We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tour Guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GeckoTico

GeckoTico
Sardinal | Hotel Riu Guanacaste , Playa Matapalo, Costa Rica
(506) 83118546
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
california
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

While staying at RIU Guanacaste we found Huere at the beach. He was not pushy, very personable, and customized two tours for us. River boat, lunch, and playa de coco one day and ATV, Horseback riding, mud bath, natural sauna, lunch, and massage for the second day. He gave us crazy Alex for our guide.
The tours were incredible. Alex is the best guide ever! He gave us history of the area as well as names of towns, trees, plants, birds. He showed us medicinal plants as well as the love tree. Whenever he would spot something interesting while driving, he would pull over so we could take pictures. We had the best lunch meals at both restaurants he took us to. Everything was made fresh and natural. He surprised me with a birthday cake at the Borinquen resort. That is over and above anything I've ever received.
Look for the green shirt on the beach. Ask for Crazy Alex for your guide.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible tour that was the highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Our family did the adventure tour with zip lines, horseback riding, hike to the waterfall, sauna and mud baths and lunch! Meet Roberto at the Riu Guanacaste beach (lime green shirts) and he'll set you up for your perfect tour. We had Crazy Alex lead our private tour and he made a great excursion even more amazing. His humor and knowledge made it even more fun. He took tons pictures with our cameras and became a part of our "familia". There's a reason why every review is five stars for GeckoTico... They genuinely want you to fall in love with their country and love what they do. Our kids loved the entire excursion! Bring the whole family!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pura Vida!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We just returned from an amazing trip to the Riu Guanacaste and met Roberto and his team down at the beach....we did two amazing tours with Gecko Tico! We did the 4 hour ATV tour with Fabian and the zip lining and Monkey Park with Roberto's brother and they both were private yours and amazing.....I highly recommend them, they did exactly what they said and showed us a great time!
Go Costa Rica......Ticos!!!!!
Greg, Kim and Madi

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sportfishing with GeckoTico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were staying at the RIU Guancaste resort and each morning, my husband would "practice" his Spanish on the beach with the various vendors selling trips and excursions. He quickly met Roberto, GeckoTico's owner and a great guy. With perfect English, we convinced my husband and sons to rent a boat for a half-day of sport fishing. We left at 7 a.m. on morning (Roberto suggested 6 am, but we were lazy) and had a great time. Smooth water, two highly competent fishing guides and delicious pineapple! The fishing was a bit slow...it's always a dice roll, but one son caught a mahi mahi and one caught a barracuda. Although we passed through a large school of black tuna, they're weren't having any of what we offered. We also saw turtles and lots of birds.

It was great! While we were on the boat, our guide filleted the mahi mahi and suggested we take it to the resort chef. We did, getting half ceviche and half grilled fish. The presentation was amazing and capped off a very fun morning.

NOTE: Take cash for tips. These guys deserve them!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best. Day. Of Vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We hooked up with GeckoTico's guy on the beach outside of our hotel Riu Palace, Guanacaste. Due to the awesome drinks served on the beach, I am at a loss on his name, BUT he will be in a green polo shirt and when he shakes you hand he will snap his fingers. Great guy, low pressure, and informed us well on our trip options. We got back to him the next day and booked the Mega combo at Buena Vista lodge. We met Alex at 6:30 in the lobby where he ushered us to a super clean van. Alex began educating us the moment we left the resort. Great information, great stories. The tour was great with lots to see and do. Alex took our camera and got great shots of us zip lining, at the waterfall, and on the slide. Great buffet lunch. Incredible views all over the place. Alex took us to places to get all of the stuff we wanted to take home, coffee, presents, ect.
Can't say enough good stuff about Alex and Gecko Tico tours. The drive was totally worth the excitement and fun we had.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geckoticotours, Owner at GeckoTico, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Good morning I am Roberto . Thanks for your comment. For us it is very important these reviews. Thank you. Pura vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GeckoTico also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Tenorio Volcano National Park, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to GeckoTico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GeckoTico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.