We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Hanging Bridges

Arenal Hanging Bridges
Arenal Volcano National Park 4784-1000, Costa Rica
506 2290-0469
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$99*
and up
Waterfall Canopy Zipline Tour at Adventure Park...
Type: Bridges, Trails, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the rainforest through an amazing hike and the incredible hanging bridges close to the arenal volcano, offering bird watching and natural history tours.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We did this hike without a guide around 11. We only saw a few other people the entire time we were there. I think most of the large tour groups go in the morning, so we were happy to miss them. We did see a few monkeys, birds, and insects on our own. I'm sure we would have seen a lot more with a guide. The bridges themselves are fantastic. We had a blast just walking across them and taking in the scenery. If you enjoy a moderate hike and great views, then this is the perfect activity for you. We had great views of the volcano when we were there. The restaurant there was pretty good if you are hungry after your hike. We went kayaking with Dasafio in the morning on Lake Arenal, which I would also recommend. We had them drop us off here after our tour instead of back at our hotel, which saved us a taxi ride and a lot of time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    252
    75
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a fun experience for the whole family. Most of the time, we were alone on the trails, so it wasn't overcrowded with a lot of people. We did not use a guide, and did fine without one. We saw Howler Monkeys and Spider Monkeys, and a poison dart frog, and birds. Wear sturdy shoes, no sandals, as the path has pavers on it and can be uneven at times, and if it rains, can be a little bit muddy. The bridges are awesome, and on the very first bridge, there was a howler monkey sitting right on the bridge handrails. I don't remember how much we paid to enter, but it was definitely worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful, unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I think we paid $48 for two adults (kids twelve and under were free). To save some money (and because we didn't plan this in advance), we did this hike without a guide since we had guided rainforest hikes elsewhere on this trip. We still wound up seeing a family of howler monkeys, peccaries, and many birds and butterflies (including the blue morpho) but I have no doubt we would have seen more with a guide. That's OK, saving a little money is important too -- BUT just make sure you have one or two guided tours elsewhere so you can see the frogs, lizards, slots etc. Walking across the hanging bridges was amazing -- seeing the rainforest (and Arenal) with a new perspective was well worth it.

The hike itself has lots of concrete 'grids' that help hold the soil in place and keep the plants from taking over. This makes for awkward hiking if you don't have on sturdy shoes, so make sure to leave the flip-flops at home. We ate a nice lunch onsite at the end of the trial and got to see Arenal without cloud cover. :-)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

we did the bridges in the morning and it was a really cool experience. during the wak we saw monkies, birds, a poison dart frog and a tarantula. there is a trail that leads down to the waterfall and i would recommend doing this. it isn't that far and puts you right at the base of the falls. the concrete pavers they have on the trails can be a little difficult to walk on. you definitely need to wear sturdy shoes.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a way to experience the rain forest and the hanging bridges tour was perfect. We had the opportunity to spend a few hours in the rain forest and see it from the ground and from literally above the trees. It was a great way to experience the beauty of the rainforest and see some animal species in their natural habit. We were really impressed with the knowledge of our guide, Carlos, and his ability to spot and animal in the thickness of the jungle. Truly a great experience for couples, kids, and families and we recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arenal Hanging Bridges also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Arenal Hanging Bridges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Hanging Bridges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.