We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lost Iguana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1.5 km North of Arenal dam, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Green season Specials
new york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week at LIL and loved it. The ever changing views of Arenal, the birds and wildlife, the wonderful staff - all made for a great stay. We walked everywhere and it is a good place for those in good physical condition. We both are pushing 60. We walked the trails, the road to Arenal Lake, up to Hanging Bridges(which is superb) and all around the grounds. We saw coatis, peccaries, tayras in the trees and howler monkeys in addition to some fabulous birds. Our main activity was going to Eco Termales hotsprings which we love. We went four times during the week and it was terrific. We also took a trip to Cano Negro with Tirsio Hidalgo for some serious birding and fishing. Cano Negro is quite a ride away but has lots of wildlife and we hooked and lost 2 tarpon on a fly rod the largest of which was probably 80 lbs. The staff at the restaurant and at reception is very helpful and really made our stay enjoyable. Our third trip to this area which we love and LIL is a great place from which to enjoy all that the La Fortuna/Arenal area has to offer.

Room Tip: I think being upstairs affords better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    268
    67
    36
    9
See reviews for
321
583
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thompson Falls
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We loved the resort but had the bad luck of being there during cold and rainy weather. The rooms were comfortable and had great views. We loved the front decks where we could watch the birds flying. We didn't see any monkeys but the long tailed weasels were quite entertaining. The food in the restaurant was very good. The resort is in the country so you have a ways to go for other activities. At least we didn't explore outside of the gate. Maybe our fault. The staff was friendly. We loved that they would take you around in the golf cart when you needed to go somewhere when it was raining or just because. If the temperature would have been nicer we would have enjoyed it a lot more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were greated by the friendly owner of the hotel. The man assisting her at the front desk was welcoming and helpful throughout our trip. Our room was up a hill but they had a driver take us up to the room and if you wanted a ride they had young men driving golf carts around to assist you at most times. Our room seemed private although I think the building had 8-10 rooms in it and we had a direct view of the volcano out of our patio door. The room was large, tidy and was nicely furnished with a Costarican theme. The bathroom was beautifully tiled and the shower was large.There were nice pathways and trails throughout the property so you have plenty of opportunity to enjoy the greenery and wildlife. The pool and swim up bar were lovely. It may have seemed a bit small but considering the resort only houses 40 or so rooms then it seems large! Our meals at the restaurant were always good although you have to keep in mind it is not fast food. The breakfast buffet was a great way to start the day-nothing fancy but a great way to start. If you do not have a car and your activity is not real close by then you have to call a taxi which can be expensive. If your activity is close as the hanging bridges are, the hotel will provide your transportation free of charge. We got along fine without a car and may have gone into town one more night if we had our own vehicle but we were satisfied with a later evening at the pool and dinner at the restaurant on the resort. We would definetly go back and stay there. The owner has really created quite a place at this resort!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the lost iguana. I selected it again this trip because of its proximity to the hanging bridges and the room size available for our family of five. I wanted at least one attraction to not require a drive with impatient kids which was the Hanging Bridges. There was also a suite available that was actually two rooms that connected, but was less expensive than getting two rooms. My kids loved the outdoor shower! Wonderfully relaxing to sit on the back porch in the jungle with the volcano view. Breakfast was included with the room which always helps. The downsides were a little musty smell which is because of it's location in the middle of the humid jungle. I think you just have to accept that. Also it was a noisy, if you wanted to sleep late. Some of it is the quaintness of the animals in the morning and not so quaintness of the guest up for early tours. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a little annoying that they did not allow our driver to come to our room for drop off and pick up. We had to wait for the resorts golf cart if we did not want to walk( our room was far from the lobby area). the carts were always available, but we were unsure if we were supposed to tip every time- so we did- so it became a little costly, especially when it was something our driver would do for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The landscaping is beautiful and of course the view of the volcano is amazing (as long as the weather is clear). If you're looking for a quiet and relaxing location it's an ideal spot. For those looking for more adventure, the Lost Iguana is one of the furthest hotels from virtually all of the activities (and the actual town) so you'll end up spending far more time driving or money on taxis than most of the other places in the area. I also had surcharges on our activities that picked us up due to the location. One other note, there is a rather large hill we had to make it up to get to our rooms. It's one of those places you double or triple check to be sure you have everything for fear of having to do the hill multiple times! =) Not a huge deal, and they have a golf cart for bringing up your luggage and if you need assistance, but something to keep in mind. Overall, I could see myself going back if I was looking for a place to just relax and enjoy the scenery.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We loved this resort, and missed its beauty and tranquility for the rest of our Costa Rica trip. Despite some shortcomings (see below), I rate it five stars for its amazing volcano view, abundant wildlife, lovely natural gardens, and peaceful atmosphere.

Pros:

Wildlife: I do not know many birds, but from our balcony we saw many tanagers and hummingbirds, some flycatchers and warblers, a black guan, and a great curassow. From the restaurant we saw an Oropendola, woodpecker, great Kiskadee, and a coati. A Jesus Christ lizard ran across the pond next to the restaurant and we saw and heard several frogs at night.

Views: We stayed in a luxury suite near the top of the hill and had a beautiful view of the rainforest stretching all the way to the cone of Arenal volcano. The bed faced a wall that was almost entirely windows, so that you could lie in bed and enjoy the view.

Room: The luxury suite was huge and spotless, with a large balcony overlooking the volcano. The bed was ok. The large shower could easily fit a family, and was outstanding! My husband, who is chemically sensitive and often suffers from bad smells in hotel rooms, enjoyed the great air quality. We kept the balcony doors open during the day and saw only one ant in our room during our stay, so no bug problem.

Tranquility: Although there were many people at the hotel, it was absolutely peaceful. No traffic noise, no music; just the sounds of birds, frogs, and insects. I was there with family but the beautiful rooms, views, and tranquility would make this a very romantic retreat.

Gardens: Several of the other hotels we saw had large expanses of lawn. We loved that Lost Iguana had no lawn, and was fully planted with natural-looking gardens that made you feel you were in the middle of the jungle.

Cons:

Restaurant: The breakfast (included in the room rate) was just average, and the other meals we had were quite poor.

Lack of screens: The lovely large glass windows that take up almost one entire wall do not have any screens. Keeping our balcony doors open during the day allowed us to enjoy the wonderful fresh mountain air, and we did not have a problem with bugs. We would have liked to keep them open at night to enjoy the cool air and night sounds, but we did not do so because there were no screens. The only screened windows are very small and close to the ceiling, so we did not get to enjoy the wonderful fresh air at night.

Our twelve-year-old son writes:
We had a luxury suite. It was perfect for a family of three, with ample room. When you went outside at night, you heard frogs chirping all the time. It was very, very relaxing. You could look at a birdbath and see three or four frogs hanging out in there. When you went to the restaurant, there was a series of pools, and each one of them had one frog in them. We even saw a gigantic cane toad. In the restaurant they set out fruit for birds, and a coati came and ate the fruit too. We saw a Jesus lizard near the pond there. The fact that we only stayed two nights and saw all this nature makes me think that this really is a hotspot for birds and frogs and animals. The outside jacuzzi was a nice touch. You could actually put toilet paper in the toilets, which is a rare thing in Costa Rica! Our room was perched right over a pond, which was very nice. The food in the restaurant was good but not great. The restaurant is open to the outside air, and it can be very convenient if you want to look for birds, frogs, or animals in the trees or near the ponds.

The location is right near the dam, and fishing from near the dam is pretty good. My dad and I caught two fish each during a four-hour boat trip.

The people working there are very nice, and they speak English. They drive in golf carts and shuttle older people from restaurant to room. They come by every fifteen minutes, or you can call them and they will come much quicker.

The driveway is so long, you start to feel quite "lost" by the time you pull in. This extended driveway also goes to the Hanging Bridges.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory, MI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Some of the best bird watching is right here at the resort. A Toucan or Toucans, can be seen every morning between 7:30 and 8:30 am at breakfast. You must bring your camera! On two mornings, there was even a Montezuma Oropendola visiting the feeders. Naturally, those two mornings I did not bring my camera...We even saw a Coati in the road right up the hill from the reception desk. One of our highlights was hiking on some of the resort's private trails and crossing the creeks on the bridges. After mistiming our trip to the Hanging Bridges and getting caught in crowds of people, (hint, don't go mid morning) it was a relief to hike for hours on the Lost Iguana's trails and not see another person the whole time! There is much more to do around Arenal Volcano than the Pacific Coast area. Don't miss taking the Tram ride and zip lines. The Tram people picked my wife and I up at the reception desk, and dropped us back off at the resort. Be sure to book a hike or float trip with a naturalist through the resort. If you're into nature, birds, and animals, this is the place to stay! Here is a well earned tip of the hat to Alex at the reception desk, he was our "Rock of Gibraltar" during our 5 night visit.

Room Tip: Better views from the second floor rooms. We will get a suite next visit, outdoor hot tub with a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
2.5 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#4 of 69 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,635 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,423 reviews
2.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,685 reviews
2.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,553 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Royal Corin
Hotel Royal Corin
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Iguana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#10 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#10 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Hotel Lost Iguana
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.