We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandwich with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe y Macadamia

Cafe y Macadamia
Km 18 Tilaran-Fortuna | Lago Arenal, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Twillingate, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sandwich with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

By far one of the best sandwiches I have ever eaten. They gave out complimentary samples of their macadamia nuts. Truly amazing taste (and I'm really not a huge nut lover). On top of this there is an amazing view from their patio. 5 stars all the way around!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    121
    23
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Costa Rica with Amazing Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

WOW! We decided to stop at this place without knowing anything about it on our way to Montverde and it was BY FAR the best meal I had in CR!!! The Sandwiches were out of this world and the owner was super cool! I told him that if he would put this place in NYC it would be JAM PACKED and he said he was thinking of starting out in San Jose first. What an amazing experience if you are driving by you SHOULD NOT miss this place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches on the planet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

You will not find a better chicken sandwich anywhere! Everything, including the bread, is so fresh.

My sons had salads and they were also terrific. We each had dessert and it was excellent as well. I cannot say enough about this restaurant. Don't skip this place if you are in the area.

The smoothies are outstanding and the views are extraordinary!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best food of our Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our friend suggested that stop here for lunch on our way to Arena. We could not have imagined how wonderful this restaurant could be! Our friend had told us the sandwiches were really good, and I wondered "how good could sandwiches be?". In fact, they were incredibly delicious - the bread was fabulous. I wish that Vancouver, Canada had a restaurant with food like this! The chocolate drink was so pretty that we took photos of it and it was amazingly delicious. The iced tea was unlike anything we've ever had. And the desserts looked so good that we bought some to eat later. I would love their recipe for their shortbread/pineapple cookies. The owner was extremely hospitable. Even though the view from the restaurant was breathtaking, it was the FOOD and the ambiance that wowed us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Arguably the best meal we had in costa rica. FANTASTIC sandwiches on fresh baked bread, really super fresh ingredients, delicious smoothies, and a wonderful view of the lake. If you are driving around the lake, STOP HERE!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe y Macadamia also viewed

Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Avellanas, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste

Been to Cafe y Macadamia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe y Macadamia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.