We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The rooms, the pool ,the landscape, the service were wonderful.The food well.... not so good and is expensive but for a nice chill out spot this is the place, specially is you are in couple.
At the night there is not so much to do but you can enjoy nice night-walkings after dinner or take some late drinks at the bar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,383
    205
    58
    21
    11
See reviews for
581
705
14
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Had a great vacation with the kids. Really enjoyed the hot pools and water slides. Attentive service and good food. Close enough to La Fortuna to enjoy other activities. Will will return on our next vistit to the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dylangmurphy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We came to The Springs for the day to enjoy the pool, the hot springs and the view.

It's pricey at $50pp, though that does cover you for a second day (which we didn't use) - but we thought it was worth it - the hotel, the grounds and the views are spectacular.

There are numerous nice pools, some hot, some not. The loungers are comfortable and we had pace and quiet during the day.

We ate lunch at The Treetops Grill restaurant. We fully expected the food & drink to be extortionate but wasn't the case at all, the food was good and was just over $40 including 2 beers and two soft drinks.

Note some other reviewers mentioned crowds. The place was deserted when we were there, but we were off-season (late-April) and we went at 9am until 3pm. But we did note two coaches coming in dropping off day trippers as we were leaving so that could have got a bit crowded - but wasn't an issue for us.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Springs Resort experience for our family was nothing short of magnificent. The staff was extremely polite, friendly, knowledgeable, approachable, and pleasant. They truly became part of our family.

Our children range in age from mid-teens to early twenties. We all thoroughly enjoyed our experiences at Club Rio from tubing to horseback riding. The wildlife tour of rescued animals should not be missed. Best to go in the cooler parts of the day when the animals are more active.

In particular, as a complete novice at horseback riding, I found this adventure most rewarding. The guides at Club Rio (Oscar and Nano) have a relaxed teaching approach that worked well with my lack of horse sense and initial nervousness. During two one-hour tours through fields and trails (even a cool down in the Arenal River), they observed and adjusted my riding technique that quickly built my confidence. On our final day, our family embarked with Oscar and Nano on a 2-½ hour journey from Club Rio into the surrounding countryside. Additional pointers along the way further enhanced the enjoyment of this journey of great sites and memories. Pura Vida!

Consult the Concierge regarding time availability of activities at Club Rio. There are plenty of changing rooms and bathrooms onsite. Bring your swimwear as after riding or climbing, there is nothing like a relaxing dip in the hot spring.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Trip Advisor was a big reason for us choosing this hotel, and we were not disappointed at all.

Arriving at the Springs is a real experience. You turn off the main road and drive 2 miles on a dirt road, then turning the corner and arriving at oz. Valet your car and after a brief checkin, your given a great tour of the property and your room. The main building houses the restaurants, spa, lobby, bar and the rooms are below. The tour of the property shows off how amazing it is: the layout, the views, the great hot springs pools, the landscaping.

Then you head to the rooms. Check out the Springs website - those photos are very accurate. While it's good sized room, they've really created a magnificent living space: great woodwork, great view of the Volcano, rocking chairs, accent lighting, spa tub.

The hot springs tubs are wonderful - there are a number of pools on the property, so chances are you'll have one all to yourself. The spa treatments were good and the facility was very very nice.

They have an adventure area near the river (10 min bus ride) called Club Rio and houses a small collection of wild animals - loved that.

We were able to spend some time with the owner/developer Lee, and he has a great vision for the property and his expectations of service.

The food was very good. I would like to see a little more variety on the menu, but the quality and service were great. Jose at Ventana's did a great job.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor - the higher ceilings really make a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is by far a trip I will remember forever. I went with a massive group of 16 people, some were kids.(including me only being a 14 year old boy). Every moment of the trip you will have something to do. Club Rio is probably the coolest place I've been too, horseback riding was my favorite. We went for 2 hours exploring all the land of Costa Rica. The guides Nano and Oscar are probably the nicest people I know. I never ever ever went horse back riding before this trip. But the new experience was amazing. My 5 year old sister even rode. Then she couldn't stop talking about it. Even as a new rider I was comfortable with the horses. The employes all are more nice then most the people I know. The sweetest people ever.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Springs Resort is gorgeous. The property and landscaping is lush and beautiful. We stayed in the honeymoon vista rooms. The rooms are roomy, absolutely beautiful, and extremely well thought out in their design. Having our own private hot springs off of our patio with his and hers hammocks was such a treat. Our view of the volcano was superb and the privacy garden attracted a nice array of birds. The service at this resort was topnotch and the activities offered via the resort's Club Rio makes it so that you almost don't have to leave property. The numerous hot springs throughout the property were fun and relaxing (my husband had to wake me for dinner every night!), the water slide was fun and the tubing was thrilling. The animal conservatory is nicely done as well. The food was not great, but the meals in the smaller dining facility were very good and the sushi bar was pretty good as well. The spa was extremely nice as well -- beautiful, relaxing and very good technicians. I received the most thorough facial of my life. My husband had a very enjoyable mani-pedi. Although his manicurist arrived 20 minutes late for his appointment due to some traffic issue, she gave him a free upgrade to their nicest mani-pedi and discounted his treatment by 50%. He was more than happy with that concession.

Room Tip: I recommend splurging for the Honeymoon Vista rooms -- the view is absolutely gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
1.1 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,463 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,593 reviews
1.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Corin
Hotel Royal Corin
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#1 Business Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#3 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A World Class Luxury Resort featuring Spectacular Hot Springs, Picture Perfect Views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and Four Restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 28 mineral laden, artesian Hot Springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. All of our amenities make The Springs Luxury Resort & Spa a great destination for Costa Rica vacations, weddings, or a honeymoon. Our 27,000 square feet of event, convention and meeting space have also made us the leading Costa Rica conference hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.