We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Birding and Excellent Accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho Naturalista

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Turrialba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho Naturalista
1 Km este de Tuis de Turrialba | Tayutic, Turrialba 7150, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Turrialba
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Birding and Excellent Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were privileged to stay at Rancho Naturalista for two weeks in October 2012.

The birdwatching opportunities are brilliant with well maintained feeding stations, an excellent network of forest trails and remarkable natural pools where hummingbirds bathe. It was also easy to arrange birding half or full day trips to different habitats.

The birding experience was further enhanced by our local bird guide, Cali, who is extremely helpful, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. He is also very patient!

Our upstairs room was large, comfortable and stylish with patio doors opening out onto the balcony with its superb views. The owners are very friendly, helpful and accessible; going out of their way to ensure that we were happy and had everything we needed. This welcoming attitude was also true of all the staff who worked at the Lodge who provided excellent personal service. Meals were served family style and home-cooked by the chef, Vinicio. They were professionally presented and tasted delicious.

Rancho Naturalista is a wonderful Lodge and we certainly hope to make a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    11
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My second visit here everywhere birds and with mountains surroundings great time 2013 I will visit again..no doubt.... And also the hiking was good for me not too hard so I really hope more travelers will find this almost secret spot and the service was excellent too bad no swimming pool. But who needs one. When they have super qhot showers for after a long walk..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Brought a group of 12 from New York here. The owners, staff and guides could not have been nicer. The feeders were visited by hordes of hummingbirds, the trails were (considering the mountainous location) easy and well maintained, and the meals were excellent. This place has the easiest, best birds of anywhere in Costa Rica. If you want to chase after rare birds, like the Thicket Ant-pitta that our remarkable guides got almost everyone to see, this is the place. If you just want to take a casual stroll in the rainforest, and be astounded by beautiful birds from the patio, this is also the place...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwy, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Only had 2 nights, wish it had been a bit longer. Really relaxed, excellent fresh food, great birding with hummingbird feeders on the balconies buzzing with birds. More great birding on the forest trails, the birds will wake you up -no need for alarms! Allow yourselves at least 3 nights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We were told this would be basic but as birders we wanted to experience it. We were so glad that we did. Our room was amazing, clean, comfortable and with wonderful views. The food was amazing, and the company was excellent.
Lisa, her husband and the guides were very friendly and welcoming and made us very much at home. All the staff were helpful and friendly. Lisa was more than happy for us to sit in her garden (she lives down the road from Rancho) so we could watch the snowcaps.
Harry guided us and he was fantastic. He has an encyclopaedic knowledge of birds and other things and was enthusiatic about sharing his knowledge. Cali was also knowledgeable and pointed lots out to us.
We learnt lots, spotted lots of birds, and also managed to relax and just enjoy where we were.
If you want swimming pools and spas and restaurants then this is not for you, but if you love nature, just want to soak in the countryside, and like to chat with like minded people this is definately a must for your visit.

Room Tip: Room 1 gives good access to humming bird feeders and garden feeders
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My partner and I spent 4 nights at Rancho for birding and photography. It was a wonderfully comfortable lodge. Guides, staff and guests were all friendly and sharing, like family. We ate all meals together - delicious - sharing stories of our day on the trail, bird sightings, past and future explorations. Prices were very reasonable for laundry, cold beverages, bird guides and excursions. Resident bird guides Harry and Cali were excellent, along with Herman, who augments the guiding staff during busy times. Their comaraderie infected everyone with great cheer. Our cabin #7 was lovely, though it didn't really matter, as we spent most of the time ogling hummingbirds at close range from the back deck and balcony, or birding the nearby forest trails and pasture. The trail maps could use some clarification, but a little faith reveals that they aren't too complicated, so go for it! We were lucky enough to spot a Tayra at 9:45 am one morning, and several small lizards on the trails - look down occasionally when birding. Thanks to everyone for making such a memorable birding experience in the great country of Costa Rica.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We just returned from 10 days in Costa Rica, three of them at Rancho Naturalista. We really enjoyed the friendly, dedicated people that work there. We loved the birding, scenery and were able to take a lot of photographs. Cali, our guide, was very personable and very knowledgable. We liked the food and the homey atmosphere. We hope to go again next year.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are more luxurious but we liked the casita on the grounds which we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rancho Naturalista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Naturalista

Also Known As:
Rancho Naturalista Hotel
Rancho Naturalista Turrialba
Rancho Naturalista Hotel Turrialba
Rancho Naturalista Costa Rica/Turrialba
Address: 1 Km este de Tuis de Turrialba | Tayutic, Turrialba 7150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Turrialba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier birding lodge in Costa Rica, Rancho Naturalista is among the finest in Central America. There are plentiful hummingbirds on the large, open upstairs balcony where you can view the distant smoking volcano. Over 430 species of birds have been recorded in the area. You can hike and bird the trails on your own, and excellent guides are available as well. At Rancho Naturalista the atmosphere is warm and relaxed, and the staff are friendly and welcoming. This comfortable lodge is famous for its excellent food, well prepared, and made with the best fresh local ingredients. (All meals are included.) The weather is almost perfect, not too hot and not too cold. Rancho Naturalista is a wonderful getaway for bird watchers, hikers, and nature lovers! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho Naturalista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rancho Naturalista to your Saves list