We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Amazing Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel was fantastic. The staff were top notch, always catering to every need and going the extra distance. The facilities were immaculate and the scenery is breathtaking!! The pools they have there were pristine and relaxing. Unlike anything I've ever experienced before. Keihlor gave us an orientation of the hotel which was fabulous, and Donald the bartender at the Presido Springs bar made the best drinks I've ever had. We had one hiccup in that the transport we booked to take us to the hotel from the airport never showed. Natalia, the concierge, rectified a transport hiccup for us by discounting our next transport which we appreciated. The food was outstanding as well- I am definitely going back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,348
    197
    58
    22
    11
See reviews for
554
696
14
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Wow, what an awesome place - very zen-like! The architect of this resort did an exceptional job of centering everything around breathtaking views of Arenal Volcano with its constant steam rising from the top. The resort felt very clean and new (I think it's <5yrs old) and the rooms were spacious and well-appointed with very high ceilings with huge windows that allow for incredible view of the volcano. Loved the hot springs throughout the property - very relaxing. We ordered "roll-away beds" for our two kids as our room only had a king sized bed. Normally I cringe at having to use hotel roll-aways. These were more like regular beds. The maids were outstanding - every day they left animal shapes created out of bath towels that left our kids amused. Only complaint is that you will tire of the restaurant/food options if you stay for more than a couple days and the restaurants in the town of La Fortuna are a lengthy and bumpy cab ride away. We will be back! Oh, by the way... try the french toast at the breakfast restaurant - yum!

Room Tip: Every room has the same awesome view of Arenal volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We celebrated our wedding at The Springs in May 2012 and it could not have been any more beautiful. From the moment we arrived our wedding planner, Amanda, went out of her way to ensure that our wedding day was better than anything we could have imagined. We were able to choose the location for our ceremony and reception from any spot on the resort and everything was completely private so we didn't have to worry about other resort guests wandering into our festivities or peeking in on our ceremony. The food and wedding cake were phenomenal; our guests are still raving about them. Amanda and the rest of the staff went above and beyond to ensure we had a magnificent wedding and we could not have been happier with the way everything turned out. If you're looking for a location for a destination wedding you definitely CANNOT go wrong with The Springs.

With regards to the resort, again, everything was amazing. We've never been so pampered or relaxed. I highly recommend a trip to the spa during your visit. This resort is not cheap but it is worth every penny. We transferred to another resort for our honeymoon and definitely regretted it.

Room Tip: We originally booked the Honeymoon Vista and it was gorgeous. After our hot tub broke we were upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My Father took my friend and I to here and the Peace lodge and we had a blast! It was like nothing we have ever expierenced before! Our days were filled with endless adventures and relaxation. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in costa rica! The view was amazing and the staff were so sweet!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The view was beautiful and there was so much to see and do. You wake up to a view of the Arenal volcano. It is spectacular, tucans and hummingbirds everywhere. You have to see this resort to believe it for yourself. I want to go back soon. The food and staff were excellent and very friendly. First class and beautiful.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the whole resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I agree with others who said the hotel facility is lovely - comfortable beds, clean, loved the flora and fauna (saw five Tucan's in the trees near the water slide), BUT the food is terrible. The fruit on the breakfast bar was not ripe and I got sick from eating tuna. I complained to the front desk since the manager was not in - no one ever followed-up with me. If you do not have a car, you are stuck eating at the hotel unless you want to pay $40 roundtrip to go to La Fortuna. For the amount of money ($18 per person for breaksfast bar and I only ate a bowl of oatmeal), the quality should be much higher. Overall, I enjoyed the hot springs and the comfortable bed, but I will not go back.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just completed a 6-night stay in the Orapendola Suite with our twin teenage boys. The Springs is a magnificant property, lushly landscaped and impeccably maintained. The property is immaculate and we constantly noticed housekeepers sweeping, wiping and polishing in the common areas.
The attention to the room was nothing short of phenomenal. I am a stickler for cleanliness when I travel and this room was one of the cleanest I have ever stayed in. Everything was spotless right down to the patio furniture which was obviously cleaned and shined daily. Bougainvilla and hummingbird feeders adorned our balconies, all with a view of the volcano. Each day we returned to our room to find fresh bouquets of tropical flowers and towels folded into animals sprinkled with fresh flower petals adorning the beds. My only complaint in the room was that both sinks were extremely slow draining and they were unable to remedy this. Also, the walls are indeed thin and we could hear the families in the adjoining rooms. Otherwise, the room was beautiful, comfortable and cozy, with a full stocked minibar and refrigerator.
We were concerned about the food after reading some of the reviews but we were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was - quite good actually. The average dinner for the 4 of us ran a bit over $100 USD including tax (about 13%) and tip.
Hotel staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. Spa services (massage) were outstanding.
We give The Springs high marks all around - a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have a great view of the volcano. However, there are no elevators so you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
1.1 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,427 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,559 reviews
1.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#13 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Corin
Hotel Royal Corin
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#4 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A World Class Luxury Resort featuring Spectacular Hot Springs, Picture Perfect Views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and Four Restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 28 mineral laden, artesian Hot Springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. All of our amenities make The Springs Luxury Resort & Spa a great destination for Costa Rica vacations, weddings, or a honeymoon. Our 27,000 square feet of event, convention and meeting space have also made us the leading Costa Rica conference hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.