We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place is amazing. It is totally different than the many beach and Caribbean trips we have taken. It is definitely an adventure to get here. We landed at night, so thank goodness we had a driver to navingate the very windy roads in the dense fog. It is worth the journey. The place is new and clean and beautiful. It is built in the middle of the rainforest. You hear the sounds of monkeys and birds. The staff is like family. The food is excellent. We were truly relaxed. The property has so much to offer from the many hot springs to the wild life sanctuary to the river tubing and kayaking. And there is a lot more to do nearby - including the very exciting zip lining, hiking and hanging bridges. I am very glad we had a full week to enjoy it -- we probably could have stayed even longer! We were here after Christmas and into early January. We toasted the new year with the owner and his family -- most people went into the town for that night. It was great to be in the middle of nowhere and still have the comforts of home. They had great wifi and they let us reserve the seats at the pool bar to watch a football game -- and even served us our dinner there. The rooms were comfortable, all with amazing views of the volcano (when the clouds cooperated). We enjoyed the daily rain showers ... and under the canopy of the plants and trees you could easily take cover while it passed by. There is beauty everywhere -- really a unique not-to-be-missed experience.

Room Tip: From what we could tell, ALL the rooms were excellent. We were in the only 3-bedroom unit ... and tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    204
    58
    21
    11
See reviews for
580
704
14
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is nice, the views of the volcano are perfect and the hot springs are superb! Now, if the rate you have is above $350/ night per room, you will feel that you are paying too much.
Service and food are average.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our family just returned from a lovely vacation at The Springs Resort & Spa. We picked this resort from tripadvisor and were a little nervous as we were driving up the dirt road riddled with potholes to the main entrance. Boy were we surprised (and relieved) to see a beautiful and luxurious resort built into a hillside in the middle of nowhere with views you won't find anywhere else. The hot spring pools were so relaxing and we kept finding new ones tucked into very private areas during our entire 5-day stay. The on-site activities that our family loved were the pool slide, river tubing, animal preserve, horseback riding, spa, fitness center and fully stocked game room. There were also many off-site activities to choose from for all ages and adrenaline levels. We had a 2-level family suite (2 king beds, 2 huge bathrooms, 2 TVs, sitting area, bar, small desk, large deck with 2 hammocks) which was very spacious and comfortable for 4 people. The staff is very nice, took great care of us and made sure we had a fun time. Shout out to Hairol, Mario, Jerry, Marvin and Nano to name a few.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The drive to the Arenal Region took about 2 1/2 hours. Don't let that discourage you after a long flight. The drive was magnificant. It was like a tour. We stopped at a Hummingbird sactuary and an authentic outdoor restaurant. The people there speak excellent english and couldnt be nicer. Let me just say the drive is so worth it! The view was absolutely breath taking, resort was extraordinary. There were hot springs heated from the volcano lava which were like small pools which would waterflow into another then another then another while temperatures drop one to the next. The food was outstanding. Wife says best Sushi she ever had. I've been to about 20 tropical places and this was top notch! Rainforest was beautiful. River raft tour was so peaceful and the wildlife was alive. Howling monkeys, slothes, alligators, tons of exotic birds, and butterflies. We went in August and the temperature was great with no bugs.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a day pass at The Springs and were very pleased. We spent the evening exploring the zillions of hot springs and enjoying tasty drinks at the swim up bars. There was even a water slide built in! The view was amazing! The grounds were beautiful. Service, all around, was very nice. Dinner was peaceful and tasty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We just returned from a 4 day trip to Costa Rica and stayed only at the Springs Resort and Spa. The trip from San Jose took about 3 LONG CRAZY NERVOUS hours. The roads in Costa Rica are insane and the drivers are crazy. Seriously! I have major issues with "edges" and the 100 ft drop off's were to much for me. No guard rails, one lane bridges while your going 60 miles an hour, narrow roads, and drivers that pass you even though they can't see around a corner. If you wreck I highly doubt you will survive. The anxiety of the trip was just to much. I dreaded the return trip by car home (although it wa a little easier since I knew what to expect). We took the taxi provided by the resort and we are so glad we did! I would have never felt comfortable driving through Costa Rica (not to mention poor road signs). But, people do it every day all day-so Bravo to them. My husband was glad we did the trip via taxi for the first time being in Costa Rica.
Hotel is beautiful and secluded. Looks just like the pictures. All the rooms are great. Be prepared for tons of walking. Elevator did not work so just getting to the restuarant is a work out each day (you do this several times a day for drinks, excursions, game room, spa, pools etc.) Again, lots of walking.
Pros:
Club Rio was awesome. We loved doing the night time tour and cat tour with George. Also the inner tub rafting was alot of fun and the guides make you feel safe. We spent two long afternoon and evenings at Club Rio and was one of the highlights of our trip.
Every room has a good view-wouldn't pay extra for upgrades (but that's me)
Pool were warm
Owner was present and Assistant Manager was helpful
Great service (some better than others but always pleasant)-Main pool bar drink service was excellent, friendly and entertaining. Room service-quick and hot.
Front Desk-very helpful with minor issues (no hot water-fixed immediantly, DVD player had issues-fixed in 10 minutes, bellman-5 minutes, etc.) Very quick.
Excursions: Night tour at Club Rio, Extreme ATV (felt very extreme to me!), Safari Float
Overall-no issues really with the hotel, very beautiful and they work hard to keep it clean. Very pleased with our stay. Food could be much better but we were told Costa Rican food is bland and we found this to be very true.
Negatives:
3 horrible hours to get to the hotel. For this reason alone we will probably not return. It was unbearable. Take the flight!
MURDER- Yes, there was a triple murder while we were there in Costa Rica and the bodies were found outside our hotel (well about 2 miles but it's the main road bridge to the hotel). A local hotel owner and his two sons were brutually murdered and the bodies were left or killed on the one lane bridge about 1-2 miles from hotel (not sure of full details and I could only find one posting of this on the internet). The hotel staff provided limited information about this murder but only told us our excursions for the morning had to be canceled due to road blocks by the police investing the murders. It just made me very uncomfortable and a little freaked out. I know, murders happen everywhere but this was a little to close to home since we had gone out in Costa Rica that same night and returned home at 11:30pm, murders occured around 12pm per police. We were able to go ATVing later that evening and police were investigating one of the ATV trails deep in the forrest. They had us blocked for a very short time but finally let us through and drove off themselves. Just gave me the since that I was unsafe. Although my husband wasn't phased.
Will we return? Proabably no- but we are glad we went. Travel time was extreme (left hotel at 8:30 in morning and did not make it back home until 11:30 at night).
Tips: stop and purchase beer wine etc for your room. They charge $6 for an imperial in your mini bar (cost us about .35$ at market). Just do the buffett for breakfast $15 (it is very good), lunch-most items are about $12-18. Dinner $18-32, mixed drinks $9-all good, think at bars beer was $4.50. ask for extra coffee in room, evenings can be cool, bring a light weight sweater ladies, enjoy the hammocks. We didn't spend enough time there.
Feel free to email me with any questions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

What a resort! The staff, rooms, restaurant, swim up bar and of course the natural hot tubs were simply perfect. We did not want to leave. It is simply a peaceful and relaxing resort. Dinner was good though it could be hotter and the wait staff seemed to be a little over extended with the large bus tour. We loved our room with a great view of the volcano. We watched the Super Bowl at the swim up bar while sipping on Mojitos...now that is my kind of super bowl party!

Room Tip: Room 901! Great views of the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
1.1 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,463 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
1.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Corin
Hotel Royal Corin
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,460 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#3 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A World Class Luxury Resort featuring Spectacular Hot Springs, Picture Perfect Views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and Four Restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 28 mineral laden, artesian Hot Springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. All of our amenities make The Springs Luxury Resort & Spa a great destination for Costa Rica vacations, weddings, or a honeymoon. Our 27,000 square feet of event, convention and meeting space have also made us the leading Costa Rica conference hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.