We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring spare clothes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Venado Caves

Venado Caves
Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Attraction details
Lawrence
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bring spare clothes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was a lot of fun for a side tour. There were a lot of tight spots to crawl through, some on hands and knees some on your belly and all with water flowing through. We booked a tour through Desafio and our guide was very knowledgable. The drive up from La Fortuna takes about 45 mins and if you get car sick easily sit up front. With the way Costa Ricans drive prepare to get sick, but I promise the cave is worth the long drive.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    36
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A MUST EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I changed from zip lining to this tour. I am glad that I did. The experience was unlike anything I would have ever done. Being able to navigate was a challenge, but you continue because of the interest of adventure.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This excursion was excellent and worth every penny! We booked the excursion through a local vendor in the town of La Fortuna for $55 per person. This price provided a round trip shuttle that picked us up at the hotel. We chose the 8am pick up time. (they also had a 1pm slot)

The drive there was about an hour from the Tabacon Resort. The excursion is roughly 2 hours so you'll be done around 4 hours. They provide you with Helmets with lights, and rubber boots.

Venado Caves isn't one of those well known excursions, and it took awhile to convince my fiance to go since she's afraid of anything that crawls! However, the tour guide knew a good amount of english and was pretty funny. He made us feel safe and honestly, its not for the faint of heart. This is legit real spelunking! Wish i remembered his name! :(

I'm a pretty big fellow (215 pounds, muscular build) and there were sections of the cave that i thought i wasn't able to fit through but miraculously did. You will touch bat guano (poop), see spiders, crickets, cat fish, and lots of BATS! Just brace yourself, this adventure is definitely worth it. You will get wet at certain parts, but majority of the time, the water is roughly around your calves.

Also, make sure to get the photographer. Fausto is awesome! We bought our own camera but its so dark, you WILL NOT be able to take any nice photos. However, Fausto got you covered. He charges a modest $20 for two people (couple) and the images will be on a CD. (he took some great picture and even took videos)

Hope this review helps! If you have the time, definitely go since its something out of the ordinary and will only take roughly 4 hours.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pura Cavas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Navigating through the Venado Caves was unlike anything I've ever done before!! It was awesome! I went with a group of about 20 people (10 college students from SC, USA) ranging from 6 years old up to 50s and everybody enjoyed it! We had to crawl through small cave openings to get to a natural waterfall while bats were flying all over above. Really a memorable experience-tour guides captures lots of fun pictures of us throughout the cave. Definitely wear a swimsuit underneath any clothes that you don't mind getting messed up and bring a change of clothes for afterwards. Loved it, very cool!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exhilarating Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I visited the venado caves on a college of charleston study abroad trip to costa rica. I had never been inside a cave before and was a little nervous at first. It is definitely unlike anything I had ever done before, but way worth it. A river flows through the cave and bats are flying all around. the guide was very niice and took us into about 8 different rooms in the cave. It is definitely a cool experience crawling around the cave and not knowing where you will be going next. It is a little scary at time because of the tight areas but I would definitely recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venado Caves also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Venado Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venado Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.