beach, and other spectacular beaches are very close by. Our guide to Nicaragua, Humberto, was an absolute joy. His friendly demeanor is infectious. A great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery and warm, friendly people. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Rooms are infested with all sorts of wildlife(ants,spiders,lizards,birds)
Cows walk around the grounds defecating ... and it stays on the ground!
Bedding smels of old sweat, linens inadequate full of rips
Patio doors warpped and closind only with the use of force.
Don't think you'll go fishing ... no way of getting to the advertised Bolenos Island, no resort sponsored activities/ no rental equipment
Location is beautiful but very remote and very windy . You HAVE to rent a car which is rather expensive ... with all needed insurances we paid $1600 for 2 wks at Budget Rent a Car. If you want to see anything worth seeing in Costa Rica you should rent a 4X4
If you have any health condition that can act up (allergies, cardiac issues,etc) be prepared to deal with it yourself for at least 1/2 hour it took us to drive the 13.5 km on dirt road from La Cruz to Ecoplaya ... if the ambulance leaves La Cruz right away of cours (keep "manana" in mind) There is nobody who can administer 1st aid in the resort!
Good idea to have your own first aid kit there.
Even if you rent appartment with a kitchenette cooking is difficult ... not much to choose from in La Cruz only market, pots and pans (we had 3) are old with scratched off teflon, coffee you make "turkish "style ... no coffee maker.
The resort's restaurant is not very satisfying ... you can count on 3/4 dishes ... everyday the same dish will be prepared differently, with different ingridients(depending on who is cooking or what mood the person is in) so make sure you check it esp if you have allergies! Also, there isn't anything to choose from in th 20 km vacinity.
Bathtubs can't be plugged ... and showers bearly work ... there is ONE hairdryer for the whole resort ... you can pick it up at the reception
.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed at Ecoplaya through RCI for 6 days on our honeymoon. We enjoyed our stay overall. The views of the bay were amazing and the beach was perfect for long walks (hikes if you walk far enough) and an evening "campfire". Plenty of beautiful flora and fauna (birds, racoons, iguanas and cattle from the nearby farms!). I recommend renting a 4x4 vehicle, not just to navigate the 13 km muddy and rocky road to the resort.....but to be able to get away on your own to go do things.

The rooms were very basic, though clean and adequate. The bed was fairly uncomfortable. The kitchenette in our villa was small and minimally stocked for those looking to cook their own food (my only major complaint given the remote location and access to a variety of restaurants). The hotel and it's amenities could use some fresh paint at the very least. The staff at the one restaurant were excellent and the food was good with large portions. The customer service at the front desk was average. The activities coordinator (Randall) was helpful, given his resources. It was difficult to take the organized excursions off the resort (off-season) d/t a lack of interested guests. Renting your own vehicle is a HUGE benefit here! The "spider monkey canopy tour" between La Cruz and the resort was AWESOME and a great price. We enjoyed the "Palo Verde" tour offered through the resort as well.

I recommend this resort If you are looking to enjoy the nature and beauty this area of Costa Rica has to offer!!!!....truly amazing experience in that department. Great for much needed relaxation! If you are expecting 5 star treatment, luxurious rooms/amenities and LOTS to do close-by....this is NOT the place to be!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagaces, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We have stayed at many places affiliated with RCI and this resort was totally acceptable to us.
Yes, some of the public area facilities are in need of updates, but the rooms we had and that of our friends stayed in, were very very nice. Immaculate in fact.
Staff was friendly and helpful.
It is remote, and those folk looking for a busy vacation, may want to look elsewhere.
As for the beach, it was clean as is not always the case in Costs Rica, and how can anyone except mother nature be held responsible for the wind!
The strong wind is an annul event...and affects all the beaches on this side of the country.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ecoplaya Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecoplaya Beach Resort

Address: Bahia Salinas | Plaza Colonial Escazú, La Cruz 837-126, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > La Cruz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ecoplaya Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Ecoplaya Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ecoplaya Beach Hotel La Cruz
Ecoplaya Beach Resort Costa Rica/La Cruz, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecoplaya Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.