We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory, but just for a night.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wagelia Turrialba

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Turrialba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba
Save Saved
You added Hotel Wagelia Turrialba to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Turrialba centro, Turrialba 997150, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Turrialba
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Satisfactory, but just for a night.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

This is actually one of Turrialba's best hotels, and the exterior and public spaces are attractive, but they hide very cramped and dated (as in 1970's) rooms. The rate was reasonable, but by no means a bargain. These rooms would be cheaper in Canada or the U.S. The restaurant and bar are attractive, and there is an outdoor seating area. We thought we'd have a few drinks on the patio at happy hour but as it took 40 minutes to get our drinks, we just made the one order and left. Having said that the restaurant was busy and the there seemed to be a shortage of staff. The server did apologize for the delay. Breakfast was decent.

The Turrialba area is likely the best place in the country for whitewater rafting and also a good stopover when travelling from the Pacific to the Caribbean or vice versa. It is also a good place for visits to Volcans Turrialba or Irazu. Otherwise, not much to do in the town itself.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
6
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

The Wagelia's best asset is its staff. They are fantastic, among the best we encountered in Costa Rica. The rooms are crowded & simple & clean. The parking is safe. The restaurant is ok, not the greatest... a little strange at times, but the sincere & attentive service made up for it. I wouldn't want to stay here for more than a night on the way from one coast to the other, but it was fine for just that. Our daughter (2 1/2) loved the turtles in the lobby!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

This small hotel right in the town centre is also next to a busy road. Despite getting a room towards the back of the hotel the traffic noise was still noticeable in the morning. Rooms were small and shabby and truly were just a bed for the night!!! It was one in, one out in the bathroom!!! That said it was right in the middle of the town and across the road and to the left is a fantastic pizza place.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

The four of us (kids 5 and 7) stayed at the Wagelia in August 2009. It's a one-story well-kept courtyard building centrally located a couple of blocks from the bus station and across the street from arguably the best bakery/cheese shop in town. Wagelia is simple, clean Costa-Rican style accomodations -- "tipico". No air conditioning, but we didn't need it. Safe, gated parking. Rooms were $60/night for 3 people. Trust me, you can't fit four (even children) in the available beds, so we had to rent two rooms, but at the price it was fair. The streetfront indoor/outdoor restaurant is good food. Breakfast was included, but the prices for other meals are a bit steep. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our kids loved the family of turtles living in the restaurant atrium. We'd go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

I stayed here for six nights as part of my adventure tour package with Serendipity Tours. The hotel has a very friendly staff. The rooms are nothing special, but were clean and comfortable. Housekeeping always did a great job and folded the towel into some sort of neat shape every day. There is a small TV in the room with a few English channels and several Spanish ones. There was no air conditioning, but I never felt it was needed. There is a fan attached to the wall. Daily breakfast is included. You can choose from either a typical Costa Rican breakfast of eggs, rice, beans, fried plantains, and tortillas or an American one of eggs, bacon, fruit, and toast. The hotel also serves dinner, but all I ever tried was a bocadilla which was quite good. They also have a specialty drink that is set on fire and poured between two gravy boats while you throw cinnamon at it. Very fun! The only real negative is that the sink in the bathroom did not have hot water. The shower, however, did have hot water. The hotel is in the heart of the city and only a couple blocks from the town square. There is an excellent restaurant a few doors away serving a lot of great Costa Rican food. (Walk out of the hotel and turn right.) There is also an internet cafe right next door.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — no hot water in bathroom sink
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

The staff at the hotel and in the restaurant is very friendly. In the restaurant they have a bassin with turtles and our daughter (8-years old) enjoyed playing wiht them.The rooms, however, were like old, run down motelrooms and the restaurant is situated next to a very noisy and polluted street. The fan in one of our room did not work and we got an electric shock from a lamp that was out of order. When we reported it, they did not change the lamp - they only put plastic around it. Still it is probably the best hotel in town and a good base for river rafting (which was great).

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

Stayed here many times and love it. People are great and rooms are good. I am the fat, bearded guy sitting at a table on their web site. I hope to be back in Turrialba in February.

One must remember you are not staying at a five star hotel - it is one of the things I love about Turrialba.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wagelia Turrialba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wagelia Turrialba

Address: Turrialba centro, Turrialba 997150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Turrialba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Wagelia Turrialba 2.5*
Also Known As:
Hotel Wagelia Turrialba Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wagelia Turrialba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;