We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trip of a Lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Barrington, Rhode Island
1 review
“A Trip of a Lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I believe reviews should be short and to the point.

Bottom line, The Springs Resort and Spa in Costa Rica is second-to-none. Seriously, everything from the food (high end restaurant quality), to the accommodations (luxury), to the facilities, to the pools (especially the numerous and often secluded hot springs pools), to the views, was spectacular. No detail was overlooked. The staff was tremendous and courteous. I look forward to going back! Indeed, I look forward to checking out other resorts owned and managed by Lee Banks!

If you like nature - Costa Rica belongs on your bucket list. If you are a photographer, it is a target rich environment. One of the photos I posted (the volcano) was from the patio of our room (yes - all the rooms have this view!). The concierge at The Springs took care of all off-campus trips and tours - tour of the rainforest, a hanging bridges tour, a river tour through the rainforest, a waterfall tour and a tour of the base of the volcano. We had no worries or concerns - we just had to be at the concierge desk at the appointed time. And for those who like to stay on-campus, The Springs has a wildlife preserve, tubing on rapids, horseback riding and a rock climbing wall, among other things.

The Springs Resort and Spa in Costa Rica rates a "12" on a scale of 1 to 10. Honestly superb. You won't regret booking a vacation there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,383
    205
    58
    21
    11
See reviews for
581
705
14
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Short Hills, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our week's vacation inn Costa Rica with our two girls (ages 9 and 10). We started our trip at The Springs Resort and Spa. Upon arrival, we were graciously welcomed by the front desk and provided with delicious tropical drinks, given a tour of the breathtaking grounds with its scenic and lush backdrop, and shown to our room which was ready ahead of check-in time. Our hotel room was spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed. My kids had their own room and bathroom divided by sliding doors and they were thrilled to have their own privacy (as were we!). We enjoyed the large balcony (especially the two hammocks often occupied by my girls when we were not out and about) with awesome views of the rainforest and volcano. You could hear the sounds of the springs and the chirping of the birds at any time of the day.

Our days were active and full. The concierge Johnny and the general Manager Roy were extremely accommodating in making sure that everything we hoped to accomplish during our stay would in fact happen. On the premises themselves, we took advantage of the hotel's outdoor Club Rio. We visited their Wildlife Preserve and fed the toucans, got close views of the monkeys, ocelets and pumas and even saw a four day old horse. We also arranged for tubing along the Arenal River with their experienced guides. The girls had a blast while getting splashed and bounced around. My husband also went on a bird watching tour early in the morning. As for activities outside the resort, we hiked "near" the volcano, walked across the hanging bridges and went ziplining twice (because apparently once was not enough for my girls).

We also spent a lot of time just enjoying the multitude of landscaped springs pools of varying temperatures by the upper part of the hotel, as well as those by the lower part of the hotel grounds called Perdido Springs. My girls (and even the adults) spent hours going up and down the Monkey slide. Constant entertainment and relaxation combined.

By the end of our stay, we wished we could have stayed longer but our vacation had been pre-arranged. We were sad to say goodbye to this wonderful hotel and its very professional and friendly staff, including the hotel's owner, with whom we had the good fortune to meet. In fact, our next destination was the Four Seasons at Peninsula Papagayo, which was lovely, but its atmosphere was more formal and corporate (i.e., less personal) and lacked, in my opinion, some local flavor. When we first arrived, my girls were begging to go back to The Springs. The Springs was truly unique in its beauty and design and offered adventure, relaxation and cultural immersion.

There is no doubt that our family will make a return visit to The Springs -- and stay longer the next time. This was our best family vacation to date.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Springs Resort as part of our honeymoon in April. The resort is tucked away and hidden from the main road. The resort is by far the most luxurious that we stayed at in Costa Rica. When you check in they give you a tour of the grounds to help you not feel so lost on the property. The rooms are gorgeous and very spacious with fantastic views of the volcano and the surrounding forest.

The food was not very good and expensive. The drinks were very weak. The bar tender down at the pools away from the main building of the resort was helpful in choosing drinks that were a little more stout.

The folks down at the Club Rio portion was AWESOME and our guide for the tucan, monkey, and cats tour was very friendly, very knowledgable, and had only been speaking english for a couple of months, but spoke english very well.

This is the place to stay if you really want to spoil yourself for a few days while in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Superb spa pools, great friendly staff and the wildlife tour is brilliant- we saw toucans, wild cats and a panther. The bar staff were great and we stayed in the pools for over 4 hours! Grounds are lovely and view of volcano from the pools are great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

What a fantastic surprise! We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary with an "Adventure Trip" to Costa Rica and visited four locations from the Carribean to the Pacific. Our time at the Springs was incredible. It is, by far, the nicest place we have ever stayed at. The attention to detail, the service, the delightful hot springs, the views, ..... everything was outstanding. Really felt like we had died and gone to Heaven!
We talk about this place with all our friends and every time we do the greatest memories come alive again.
Thank you for an amazing experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I had the unique opportunity to stay at this amazing resort and spa for two nights while in La Fortuna, Costa Rica. On arrival at the hotel, the friendly staff already knew my name and attended to every detail to ensure I had a good stay. The architecture and landscaped grounds are breathtaking and made even lovelier by the incredible views of Volcan Arenal which can be seen from each guest room. I stayed in a two-level family suite which was spacious and luxuriously appointed with wood and stone.

I most enjoyed the thermal pools which helped me to relax and soothe my sore muscles after 8 weeks of travel. I also loved the delicious food at the sushi bar, enjoyed visiting the toucans, monkeys and wild cats at Club Rio and meeting other travelers from the States and abroad.

I definitely plan on coming back again next time my travels find me in La Fortuna and highly recommend this place as a unique destination for couples and families looking for a place that has it all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have traveled quite a lot in our life and this is by far the most amazing resort/hotel we have ever visited. Everything is perfect. The hot springs are unreal and the service is unmatched across the world. Once you arrive at the resort you won't have to worry about anything. If you have any sort of request it will be taken care of in a matter of minutes! The resort was built 5 years ago so it is in amazing condition and perfectly clean. There are a few other very high end resort around Arenal area, but after speaking with many of the locals they all agreed that The Spring was far and above the best resort around. It may be expensive, but it's worth more than anything you will pay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
1.1 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,463 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,593 reviews
1.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Corin
Hotel Royal Corin
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#1 Business Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#3 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A World Class Luxury Resort featuring Spectacular Hot Springs, Picture Perfect Views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and Four Restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 28 mineral laden, artesian Hot Springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. All of our amenities make The Springs Luxury Resort & Spa a great destination for Costa Rica vacations, weddings, or a honeymoon. Our 27,000 square feet of event, convention and meeting space have also made us the leading Costa Rica conference hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.