We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Costa Rica!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Perdido

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rio Perdido to your Saves list
Rio Perdido
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   San Bernardo de Bagaces, Bagaces, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bagaces
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay in Costa Rica!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Rio Perdido was wonderful with great staff and very nice facilities. The pools and thermal river were amazing! Don't miss the hotel's adventures including mountain biking, canyon tubing and zip lining, as all these were very exciting and worth the money. (Note: Mountain biking is hard and only recommended for those with good experience). Their food is also wonderful! You can order off the menu for $15-25/plate. There was also a lunch and dinner buffet, which was extraordinary, for $25/person. I only have a few negatives about the hotel. First, it is within 1-2.5 hours of most things but is not close to anything. For that reason, transport is expensive, especially if you plan to leave the hotel each day to see the rest of Costa Rica. Somewhat related to that, I think it would be good if the hotel had a designated person who could help with excursions away from the hotel. The front desk was always willing to call and find out information for us but we generally had to know what we wanted to do and where beforehand. It would be nice to have someone more dedicated to this job. Other than these 2 things, the hotel was wonderfully comfortable and amenities were great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioPerdido, Conceptualizer & Co-founder at Rio Perdido, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Ashley, thanks so much for writing your review.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding our talented and caring staff. Also, we are glad that you appreciated the cuisine. We do our best to always have fresh and local ingredients - and to prepare savoury dishes, of course. Wellbeing starts with food!

Regarding the RP Bike Park…
To date, this is the only activity that truly excludes beginners. But we will be changing this in the very near future with a brand new segment that follows the beautiful edge of the White Canyon. This spectacular ride will appeal to EVERYONE and make the bike park more universal. Also, signage and mapping will improve and we will add some new technology to the activity...

Ashley, we are currently training 2 of our staff members to become experts on the largely unexplored and very beautiful surrounding area. Nevertheless, off-site operations for those without access to a vehicle (rental, etc) are a challenge for us. Firstly, we offer so many activities and things to see/feel within our 640-acre private reserve that it is not common for guests staying less than a week to opt for leaving the site. Also, and more importantly, off-site excursions do not occur in an environment that is “controlled”. It is not easy to get properly insured and we must designate a special (and rugged) vehicle specifically for this purpose. That being said, we do plan on expanding our 20 bungalow hotel in the near future and, with that, we will most likely organise our own operation for activities in the area, which will include many cool options, set at the very skirts of the Miravalles Volcano, at waterfalls, at authentic farms, etc.

You will most definitely have to visit us again!

Warm regards from CR!!

Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    29
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
90
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

It is by far one of the best hot springs ever! The energy you feel while enjoying the water in such a comfortable and natural environment, it's amazing.

The service is great, the concept of natural ingredients in the food, the fact is that most of it is grown and harvested local, so you know you are getting delicious healthy food. Makes you feel renewed.

The hotel is so comfortable, you get everything you need and more... Yet it is so respectful with its surroundings by being hidden in the forest... It just make you feel part of it.

If you like nature, biking, hiking this is the place to go!! Do not forget to explore the lookout for the sunset!!

Love it! I'm going back, for sure!

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a couple ask them to prepare your bed so you don't end up trying to asse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I heard about rio perdido thru one of my work colleagues, he was talking about the amazing place he went and he was not wrong. We went for a weekend arriving Friday and leaving on Sunday. It is about a four hour drive from San Jose, the last 5 miles of the road are bumpy but that is common in the rural areas of CR. The rooms are very pretty, modern style in the middle of the jungle, very comfortable and great for relaxing. The pools are great either one with a wet bar. I would suggest to do the tubing tour on Saturday and the canopy on Sunday so you take advantage of all the Hotel premises, both very exciting with lots of adrenaline.
For us the best part was the natural hot springs on rio perdido, there are plenty of natural pools on the river, easy to access walking (no wheelchair access) and although the Hotel was full you felt you were alone in the river! The guys at reception are very nice but need to improve their knowledge about Hotel and Tour information and prices.
We had an amazing time just hoping to go back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioPerdido, Conceptualizer & Co-founder at Rio Perdido, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hello there!

We are very glad that you enjoyed you stay at Rio Perdido. It is rewarding for us to see how the online community and also "word of mouth" has led to many travellers opting to visit our very new and unique destination.

In the near future, we will add new modern, informative elements to make sure that guests know about all of what there is to see and do in the reserve (most of it at a short walk's distance from the bungalows). This will include more complete maps and even digital apps that will hopefully be compatible with most portable systems and OS.

We have team of highly experienced individuals but, because we are so new, we also have a couple individuals that just started working (reception, etc) and are still in training. So we hope that by your next visit, everyone will be very much in tune to the many spots that you wont want to miss.

Cant wait to have you back.

Regards from the "deep south"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

While not in one of the typical tourist destinations, Rio Perdido can be thought of as its own destination. A reasonable drive <1.5 hours from Liberia airport, if you can survive the last 3-4 miles of bumpy roads you will be rewarded with a modern facility located on a bluff at the junction of 2 rivers. The facility is much more than you expect from a hotel that only has 20 bungalows, leaving you to believe they will be expanding at some point. But for those lucky enough to stay there you have everything you would want to make this a destination. For adventure they have an amazing zip line adventure course; tubing on the river; a bike course we didn't try; many hiking trails, the best being the trail to and around the hot spring river (the best part of the experience). We also had a wonderful couples massage, a volcanic mud bath at the river, drinks at the swim up bar sitting in the hot spring pool, a restaurant with an amazing view... Staff was attentive and made us feel very welcome. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalow #8 which is the last one. Although it was a hike, we skipped the golf cart ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioPerdido, Conceptualizer & Co-founder at Rio Perdido, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi Don!

Thanks for taking the time to write your review.

While all of the activities are top notch (wether it is a massage at The Spa or the thrilling Canyon Adventure) we entirely agree that the most unique and amazing component of the RP experience is the thermal river and its many pools. This is what inspired us to develop the project in the first place and it also inspired us to leave it completely intact, as nature has carved it out. We will do our best to insure that it stays as such for ever!

Regarding the last couple of miles of "bumpy road"; we actually make significant investments to fix it every 3 months or so, but the elements of nature tend to do as they will. And while paving with asphalt is probably cheaper than the continued maintenance of this segment, we feel that this would detract from the arrival experience. After all, Rio Perdido means "lost river"...and that unique country-side that leads to our main gate, with the whitish stone mesas and dwarf trees, would not be the same with a dark asphalt road running through it, right?

Don, next month we will be making a few improvements to the already awesome White Canyon Tubing and we will also finally be able to work on the western segment of our bike park, ideal for our beginner riders...and those simply wanting a smooth ride along the edge of the mentioned White Canyon, a beautiful part of the reserve that very few people have yet to see.

Regards!

Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We went on a family trip, from age 10 to 60, we all had a blast!.
Highly recomended for adventure or relax. Plenty of activities and tours for the sporty ones and great landscape to enjoy.
The host springs are magical, walking and swimming in a hot river was absolutely a great discovery for all of us.
The service was OUTSTANDING, our thanks to ALL the staff and management.
We for sure be back!.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were a big group and all employees at the hotel (all of them!!) made our stay memorable.
Great infrastructure (By hotel & mother nature) and excellent service.
Canopy, mountain bike, hiking, Hot springs, tubing, spa, bar, etc. You name it... all there.
ALL thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This place is a paradise... went there with my girlfriend and bathed in those amazing hot spring natural pools... it was incredible to be surrounded by such natural beauty and feel like we were by ourselves in nature...
Private bungalows are very comfy and clean... surrounded by trees... relaxing front porch with hammock...
I have explored many different places in Costa Rica and Rio Perdido is definitely on top of my fav list... will return...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio Perdido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Perdido

Address: San Bernardo de Bagaces, Bagaces, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Bagaces
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bagaces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Perdido 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Rio Perdido is in Guanacaste, 60 minutes southeast of Liberia's international airport, near the base of the Miravalles Volcano. Regional attractions include Rincon de la Vieja Volcano and Palo Verde National Park, among others. HOTEL AND PRIVATE RESERVE FEATURES The centerpiece of the 600-acre private reserve is a unique THERMAL RIVER that runs for over a mile along the base of a rocky gorge. Visitors access the hot river by descending stone stairwells and trails. There are a couple of dozen untouched river pools to swim in. The architecturally awarded restaurant has sweeping terraces that afford views of the canyons, volcanoes and the Miravalles dwarf forest. There is a full-service spa, a bar/lounge, and 3 hot mineral pools with floating sun decks and wet bar. There are 15 miles of hiking and biking trails. Breakfast, wireless internet and guest parking are complimentary. The staff can provide 24 hours concierge services, tour/ticket assistance and wedding services. ROOM AMENITIES The 20 air-conditioned bungalows at Rio Perdido have direct access to the hot river gorge. They include an elevated terrace with hammock and are equipped with minibars, safety box, Iphone/Ipod player /alarm clock, coffee/tea makers and complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access. LCD televisions are equipped with HD cable channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Rio Perdido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Perdido Costa Rica/Bagaces

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Perdido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.