We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue river beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Piuri

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Province of Guanacaste
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Piuri
Save
You added Cabinas Piuri to your Saves list
Rio Celeste | near Tenorio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Blue river beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Service was exceptional, including house keeping and meals, friendly staff. Our room with three beds and a bath was very clean with hot water in the shower. Located east of Bijagua on a very rough unpaved road Cabinas Piuri is worth the extra effort because of the close proximity to Tenorio NP and the beautiful atmosphere of the hostel itself. We enjoyed the tranquility of the river and the amazing variety of flora and fauna.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The ordeal of getting to Tenorio National Park is worth it for the stunning scenery especially the azure Rio Celeste. But then we saw our room and we flipped. We stayed in the Egg for 1 night--the photos probably do not do it justice, but it is an oval Yurt-type structure with amazing hand-crafted wood fixtures, hand-painted terra cotta and wood mosaics on the walls, and an indoor fountain that serves as natural air cooling system. We got the egg by happenstance perhaps because there was no one else staying in the cabinas. There are also regular run-of-the-mill cabins just down the hill, so you would have to ask to make sure the egg is available. I wonder why no other reviewers have mentioned it. Perhaps it is new, or not always available. We paid $10 extra for dinner--fish/potato stew with black beans and rice, and plaintains) which was excellent as well. Breakfast included.

Walk about 30 yards from the rooms and you are in your own private paradise: assorted swimming/soaking pools and water falls surrounded by palms and flowers, a little further and you are on the bank of Rio Celeste in a slow part where it would be possible to swim--although pretty cold!
Cabinas Piuri do not have a website, we arranged by having our other hotel call ahead for us. You will need transport or a 4-wheel drive to get up the several miles long gravel access road to the entrance of Tenorio National Park. It is worth the trip!

We combined our visit with a guided 6-hour hike through Tenorio--arranged transport in La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Ask if egg is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Cabinas Piuri :
- we were able to swim each evening in the Rio Celeste and watch birds early in the morning.
- our hosts were really kind and welcoming. Their casados were very good.
- being next to Tenorio NP was enjoyable for we started our walk early and saw toucans, monkeys and lots of birds .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern new mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We had a short sojourn at Cabinas Piuri during February 2012. Our accommodation was a large room (2 large beds (one a King size), eating/sitting area) with a private bath. Spacious and airy and in the clouds. There were a couple other accommodations in the same building, all in a row, all with outside entrances, all with good windows. We ate delicoius meals prepared by the husband/wife owners, who are gracious, helpful and knowledgeable. As in so many places this far off the mainstream tourist routes, a bit of Spanish is helpful.
We hiked (most of it just a walk, really) to the beautiful waterfall in the Tenorio Volcano National Park, the entrance for which is just a couple of minutes down the road.
The locally famous Rio Celeste, its truly-blue water, is just down the hill from the cabins, and several lovely pools have been created in the along the way.
We're an older couple, both in our 60s, and found the Cabinas Piuri to be a wonderful place to do some "mild exploring". We'd go back, for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My girlfriend and I spent two nights in these wonderful cabinas.

Not only is it a great place to be if you want to leave early to visit Tenorio National Park, but it is awesome in its own to relax and enjoy the Rio Celeste.

The river is flowing right behind the cabinas. After only a minute's walk, you can enjoy swimming in the ice-cold and perfectly blue water (great to wake up in the morning).

The cabinas themselves are very spacious and extremely clean. It was also very quiet, which was great to catch some sleep.

The hosts were some of the greatest and kindest people we met in Costa Rica. They cooked incredibly well (do not miss that!). It is not a light thing to say, but the best casado I ate during my 28 days-trip (which makes at least 40 casados) was there. I really wish I could go back !

Also, the hosts took the time to talk to us (even if my spanish was quite primitive) and taught us a good few words (Pepino!!!) and in turn, we taught them a few words in French (Concombre!). They were very kind and really made an effort to be great hosts.

I hope I'll be able to go back one day, as this was undoubtedly among the two best cabinas we stayed in while in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We have found this place through Lonely planet and decided to give it a try. We were welcomed by a very nice costarican family and guided to our room. The rooms are very big, with two beds inside, one queen size and one king size. Under the cabinas (1 min walk) is the most beautiful river I have seen, THE RIO CELESTE, with its milky blue color. The family also made 3 small natural pools were you can have a dip if you do not feel comfortable to jump into the river itself. We did both. We trully loved it. The family also invites you for a very nice traditional dinner (very tasty) and the same for breakfast. We paid almost nothing for the service we got.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Province of Guanacaste
0.0 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#2 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casitas Tenorio
Casitas Tenorio
#2 of 6 in Bijagua de Upala
5.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Rio Celeste
Posada Rio Celeste
#3 of 6 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste
B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste
#1 of 6 in Bijagua de Upala
5.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Piuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Piuri

Address: Rio Celeste | near Tenorio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 235 Specialty Lodging in Province of Guanacaste
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cabinas Piuri Costa Rica/Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Piuri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.