We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Beautiful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our stay at The Springs was after our second stay at The Peace Lodge, which we loved. We were amazed by the beauty of the Springs Hotel and the incredible activities offered. We could have spent many more days discovering and enjoying all of the hot springs and lovely pools on the property, and visiting the rescue animals. The river tubing was loads of fun. The rooms are large and comfortable with fantastic views of the Arenal Volcano. The hotel staff always had a smile and were ready to assist in any way. The owner, Lee Banks, answered all our questions about how he was able to build such a beautiful hotel in such a remote location. We loved meeting him and we look forward to returning to The Springs someday soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor of the Tucan Building and it had a terrific view of the volcano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    205
    58
    21
    11
See reviews for
582
705
14
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We went to the Springs for my birthday in January. It was the most fantastic trip ever. The accommodations were unbelievable. It was one of the pretties hotels we have ever stayed at. We met the owner of the property Lee. He was a real treat getting to know him. He made our day when he called the stable to arrange for us to go on a private horseback excursion with Nano. I have never met someone that was so nice and made sure we had a spectacular time. The entire staff at the resort was unbelevable they all went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect.
I would highly recommend this resort to anyone. There is so much to do you would never have to leave the resort. The grounds are gorgeous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

You will walk around scratching your head thinking, "how did they possibly build this place, HERE"

It's in the middle of nowhere, and it's gorgeous. The grounds are huge but there are relatively few rooms. The pools and "springs" are so good people come every day and pay just to use them. Wonderful in every way!

Expensive? Heck yes - but for the one time in your life you go to this place - go big and stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were a family of 10 staying at the Springs during President's week. The hotel is beautiful and the service is superior. In particular, Oscar at the horse stable was fantastic. Victor was our tour guide at the Volcanic National Park--he was extremely knowledgable and caring. He kept the children in our group interested throughout the hike. Our ATV guides, Andrejs and Andres, were also also excellent. The views from the hotel are priceless. All rooms face the Arenal Volcano. The food was good as well. We had three dinners at Las Ventanas, which we preferred over Tres Cascadas. There are so many springs and places to sit that there is no rush to reserve lounge chairs. It is a hotel where you can relax, or spend time with numerous activities, such as horseback riding, tubing, hiking, and much more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Visited The Springs Resort and Spa in February with a 2 day pass ($50 p/p). What a beautiful location! We took advantage of the hot springs, pool, bars and restaurants. The hot springs are all labeled with water temperatures, and there are soooo many pools to choose from. There is lower section of pools that we discovered had more people in it, probably due to the slide which was buzzing with children. The bars were conveniently located and offered a full variety of drinks, to include cappuccinos!! Each frozen/mixed drink will set you back $10-$12, but they were good. We had lunch at Tres Cascadas and ALL of our entrees were excellent (chicken sandwich, fish, fish tacos, BBQ sandwich, cheese steak sandwich), good size portions too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel is in a beautiful setting with hot spring pools. The rooms are lovely as is the reception and bar area. We had a lovely stay at this hotel. The only negative I have about the hotel is with the food. The restaurant in the evening is very over priced. For 3 main meals (just the meals excluding drink, starters and desserts) it was well over 90 dollars. For the price, and with everything else about the hotel being lovely, I expected lovely food, however both mine, my husbands and my daughters food was not great. I can honestly say that the ribs I had at this restaurant were undoubtedly the worst ribs I have ever tasted. They didn't even taste like meat. I would, recommend that you eat elsewhere on the evening if staying at this hotel. The breakfast was very nice though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent the last couple of nights of our Colette vacation package at the Arenal Spring Resort & Spa. The rooms, grounds and pools are beautiful and employees very friendly. A friend on the tour experienced dentals problems and Lucy Ledezma, client services, personally took us into La Fortuna to find a dentist and pharmacist and & spent several hours with us. We would had a very difficult time without her. An adventure in itself.
The tour mgr, Dravein Cubero, was also very professional and accomadating as well as Collette. The restaurant was great and employees very friendly as well as the rest of the people of Costa Rica. Room was very nice with a view of the Volcano out the front door. Ceiling fan in single story units. All have frig, AC, TV w/ lots of english stations. Hot Spring pools of different temps. Lots of excursions and adventures from hotel. Best prices for souvenirs at oxcart factory, Eloy Alfaro, in Sarchi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
1.1 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,465 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,595 reviews
1.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Corin
Hotel Royal Corin
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,463 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#3 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A World Class Luxury Resort featuring Spectacular Hot Springs, Picture Perfect Views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and Four Restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 28 mineral laden, artesian Hot Springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. All of our amenities make The Springs Luxury Resort & Spa a great destination for Costa Rica vacations, weddings, or a honeymoon. Our 27,000 square feet of event, convention and meeting space have also made us the leading Costa Rica conference hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.