We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the happy hour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Amor

Sushi Amor
Principal Street, Bagaces, Costa Rica
301-977-1011
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Bagaces
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: This is a new restaurant on the premises of the Hotel Nayara
Restaurant details
Description: This is a new restaurant on the premises of the Hotel Nayara
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Nice for the happy hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Staying at the Najara, we went to Sushi Amor for the happy hour (two drinks at the price of one).
It was very good, both the drinks and the sushi, we tried the Amor which is a hearth-shaped tuna sushi.

It was a good romantic evening, getting ready for the dine at the great Altamira restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hope you like California rolls.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I love sushi. There's not a lot of sushi options where I live, so I always like to try different sushi places when I travel. I was so disappointed here. The menu is very limited, but made even more so by the fact that most dishes are variations of California rolls. The California rolls were good, for California rolls, but I would go to kappa sushi in town rather than sushi Amor. Also, the service, unlike the rest of nayara, was slow and you felt like you were bothering the staff.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good choice for a romantic night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This restaurant is part of the Nayara hotel. It's a nice option if you don't want to dine at Altamira (the other restaurant hotel). The sushi is nice (try the Nayara roll) and the Peruvian rice was good. The restaurant opened in February 2012, but seems to running well. There are couches on the balcony where you can eat and look at the volcano. Try the Peruvian rice, empanadas, and the Bavarian beer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“New restaurant. Great Location, Service and Atmosphere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Sushi Amor is a part of the Hotel Nayara, a La Fortuna upscale hotel. I believe it opened around mid-February 2012. We had dinner, there, the night following our visit to Kappa, so it was interesting to compare experiences.

First, the Edamame was a disaster; so overcooked it both looked and tasted terrible. Our waiter, (who had had previous experience in another sushi restaurant), agreed with our assessment and our advice that edamame should be served hot but still with bright green, snappy pods, not blanched and soggy. He returned to the kitchen to re-order. When he arrived back with the second attempt, he looked at us and said, "This looks no different to me!". He was right, so we gave up on the edamame.

Happily, the sushi that followed, while limited in choice, was very good, as were the ambience, view of the volcano and service. Worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Amor also viewed

Bagaces, Province of Guanacaste
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
Bagaces, Province of Guanacaste
Bagaces, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Sushi Amor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Amor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.