We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They canceled our pre-paid reservation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pacuare Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pacuare Lodge to your Saves list
Pacuare Lodge
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Pacuare River, Turrialba 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Turrialba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“They canceled our pre-paid reservation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

Be careful of this hotel.

We made reservations 6 weeks in advance. Two days before we were supposed to arrive, they canceled our reservation! No accommodations were made!

turns out they had a larger group coming who needed our room in order to book. So they threw us out!

I'd book somewhere else and save the stress.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    16
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
62
233
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

The 2 day rafting trip and our night in the Pacuare Lodge was by far the hightlight of our Costa Rica trip. The Lodge is beautiful, well designed and maintained. The food was delicious and well prepared. Our guide had over 12 years experience of rafting the Pacuare so we always felt safe. I highly recommend both the rafting trip and a stay at the lodge.

  • Liked — the amazing room and great rafting
  • Disliked — the safes in the rooms are a little tricky to use
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2007

Rafting into a beautiful river front lodge with no electricity, gourmet meals served and very helpful and adventorous guides was amazing.

We stayed two nights at the Honeymoon suite. This is amazing and you have the ultimate privacy up the side of the mountain (yes you have to walk up alot of stairs). You have your own canopy to sit in and small outdoor gazebo. However, the huts along the river are great and even have a better bathroom and shower than the honeymoon suite. Next time we would stay in the hut closest to the river.

The food is amazing. We did not do the canopy tour since we had just done that in Arenal, but we made some friends who did and everyone loved it. We did do the half day hike to three waterfalls with our guide and it was amazing. The rafting into the lodge is not difficult, and we stopped at a waterfall and hiked up it where our guide Carlos used some of the colored rocks to paint everyones faces. It was alot of fun.

The rafting out is pure adrenaline as there were 4 class IV rapids, and we did lose people out of the raft on a couple of occasions. Nobody was hurt and the safety kayak did his stuff.

We did tip the guide after we got to the exit area. Not sure of the 'rules' here, but I think it is appropriate.

What a great time and the rafting is amazing. get the pics at the end sa we are glad that we did.

We saw alot of birds, a sloth (see pic) but no monkeys (they are no longer in the area)

  • Liked — The lodge, romoteness, rafting and food
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2006

We did the 2 day/1 night rafting trip to the Pacuare Lodge in May 2006. We had an excellent guide (Marco) who impressed us with his attention to safety and helped us to enjoy the trip. The rafting is exhilerating and the scenery is spectacular-- a real rainforest adventure!

The Pacuare Lodge is very comfortable. We had a beautiful cabin with a King bed (good mattress and fresh white linens) and an excellent bathroom (flush toilet and solar powered shower). The food is delicious and there was plenty of it-- thank Henri!

The other guests ranged in age from 19 to 49. No prior rafting experience is required.

Pacuare Lodge offers great rafting and chance to see an amazing part of Costa Rica. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2006

Adventuras Naturales operates the Pacuare Lodge and its various river excursions. We chose and highly recommend the 3 Day Pacuare River Adventure (class III & IV rapids) as it affords ample opportunity to raft, hike into the rainforest and have some "down" time.

This was a "Seamless" experience from start to finish. Expert guides (Kurt was ours...top notch...and my favorite...he saved me from plunging into the rapids. See the photos!)Very comfortable accomodations....linens and orthopedic beds!(No electricity in the huts...did we miss it??!!!...no way!!!...(flash lights were provided..you might want to bring one of your own... as well as candels) Gourmet food at every meal!....Imagine that!!...and being from New York we are VERY particular about food.

Kurt knew the river like the back of his hand and imparted his knowledge during "smooth" sailing through the twists and turns of this amazingly beautiful river....one of the top 5 white water
rivers in the world!

Don't miss the opportunity to hike up the mountain to see "The Indigenous Medicine Man"....about 5 hours round trip...but worth it to get to spend some time to see how they live and for questions and answers. Once again, Kurt was our guide. His knowlege of the flora and fauna of the rainforest is staggering.

This was my first rafting experience and beleive me...I had some trepidations about it prior to our trip. Well....guess what????!!! The Pacuare was the best part of my 10 day vaca to Costa Rica. Thanks to Adventuras Naturales, their staff, guides and chef at the lodge! Kudos to all at the Pacuare Lodge! If you've rafted before....do the Pacuare Lodge for the ultimate experience...if you've never rafted....go for it with the crew at the Pacuare Lodge. I'm glad I did!

We were told that the power authority in Costa Rica, ICE, is attempting to damn the Pacuare to harness electricity from it. Costa Rica already has a surplus of electricity which it exports. This is an outrage, as the Pacuare runs through Primary and Secondary Rain Forest and much of the land belongs to the Indigenous People that still inhabit it.

If ICE is successful, the Pacuare as we know it will cease to be. Once again the enviroment will be sacrificed for the almighty dollar. Those that sustain their livliehoods from the Pacuare will face hardship. Tourism and businesses will be impacted which will have a domino effect on other industries.

Once on the Pacuare River, you will understand my outrage. Take action. Contact environtmental protection agencies. One person can make a difference.


Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2006

A trip down the Pacuare will likely be the highlight of your trip to Costa Rica. Be Absolutely sure to do the 3 day (2 night)package for $359 per person. The Pacuare is rated as one of the top 5 rivers in the WORLD!
The day trip of nearly 18 miles is just too much and the one night 2 day trip allows no "Down" time (Something that you'll really need in Costa Rica!) Be sure to do the 4-5hr hike to see the indigenous peoples on top of the ridge. Carol and Chucks river and hiking guide was Curt Studz. This person was top notch! Oh, the food and accomodations were 4 out 5 stars as well!
CHECK OUT OUR PICTURES ON THE RIVER AND WATERFALL!!!

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2005

This is a great place. We had the honeymoon suite even though it wasn't our honeymoon and that was definitely worth the extra money. You get your own private suspension bridge to a tree platform. You do have to walk about 5 minutes up a hill to get to the suite, but worth it.
No electricity, but they provide candles and flashlights. The staff was excellent. We stayed one night after rafting, but met some others who stayed an extra day and hikes to waterfalls and relaxed. We did the canopy tour which was thrilling. It is more of a ride than a tour, but we loved it and it felt safe. The Aventuras Naturales raft trip was also top notch. My husband is a former raft-guide and agreed that the professionalism was outstanding.
The food at the lodge was also great. We saw toucans and several other birds on the property. But the butterflies were particularly beautiful. The big blue morphos.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacuare Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacuare Lodge

Address: Pacuare River, Turrialba 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Turrialba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacuare Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to the Pacuare Lodge is a journey to a magical place where the beauty and diversity of tropical nature delight the senses, authentic Costa Rican hospitality makes you feel like part of the family and the outdoor adventures range from exhilarating to sublime. The lodges comfortable bungalows and elegant suites are nestled between a pristine wilderness reserve and the Pacuare River Costa Rica`s most spectacular white water route. It is surrounded by tropical rainforest where colorful birds and butterflies flit through exuberant foliage and the songs of toucans and oropendolas complement the soothing sound of flowing water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pacuare Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacuare Hotel Turrialba
Pacuare Lodge Costa Rica/Turrialba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacuare Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.