We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure, luxury and fine dining in the heart of the rainforest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacuare Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pacuare Lodge to your Saves list
Pacuare Lodge
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Pacuare River, Turrialba 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Turrialba B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Adventure, luxury and fine dining in the heart of the rainforest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Incredible arriving by White Water raft through primary forest. Gorgeous setting nestled besides the river. First class service, staff bending over backwards to help make my stay spectacular, incredible food, stunning rooms up close and personal with nature at her finest. We enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast banquet on top of a tree in The Nest - spectacular experience. Jorge our guide was stupendous - so professional and knowledgeable about the river and all activities on water and land. Jorge guided me on a personal hike to meet the Cabecar Indians which was a big highlight of my life. Loved every minute of my stay .... thank you fabulous staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    15
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
53
218
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We want to keep this lodge and the fantastic staff a secret. We rafted in and stayed three nights in a jungle view room. An incredible experience! The grounds were beautiful with toucans and blue morpho butterflies galore. The food was outstanding … and always tastes better served by candlelight.

We loved the staff who got to know everyone by name. They were friendly, upbeat, helpful and just truly seemed glad to have you as guests. Many of them live in nearby villages and their English is very good (much better than our Spanish). Their mood was contagious as all the guests were friendly, relaxed and enjoying the moment.

We took advantage of a canopy tour and hiking with a guide to waterfalls. Using a gloved hand as a break on the canopy tour was different than we are used to, but once you get the hang of it…not so bad.

This location won’t be for everyone. There is no electricity in the rooms, which was part of the appeal for us. We were there just at the start of the “green” season so a bit of rain, but in exchange there were less than a couple dozen guests at any given time. The river was low that time of year, but the rafting was still great.

You have to pack light when you raft in, but that’s no problem. You really don’t need anything but clothes and a camera once you arrive. Beautiful and amazing experience. We can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Words cannot express the beauty of this magical spot! Such an incredible way to immerse yourself into nature, but with comfort!
Every aspect of this journey was exciting, thoughtful, beautiful, and professional.

Whitewater rafting: we had never done this before. It was a good time of year for the water was shallow and gentle. I of course fell out of our raft but was not a big deal. They gave very good instruction. If you are afraid of rafting, TIP: they can drive you in and out!

The Grounds: are tropical, dreamy, and excellently well maintained.

Our Room: We had a Riverside suite, Tamandua it was so visually beautiful , the sights & sounds of the river were exquisite.

The Staff: felt like a warm family inviting you into their home. Highly profession but with a casualness and calmness that just made you love them all!

Meals: All of our meals were delicious and filling!

The only thing that could have been improved for us would have been more privacy in our room. We could not use the outdoor shower unless we had clothes on! Our neighbors had a clear sight line. We had suites on both sides so walking around did require clothing and/or constant curtain pulling... not a big deal maybe just a few more plants in between suites would have fixed it.

Recommendations:
Read the Luggage instructions in the Q&A section on their website. Restricted weight. The rest they leave in their warehouse which is very secure.

Tipping: Everyone seemed a little confused on how to tip. I suggest leaving a "group" tip, then separate ones for your extracurricular activities and special people. Our special person was Carlos.He made us feel so very well taken care of.

Breakfast or Lunch in the Nest is the way to go i!

The Pacuare Lodge is worth every single penny you spend. I will never forget this experience.

Last but not least, you don't have to be on a honeymoon to have this!

Room Tip: I would inquire about which suites are the most private if that is something you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Pacuare Lodge is extremely unique. No glass windows, only screens. No electricity, only candles. Outdoor shower. Great experience to shower in the rain! Hammock on your front deck, mosquito netting on your bed. Total privacy because each unit is separate and shielded by vegetation. The only access is by raft (or 4-wheel drive to a point, then cable across the river to walk to the lodge), where we were greeted by the staff waiting for us with a cold tropical drink and a much appreciated cold towel. The most friendly staff ever, and multi-talented. Our raft guide became our waiter, and later a waiter was our zip-line guide. Everyone is more than willing to tell you about the local flora and fauna, or anything else you would like to know. You are in the middle of the rain forest and treated to luxury. I cannot recommend a place any higher than I recommend the Pacuare Lodge, you will totally love it !!

Room Tip: We (daughter and I) were in a river view room, but walking through the complex we couldn't pictu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We have recently returned from our honeymoon in Costa Rica. We stayed at the Pacuare Lodge at the start of the trip and it was absolutely amazing. We did the 2 nights package, which involved rafting in and out of the lodge, 2 nights in the river suite and all meals.
This is such an amazing place to stay. There is no electricity in the bungalows (there is electricity and internet at the office) so it was torches and candlelight after sunset which was very relaxing and romantic. The whole place is just fantastic and the staff are all so friendly and accommodating. The rafting was great fun, and they put all our luggage in waterproof bags so nothing got wet at all. One lady even had her wedding dress arrive safe and dry on the rafts. The food was stunning, the massage I had at the spa was the best one I've ever had, and we did the hike to the waterfall which we enjoyed.
Overall we can't recommend going to the Pacuare Lodge enough. We are so pleased that we went as it was an amazing beautiful experience. A special mention again to the staff that made it such a great trip. If you want to go to the middle of the rainforest and go back to basics, this is definitely the best and most luxurious place to do it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Pacuare is absolutely romantic, you are in the middle of the jungle with up most luxury and the best service. Food is incredible, a must go! It might seem expensive but once you are there you know every penny is well spent and you feel good because you actually take part in their ecological program.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here for 4-days (3-nights) in April 2014. Overall I think this was an excellent resort. We came in by raft (as most people will), and while the river was a tiny bit low, it was still a great time. Our guide knew all the locals bird and was very helpful and knowledgable.

We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite at the lodge which was gorgeous. Very nice private pool (but quite cold since it's spring-fed), and fantastic sitting area and bathroom. The entire thing feels very much "in the jungle", though we had very little problem with any kinds of bugs, which was something I was a bit worried about.

We were very impressed by the quality of the food. I didn't have high expectations since everything has to be rafted in (one would think this would limit their options), but the meals were very unique and quite delicious. The only note I would make is that their "done-ness" for meats is about one degree shifted from what I'm used to. We ordered a steak medium-rare that would be a medium anywhere back home. Likewise we had a "rare" Ahi tuna steak that was cooked far too much.

Obviously this is not a budget travel destination, but the scenery and luxury in the jungle make it worth it. I can really only think of one draw-back, which was the surprisingly small amount of wildlife we saw. There were several kinds of birds around consistently (Tucans and Oro Pendula Montezuma chief among them), but not many other animals. You could consistently hear howler monkeys across the river, but we only saw one and it was from quite a distance. If you really want to get the immersive wildlife experience you might couple this trip with a journey to some other part of the country.

Also worth noting that we're not usually the type to "make friends" on trips, but everyone we met at the lodge was really nice and we enjoyed chatting with quite a few. I think the age limit helped with that (they do not allow children under 12 I believe).

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite was great. Very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacuare Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacuare Lodge

Address: Pacuare River, Turrialba 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Turrialba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacuare Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to the Pacuare Lodge is a journey to a magical place where the beauty and diversity of tropical nature delight the senses, authentic Costa Rican hospitality makes you feel like part of the family and the outdoor adventures range from exhilarating to sublime. The lodges comfortable bungalows and elegant suites are nestled between a pristine wilderness reserve and the Pacuare River Costa Rica`s most spectacular white water route. It is surrounded by tropical rainforest where colorful birds and butterflies flit through exuberant foliage and the songs of toucans and oropendolas complement the soothing sound of flowing water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Pacuare Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacuare Hotel Turrialba
Pacuare Lodge Costa Rica/Turrialba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacuare Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.