We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Rare Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Rare Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a once in a lifetime type resort. Big, yet small (only 47 rooms). Open and airy with breathtaking views, restaurants in the trees, rooms with killer views, birds, monkeys, frogs sounding out, something like 27 springs to sit in, river activities in day like tubing, hiking, horseback riding, climbing, and visiting the animal shelter. Or just sit and relax. We are not 'hotel' people and yet we did not leave for 3 days (and we had a car!). It was really spectacular. I want to bring my teenage girls, who would love it and I did see one or two families with smaller children...they seemed to love the high tech game room. None of the pictures do this place justice. I would say this is not a great place for anyone who has trouble with stairs as it is built on a hill. The only complaint is the food, which we found OK. Stick with the basics, and forget hot room service and you will be fine!!Best part, though, is the service. I felt like family and loved all the people who worked there...every last one!They want to make your stay the best ever! and they did!

Room Tip: If it's just the 2 of you, get a room further from the villas....201 to 210 is best. Second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,349
    197
    58
    22
    11
See reviews for
555
696
14
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Erci and Jackie...

I have traveled all over the world and The Springs Resort and Spa is by far is the most spectacular Resort. Everything from the food, staff and hospitality was excellent. The rooms are very high end with spectacular views of the volcano. I want to thank John Picart and Chad for going above and beyond in making my vacation unforgettable. Lee Banks has created the most prestige resort with all the activities there at the resort from hiking, Hot Springs, ATVing, Rock climbing, kayaking, tubing, rappelling and zip lining. The Resort has a beautiful animal rescue center were you can see all the animals up close and personal. The restaurants have great food and the deserts are to die for. Everything about the resort is excellent and a great place to spend your vacation!!I truly recommend this resort to all families or if you are planning a honeymoon!! I am definitely going back with my family and friends.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spectacular with great views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was the most romantic place we ever stayed at. The place is like Disneyland on steroids. Besides the very romantic hot springs that are spread all through the property, the service is very personal and they make you feel like you are visiting friends. All the staff we met we became friends and got to know a lot of them on a persoal leval, we're they told us about the places they like to eat and party at . When they brought us our car they even had a radio station on to music eche thought we might enjoy from what we been talking about, we were told of a place to go dancing we're we met up with the bartender. The tours on the property are excellent, like the horseback riding and the evening hike, both the guides were the best we ever had and very personal. When you go off the property to go exploring make sure you check out a soda,which is a local restaurant, then you will get a taste of the real Costa Rica.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I loved this resort, the rooms were very high end, beautiful, tasteful and most of all had huge balconies with rocking chairs and hammocks with views across the lush green to the volcano.

I enjoyed the food in the sushi restaurant the most and the least in the main restaurant. The breakfasts were just right.

The resort was large and you felt that your rooms were secluded - you rarely heard other people.

There is no shortage of things to do on the resort itself, hot springs, kayaking, tubing, wildlife center, spa, games center, gym etc.

One word of caution is that the Springs at the resort are open to the public during the day so it can get very busy additionally they play terrible techno music very loud throughout the relaxing springs. Maybe I'm old and boring but I would have much preferred to listen to the sounds of the rainforest around whilst relaxing. If there were some springs which were reserved for the paying guests and that did not have the terrible music I would think that this would be a perfect spot.

Without quesiton though this is an expensive resort and whilst I would say it is definitely the best hotel in the area without question I would consider next time looking at a less luxurious place just because the price differential is so extreme - but if money is no problem go for this one!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Springs is a truly spectacular resort in an amazing country that must be visited. The staff, and especially the owner ensures an incredible experience whether you're there for hot spring relaxation and spa with your spouse or girlfriends or a more athletic vacation filled with hiking, ATVing, kayaking, tubing, rappeling and ziplining. This is not a "sit at the pool or the beach" vacation. This is a complete immersion in nature and all its beauty. Their attention to detail is foremost in the service level practiced by everyone from the front desk to the wait staff to the concierge. Lee Banks has created a paradise within a paradise. Be sure to visit Peace Lodge first for a night or two and appreciate the closeness to nature that you'll never experience anywhere else. They've created a sanctuary that is hard to rival elsewhere. i only hope they have the coconut flan when you visit! They make it hard to come back to reality.

Room Tip: The villas are a treat. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Springs Resort and Spa made our honeymoon kickoff spectacular. With breathtaking views from the room to secluded "perdido springs" nestled in the thick jungle beside the resort, this made the perfect romantic getaway. While we were only able to stay one night due to cost, I wouldn't trade the experience for anything. The room was straight from a magazine, and left nothing wanting. Hammocks, jacuzzi hot tub, and complimentary wine to celebrate our honeymoon.

Several amazing restaurants, all with incredible views. Las Ventanas restaurant was the best dress-up dinner we had the entire time in Costa Rica, and the service was second to none.

A word on cost: This is definitely not a cheap resort, and for good reason - in addition to the incredible service, rooms, springs, and the immaculate landscaping, there is actually an animal preserve on the lower portion of the property, with toucans you can feed and jungle cats you can visit. Our guide explained that the owner of The Springs started the sanctuary when the state-run program funding such preserves tanked. It was incredible to see the care of the animals, and the passion of the workers.

HELPFUL TIP: We visited Costa Rica and The Springs Resort in early September. This was the beginning of their 'slow season' with tourism, allowing us all the beauty and amenities with few other guests. For a honeymoon, this was better than we could have imagined. Every hot spring pool, every guided tour, every meal was basically just us! We walked hand in hand, and commented that this may as well be the Garden of Eden, the true paradise.

~B&C Van Soest

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms :) Every single room has a view of Arenal, the volcano. Lower level rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We only stayed here for one night and I can say that this hotel is the most beautiful hotel that I've ever seen & been to. Everyone that works there are so sweet. Because we came in late on Friday we were able to leave our bags with them in a secure room and do the horseback riding and see the animals. One of the workers there named Marvin was extremely nice and helpful. He is so sweet and really made us feel like we were at home and that we we've known each-other for years! We talked about trips we've taken and our next trips and he's going to Oakland and we wish him the best time over there! If you're ever in LA we'll be sure to make you feel as welcome as you made us.

My husband and I went horseback riding with Nano and my fear of horses is really bad due to an experience as a child but Nano made sure he was always by my side and I must say if it wasn't for him I don't think I would ever have rode a horse again so thank you Nano!

This will not be the last time that we go back to the hotel. We will tell all of our friends and family to start saving now since it is pricey but its worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
1.1 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,431 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,562 reviews
1.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Corin
Hotel Royal Corin
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#4 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A World Class Luxury Resort featuring Spectacular Hot Springs, Picture Perfect Views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and Four Restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 28 mineral laden, artesian Hot Springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. All of our amenities make The Springs Luxury Resort & Spa a great destination for Costa Rica vacations, weddings, or a honeymoon. Our 27,000 square feet of event, convention and meeting space have also made us the leading Costa Rica conference hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.