We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic Location with More Comforts than Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
234 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Exotic Location with More Comforts than Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We traveled with another couple in Costa Rica and spent 3 nights at this glorious hotel. I cannot say enough about the comfort of the room, including the balcony. I think all rooms have a view of the Arenal Volcano which was in eruption mode while we were there. The hotel was pretty empty due to the "very wet season" so we had no problem getting in to the restaurants on property. The food was delicious and the price for food and beverages was fair. My husband and I had a couples massage at the spa which was very relaxing. We had exceptionally rainy weather while we were there and so didn't plan any canopy/zipline trips. We did visit the wild animal reserve on premises and had the guided tour there. There were so many butterflies and birds around that we don't feel we were deprived because we weren't out and about. In the morning we could hear the howler monkeys nearby. The mineral/volcanic pools on property were very clean and were a great place to soak and relax. We went to dinner in La Fortuna one night at Don Rufino's (highly recommend it) and were supposed to take the hotel shuttle into town. The shuttle wasn't running so the hotel arranged a cab to take us in free of charge, but the cab driver either didn't know where he was going or intentionally took us to another (empty) restaurant. We figured we were at the wrong place and so walked to Don Rufino's and were glad we did. Our next hotel (Paradisus Playa Conchal) was a huge disappointment after staying at this elegant and classy hotel. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    205
    58
    21
    11
See reviews for
582
705
14
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

I cant say enough about the resort. I was so impressed and excited about staying here.I never had a vacation so perfect. I am coming back next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

The Hotel is tucked away, with jungle and volcano views on a large property, and is 5 stars in every way. The rooms are stunning, the dozens of hot springs on the property and countless hummingbirds, breathtaking. Any issues can be handled by Johnny Castillo the hotel concierge and guest representative. He is absolutely wonderful and assisted us in many ways (you can email him at the hotel). Apart from being one of the best hotels in the world (Ive stayed at beautiful hotels in many places), this is a hotel with a heart. Due to a death in my family, the hotel charged us only for the dates we stayed, even though our reservation was for longer. The area has a lot to do, so if you are in Costa Rica DO NOT MISS THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Don't let the drive in scare you, owner Lee Banks has built a jewel in the Springs. I saw a couple of reviews from people mentioning the gravel road into the property, these people obviously haven't traveled much and think the entire world has roads like we do in the US.
The trip up the gravel road simply made me more amazed that they were able to build the Springs, because you will be amazed from the moment you enter the lavish lobby to when you experience one of the dozens of springs. Or my personal favorite waking up to a breathtaking view of Arenal volcano every morning was the highlight of an amazing stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

It's hard to describe The Springs Resort and Spa with only five stars to rate it. This place definitely tops most any other five-star hotels I've visited, with all the amenities and comforts you'd expect and service and food that's over the top fantastic. The spa is second to none. The hot springs take you to a mental place you never ever want to leave.

All of this is meticulously crafted to fit into the landscape -- and oh what landscape indeed. Surrounded by rain forest, every room in the resort presents a stunning view of Arenal, one of the most active volcanos on earth. It's like stepping back into prehistoric times with an incredibly beautiful, fully appointed room to return to whenever you wish -- never losing site of the hypnotic Arenal.

As I said -- it's tough to describe the experience of this place...the total attention to every detail...the from-another-world surroundings -- without an available six-star rating.

The Springs Resort at Arenal in Costa RIca is waiting for you. Once you've been, it will never leave you. I plan to return often. You will, too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We just had the most wonderful experience at the beautiful Springs Resort at Arenal.
The facility was brand new, and we learned that most all of the fixtures, beds, furniture and accessories were made on site by local artisans. We could see a spectacular view of the Arenal Volcano from every inch of the place - from our beds, from the hot springs, from the bar - it was breathtaking.
The staff was so nice, friendly and helpful. And, Joey, the manager was always nearby to make sure we were treated like royalty!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

What a beautiful hotel, me and my wife had an amazing time, the view, the food, the room everything was beyond our expectations
I fully recommend it, either you go on a business trip or just to get away of all the noise this place is the perfect spot.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
1.1 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,465 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,594 reviews
1.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Corin
Hotel Royal Corin
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,463 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#3 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A World Class Luxury Resort featuring Spectacular Hot Springs, Picture Perfect Views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and Four Restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 28 mineral laden, artesian Hot Springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. All of our amenities make The Springs Luxury Resort & Spa a great destination for Costa Rica vacations, weddings, or a honeymoon. Our 27,000 square feet of event, convention and meeting space have also made us the leading Costa Rica conference hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.