We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for activity holiday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lost Iguana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1.5 km North of Arenal dam, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Chepstow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great base for activity holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have just returned from Costa Rica and had a 4 nigh stay at the begining of our holiday at Lost Iguana's with our two children aged 11 and 13. We were collected from our airport hotel and the trip to Lost I took us around 3 hours whcih was fine as the scenery was so beautiful . The position of the hotel is worth mentioning as it is in a more remote area and about half an hour to La Fortuna if you are interested in being able to shop and have a multitude of resturants on your doorstep, but for us this was not what we wanted and we found it to be a great base to use in fantastic scenary for all the trips we wanted to do many of which wher literally on the doorstep.

The first day we arrived we got the golf buggy from the hotel just up the road to the hanging bridges whcih what a loevely afternoon and well worth the visit. The second day we had booked a kayake and mountain biking tour and this went from the Arenal lake literally across the road from our hotel. We kayaked across the lake about 16km and were then met on the other side with the lorry and the bikes to continue our tour again around 16km and only stopped for fresh pineable and snacks at a beautiful river with volcano views. That afternoon we decided to treat our mucsules to some relaxation and got a taxi to the Baldi spar which cost us 30$ but the hotel picked us up at 5.30 with their staff taxi free of charge. Baldi was fantasic and particularly if you have kids its great with water slides for them and lots of relaxation pools, caves, water falls and swim up bars for the adults.
The next day we went on a white water rafting trip which was incredible and so well organised and the next to a wildlife rescue centre and then on an AVT quad bike tour all within a short drive.

Getting back to the hotel - the rooms were nice and clean and the decor reflected the location and style of the whole property with incredible views of the volcano and had a couple of rocking chairs out on the outside seating area. There were bottles of vodka, beer and brandy and wine in the room for you to use if you wished and tea and coffee as well.

The pools were nice one larger one which was not heated and very cold and one with the swim up bar which was a lovely warm temperature. You could either eat in the bar area or up in the returant where you ate breakfast and the toucans would come and eat fruit in the morning while you ate your breakfast whcih was just great. The main resturant meals were resonabley expensive and or varying quality but the cosa rican soup with the egg in served with rice is absolutely brilliant!

The staff were all very helpful and friendly and offered us a lift in the golf buggy when ever they saw us walking up the very steep hills which if you are anything other that fit could cause a problem unless you arranged lifts all the time.

All in all we enjoyed the experience and would recommend this hotel as a great base for taking trips and tours and also as somewhere to stay before taking the boat across the lake to Monte verde as it so close to the lake itself. We didnt see as many animals as we had hoped for not just in the hotel grounds but in the area as a whole in comparision to our next stop which was in Manuel Antonio but this is just one of those things sometimes you may be more lucky......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Terrace, british columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Truly beautiful and amazing, favourite place on our stay in Costa Rica. The rooms are beautiful and the views are incredible. The animals and photo ops were endless. The temperature was perfect first week in february. Lot's and lot's of incredible tours, many only a few minutes away. The only thing I hated was the hanging bridges tour, if your wanting to see lots of animals don't expect to see much. The park lets way to many people and tour groups in all at once, congested and noisy, I walked out on the tour after 10 minutes when we were already passed by 7 other guides and probably a 100 or more people. Do the zip lining, amazing,amazing,amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have taken a Yoga and Spiritual based tours to the Lost Iguana for 10 years. I just returned from there with a group of 30 very happy travelers. I love taking my groups there because they are All so Happy when we arrive and are astounded to tell you the truth. The rooms with volcano views, the friendly service, the great food in the restaurant and the Yoga / Meditation pavilion is a great meeting place, yoga venue and if you want to get married there it would be fantastic.The Lost Iguana whether for a family vacation, a honeymoon or a group is the Only place I would consider in the La Fortuna area. If you like beauty, service, integrity and quality the Lost Iguana is the Best.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room at the Lost Iguana
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaliAdvisor_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My experience with Lost Iguana was excellent right from the start. I didn't get to the hotel until 1am, but when I got there I found that they had my key waiting for me. No paperwork. They just got me to my room as quickly as possible.

The room was spacious, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. If you love nature, you'll love Lost Iguana. Each night I was serenaded to sleep by the crickets, frogs, birds, and monkeys.

I suggest upgrading to the Luxury Suite. The room is romantic, with a stunning view.

The whole staff was friendly, from the porter to the front desk clerk/concierge to the waiters to the bartenders to the groundskeepers.

The resort is perfectly located for all of your Arenal adventures. You can ride a golf cart to the nearby Hanging Bridges, or your a short drive away from zip lining, boating, hot springs, waterfalls, Arenal park, and restaurants. But if you don't feel like leaving the resort, the restaurant and bar server excellent food and drinks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This beautiful resort did not disappoint in any way. The rooms were beautifully furnished with stunning views. The gardens and grounds abound with exotic flora and fauna. The staff was very accommodating and the food fresh and delicious. The spa was most luxurious with amazing massages. It was just what I needed to get on a zipline and fly down the volcano at 35 mi. per hour! If you want to relax in an exquisite exotic location, soak in Tabacon Hot Springs, and have amazing adventures in the rain forest, this is the place.

Room Tip: There is steep walking to the higher level rooms but golf cart rides are readily available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My last trip was my 9 and I stayed here 8 of the 9 trips. I Love the place.
I have found it to be a great place, for many reasons. The rooms are beautiful, very beautiful and clean and dry. Moisture can be a problem in the rain forest, but never at The Lost Iguana.

I saw a review giving it a TWO??? It said something about Mold? Never Here. I wish they had a 10!

Room Tip: Lower rooms, delux, on the ends have open air showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A wonderful, relaxing resort that brings out the best of Costa Rica.

Lost Iguana is located in the heart of the Arenal Volcano region (get a rental car though, nothing is within walking distance). It was convenient for everything we did - we went canoneering, white water rafting (both with Desafino, which I'd recommend), hiked the hanging bridges, braved the zip line, and hiked one of the hotels own trails. Town is a 15 minute drive, but there's not much there.

After our busy days it was incredibly relaxing to return to this resort. It's built into a hillside and fits in with the environment making it feel like an authentic costa rican experience.

Our room had a lovely view of the Volcano although it was often obscured by clouds. There was a large balcony, outdoor hot-tub and the room itself was huge. The room's furniture looked to be hand-crafted of costa rican wood which added to the authentic experience.

There was a great (though small in size) pool with swim up access to the bar. The perfect place for happy hour after a busy day! It was heated -- which is needed since February temps were in the high 70s and it was often cloudy.

Most nights we ate dinner at the bar (for a more casual experience than the restaurant) where Jonathan, the friendly bartender, took great care of us. We only ate the costa rican food and it was outstanding. Amazing nachos, beans and rice, guacamole and quesadillas. There is non-costa rican food available but I'd stick to the food they know.

Breakfast was tasty, and was a good opportunity to watch toucans munch on the fruit left out for them.

This is the perfect spot for a 3-4 night stay (we stayed three nights but could have used one more). I'd recommend it for active people. If you were to stay at the resort all day you may get bored. Additionally, it's built on a hill - walking from the lobby to your room is not for the lazy (but there are golf carts).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
2.5 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 68 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,856 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,645 reviews
2.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#13 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,347 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#8 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Iguana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#9 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#10 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Hotel Lost Iguana
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing