We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Gorgeous, Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing, Gorgeous, Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Long overdue review of this resort (visited in Jan or Feb of 2012). I did not stay here but utilized a two day access pass to enjoy the springs and facilities. After a day of horseback riding and ziplining, nothing says vacation than a tropical drink and soaking in hot springs.

This place is one of my top 5 favorites in the world --- and yes, I have stayed or utilized 5 star resorts throughout the world.

Eat the sushi -- fresh and delicious. Have a couple drinks -- refreshing. Take a tour of their sanctuary -- beautiful animals. Enjoy the waters --- it is a true paradise, both at night and during the day.

This place is a MUST to visit and enjoy when in the Arenal area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcgalesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oceanside
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We didn't actually stay a The Springs, but we used the Hot Springs Two Day Pass to have dinner (twice), swam in the hot springs and explore the Club Rio Outdoor Center. This review is about our special dinner at Las Ventanas. This trip to Costa Rica was the culmination of my surprise 50th birthday. Part of that surprise was dinner at fabulous Las Ventanas (The Windows), located at The Springs Resort and Spa, with a view of Volcán Arenal. This is truly a first class facility and they really make you feel welcomed and part of the family. Our reservations were at night, so didn't get to see the volcano but the experience we had there (service, food, recommendations, etc.) make us want to return as soon as possible. We started off with the Wild Mushroom Bruschetta Appetizer (Caramelized Leeks, Pancetta, Rosemary and a Sherry Cream Sauce served on Crostini). For dinner, LJ had the Blackened Mahi Mahi Entrée (with a Jalapeño Beurre Blanc sauce and served with Pearl Potatoes and Sautéed Vegetables) while I had the Bleu Cheese Ribeye Entrée (Certified Angus Choice Rib Eye with a Bleu Cheese Compound Butter served with Potato Au Gratin, Green Beans and Oregano Oil). To end the evening, we selected the Caramelized Apple Dessert (a very delicate combination with a Confit Sweet Potato Quenelle, Basil Sorbet, Cream of Flan and Mixed Candied Nuts) and Caffè Corretto.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the Hot Springs Two Day Pass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Lots of activities for the whole family. Thermal waters are amazing with several pools that spread throughout the area so you are never crowded. Many restaurants offer a variety of choices. Magnificent view of the Arenal volcano from all areas of the resort. Comfortable accomodations and great service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEMiami2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Springs Resort and Spa is really just the perfect meeting of luxury for parents and fun for kids -- making it the best family hotel we have ever stayed in. It is a moderately sized hotel which means that the staff is very engaged in making the stay extraordinary -- from the woman who cleans the room to the concierge arranging life changing and thrilling activities -- everyone works to make the stay marvelous. The rooms are luxurious and have magnificent views of the volcano. The property is fabulous with "Club Rio", a fun spot on the river with a climbing wall, tubing, a small collection of exotic animal (Tucans you can feed and a baby jaguar who will playfully run the length of the enclosure with the kids), and a really terrific horse facility. A wrangler named Nano worked to make the horseback ride the best of my children's lives and that is saying something because our children ride weekly. Finally, the Springs themselves, a collection of 20+ pools dotting the property, at least one with a really fun slide -- make it possible to conclude everyday with a relaxing and fun soak in a hot pool, swim or slide. I highly highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were a group of weary travelers, and had been rather loosely using travel guides to search out interesting paths and sites in the interior of Costa Rica. We headed one evening for The Springs, all agreeing that a thermal pool would be a nice way to cap the day. The road seemed endless and remote, but as soon as we turned into the entrance drive, we knew we had found something special. What unfolded was the most luxurious experience of the entire journey. Each of us felt completely taken care of from the moment we arrived. The staff was absolutely excellent in every way. The food was fabulous. The room was huge, beautifully appointed, and impeccably clean. And the hot pools- not to be missed! I must give a special mention to one of the staff, Andrey, and one of the guides, Nichole, who were especially outstanding, even beyond the high standards of this resort. If you are looking for luxury in the hills, this is your spot.

Room Tip: Many rooms offer a view of the volcano- worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This resort is the finest I have ever been to. Lush tropical paradise. Service is what you would expect from a 5 Star Resort. Rooms are gorgeous with an incredible view of the volcano. Food was excellent and reasonably priced. There are many things to do at the resort and close by as well and very reasonably priced as well. I just can't wait to go there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully furnished and have breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLLMike211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We just returned from Costa Rica and the Springs Resort was one of the reasons we had the best vacation. Everything from the incredible two story suite to the relaxing hot springs made the trip special and unusual. The activities at the Club Rio were a blast and the staff at the club made the experience a blast for our family. Specifically, Jonathan, Daniel, Rolando, Ally (at the front desk of Club Rio) and the guys who took us on the horseback riding and atv tour, were all professional, helpful, patient and just SO nice. Overall, the service was terrific. The food was good. Better than we expected. It's not gourmet but there are a lot of options and they had a kids menu which was key. It is truly a special vacation spot that we will go to again someday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
1.1 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,643 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,752 reviews
1.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#8 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#3 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A World Class Luxury Resort featuring Spectacular Hot Springs, Picture Perfect Views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and Four Restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 28 mineral laden, artesian Hot Springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. All of our amenities make The Springs Luxury Resort & Spa a great destination for Costa Rica vacations, weddings, or a honeymoon. Our 27,000 square feet of event, convention and meeting space have also made us the leading Costa Rica conference hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing