We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much for what you get” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wagelia Turrialba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wagelia Turrialba to your Saves list
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Turrialba centro, Turrialba 997150, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Turrialba
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Too much for what you get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Paid $55 for a room with smelly blanket, poor breakfast, very noisy (from staff shouting in the corridor) and other guests. Curtains did not close completely, lacking privacy. Cannot find anything positive to say, except it is in the center, close to amenities, and front desk staff were friendly.

Room Tip: If you want wifi, be closer to reception, but bring ear plugs, because it is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
7
11
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Parking is very limited and tough to get in and out, but the hotel was perfect for us. Food at the restaurant was very good with a great breakfast included in the price of the room. The hotel is on a busy street that gets noisy at about 5am. get a room as far away from the check in desk as possible. Great location in downtown Turrialba. Staff is super friendly and spoke some english. For an affordable hotel, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: As far away from the check-in counter as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples fl
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We wanted to be in town and this hotel was a good choice. It was convenient, clean, and breakfast was good. The town is busy and sometimes we heard street noise. Ask for a room near the back.

The courtyard interior set up is charming. But Watch the ramp and steps - it is easy to fall as the edges are not clearly marked.

Room Tip: Away from the front. 121 was about as quiet as we could get
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My little group of five decided to stay at the Wagelia because we wanted to be in the center of Turrialba rather than up in a pretty, quiet, secluded resort hotel outside of town. I was concerned about the noise levels (the hotel is on a busy street) and the lack of A/C, but neither was a problem (after I switched rooms from the first one, nearest the street, to one a bit farther back). We liked being able to just walk out the door and cruise through the little, friendly town, checking out the shops and the people.
The staff was terrific, the breakfasts (included in the price, as is usually the case in CR) were plentiful and delicious, there's a nice little bar where we watched the Giants make the playoffs whilst drinking a cool Imperial beer.
Note: One thing first-time visitors to Costa Rica will find if they choose to stay in non-posh places is that beds are (generally) much harder than in the US! At this hotel and two others on our journey, the bed consisted of a wooden platform topped by a foam mattress, maybe 5 inches thick.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turrialba
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at the Wagelia Hotel in Turrialba, Costa Rica. The rooms are very clean, a bit small, but vey centrally located. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the restaurant is also clean and good food to be had. A bit noisy being right in the middle if the town, but so convenient for errands, tours around the area, etc. 3 out of 5 stars....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

This is actually one of Turrialba's best hotels, and the exterior and public spaces are attractive, but they hide very cramped and dated (as in 1970's) rooms. The rate was reasonable, but by no means a bargain. These rooms would be cheaper in Canada or the U.S. The restaurant and bar are attractive, and there is an outdoor seating area. We thought we'd have a few drinks on the patio at happy hour but as it took 40 minutes to get our drinks, we just made the one order and left. Having said that the restaurant was busy and the there seemed to be a shortage of staff. The server did apologize for the delay. Breakfast was decent.

The Turrialba area is likely the best place in the country for whitewater rafting and also a good stopover when travelling from the Pacific to the Caribbean or vice versa. It is also a good place for visits to Volcans Turrialba or Irazu. Otherwise, not much to do in the town itself.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

The Wagelia's best asset is its staff. They are fantastic, among the best we encountered in Costa Rica. The rooms are crowded & simple & clean. The parking is safe. The restaurant is ok, not the greatest... a little strange at times, but the sincere & attentive service made up for it. I wouldn't want to stay here for more than a night on the way from one coast to the other, but it was fine for just that. Our daughter (2 1/2) loved the turtles in the lobby!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Wagelia Turrialba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wagelia Turrialba

Address: Turrialba centro, Turrialba 997150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Turrialba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Wagelia Turrialba 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Wagelia Turrialba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wagelia Turrialba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.