We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice half day trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palo Verde Boat Tours

Palo Verde Boat Tours
Costa Rica
(506) 2651-80-01
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Boat Tours
Attraction Details
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice half day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I did the half day tour through Swiss Travel at the Hilton Papagayo. Our guide was very good, we enjoyed the sugar cane plantation we stopped at along the way and the boat tour was a lot of fun. We saw lots of crocodiles, iguanas, white faced monkeys, and birds. I would definitely recommend this tour, it was very well organized and informative.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    24
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Stream, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Enough crocs to satisfy anyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This boat trip on the Palo Verde is great. You slowly cruise down the river with the current while your guide points out various plants and animals of interest. Of course, the greatest interest is in the crocodiles, Howler Monkeys and the White Faced Capuchin Monkeys. All of which we saw (lots of crocs). There were lizards and birds aplenty as well. We had a wonderful time and brought home great memories and lots of pictures.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you have an SUV, would definitely recommend meeting the staff person at the JSM gas station in Filadelphia and following him in for 20 minutes to the office/meeting place. It was super easy to do and saved up a lot of money. The cost was only $48 each person (or $58 with lunch) and they gave our family of five a $20 discount (total) for paying with cash. This is about half the price we would have paid with a tour operator who drove us in. And the drive was just part of the adventure.

Once you get the restaurant, you are able to use the restroom and pay for the tour. Then you follow the guide another mile or so into the actual national park. From there we boarded a boat and took a 2 hour ride up and down the river. It was nearly high tide so we didn't see a lot of crocodiles, but still did see a few. We also saw both howler and capuchin monkeys, bats sleeping on a tree, several storks and herons, plus many iguanas. If you are hoping to see bright and colorful tropical birds, I don't think this is the right tour for you. It's possible to see a macaw, but pretty rare apparently. It was a very interesting view of Costa Rica from the river and we're happy we did it. Our guide spoke wonderful English and he and the boat captain were excellent at spotting wildlife that we would never have noticed.

Back at the restaurant they seated us by family and served a family style meal which was the best meal we had on our entire 10 day trip. It's made by locals in a traditional looking kitchen with large clay pots over flames. Truly delicious!

We drove on our own from here to Guitil, the pottery town. It was easy to do and took only about 15 minutes. Would highly recommend this as you are so close to it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great half day trip to see wildlife in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We booked through costaricaforeveryone.com and had a great experience that included the boat trip and then a lunch at a restaurant closed to the public and included only with the tours, so pretty private.
The boat trip was safe, just the right length and well worth it. We saw monkeys, many incredible birds, bats, and crocodiles. The guides were great about making sure you saw everything as you passed and pointing everything out with specific details about the animals.
Great way to experience the wildlife.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip and lots to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a great tour to Palo Verde National Park and the Tempisque River , where we saw plenty of capuchin monkeys that climbed into our boat and they are so cute to watch .When the water level is lower, you see plenty of crocodiles , one was 15 feet long and had a damaged nose and one eye, after a fight he had with another crocodile. We saw howler monkeys and a great variety of birds . We took hundreds of pictures and had a wonderful time.
The tour we booked (in Flamingo Beach ) , picked us up and took us back home. There was a fabulous lunch included , with plenty of food , in a little place in the middle of nowhere.
I highly recommend this trip.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palo Verde Boat Tours also viewed

Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
 
Area de Conservacion Guanacaste, Province of Guanacaste
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
 

Been to Palo Verde Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palo Verde Boat Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Palo Verde Boat Tours to your Saves list