We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Piuri

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Province of Guanacaste
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Piuri
Save
You added Cabinas Piuri to your Saves list
Rio Celeste | near Tenorio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed at Piuri one night after a very long day. We hiked up the mountain all the way from the town of Rio Celeste (4km straight up) with our packs. When we got to piuri we thought the price of $55 for 3 of us was pretty steep considering we had just payed 8 bucks a piece the night before in La Fortuna but the location was unbeatable. You have a great view from the property, you can see for miles on a clear day and can even see arenal (I think). The room was large and rather clean, hot water was definitely a loose term but overall the room was nice. The best part about the place was its location right on the river. It was so convenient to be able to walk down there and swim for a little and considering we were the only guests there we had the whole place to ourselves. Breakfast was good, just your typical tico breakfast. Location to the park was great, an easy walk less than a km. It is definitely easier to get to piuri from the bijagua side. Overall great place, I expect it and all of rio celeste to blow up in popularity the next 10 years

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Samara
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

At the end of the road, this is a nice place to relax, away from it all. It is rustic, and that is what we were looking for. A small, quaint hotel with very nice owners. Large rooms with three comfortable queen beds. Also a small refrigerator. The room also came with candles, just in case. My two grandsons and I visited for a delayed Kid’s Day vacation away from the beach. The best part was the closeness to the magnificent sky-blue river. There is a rock in the middle that is perfect for photos.

The grounds are well maintained with a path to several small pools on the trail to the river. Once you get there, you too will be enchanted.

Another great asset is the closeness to the park entrance. The entrance is a good 20 minute drive on a dirt road from the town of Biagua. It is an easy trip to the park and back to the hotel.
We got there early before the crowd!

The three of us agree that this is a place we will return to next year.

Muchísimo gracias!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

we didnt book in advance and trusted once more lonely planet. alexander showed us the rooms and the prices. we were pretty surprised that we could rent a room with breakfast for 40.-.
we just went swimming in the famous river which is only 50 meters to walk. the host was realy great and we felt very home for that short time. i can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent 3 nights in "the egg" which is a really unique acommodation! Of course, it doesn't offer 5-star-luxury but the location is priceless. The owners are lovely and very helpful, they serve delicious costarican breakfast and dinner and the sourroundings are beautiful with direct access to the blue Rio celeste.
I definitely recommend this place!

Cornelia from Germany

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Service was exceptional, including house keeping and meals, friendly staff. Our room with three beds and a bath was very clean with hot water in the shower. Located east of Bijagua on a very rough unpaved road Cabinas Piuri is worth the extra effort because of the close proximity to Tenorio NP and the beautiful atmosphere of the hostel itself. We enjoyed the tranquility of the river and the amazing variety of flora and fauna.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The ordeal of getting to Tenorio National Park is worth it for the stunning scenery especially the azure Rio Celeste. But then we saw our room and we flipped. We stayed in the Egg for 1 night--the photos probably do not do it justice, but it is an oval Yurt-type structure with amazing hand-crafted wood fixtures, hand-painted terra cotta and wood mosaics on the walls, and an indoor fountain that serves as natural air cooling system. We got the egg by happenstance perhaps because there was no one else staying in the cabinas. There are also regular run-of-the-mill cabins just down the hill, so you would have to ask to make sure the egg is available. I wonder why no other reviewers have mentioned it. Perhaps it is new, or not always available. We paid $10 extra for dinner--fish/potato stew with black beans and rice, and plaintains) which was excellent as well. Breakfast included.

Walk about 30 yards from the rooms and you are in your own private paradise: assorted swimming/soaking pools and water falls surrounded by palms and flowers, a little further and you are on the bank of Rio Celeste in a slow part where it would be possible to swim--although pretty cold!
Cabinas Piuri do not have a website, we arranged by having our other hotel call ahead for us. You will need transport or a 4-wheel drive to get up the several miles long gravel access road to the entrance of Tenorio National Park. It is worth the trip!

We combined our visit with a guided 6-hour hike through Tenorio--arranged transport in La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Ask if egg is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Cabinas Piuri :
- we were able to swim each evening in the Rio Celeste and watch birds early in the morning.
- our hosts were really kind and welcoming. Their casados were very good.
- being next to Tenorio NP was enjoyable for we started our walk early and saw toucans, monkeys and lots of birds .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cabinas Piuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Piuri

Address: Rio Celeste | near Tenorio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 230 Specialty Lodging in Province of Guanacaste
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cabinas Piuri Costa Rica/Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Piuri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.