We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly unique!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Turire

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Turire to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Casa Turire
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Turrialba, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Turrialba
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Truly unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We kayaked right up to the hotel after some whitewater kayaking on the river!
Adorable, one of a kind hotel, with comfortable rooms.
Not the mention the impecible service from the front desk and restaurant staff!!!!
There was a small hiking trail by the hotel, kayaking on the lake, plenty of tropical flowers and citrus trees on the grounds to explore.
If you really want to experience Costa Rica, and not one of those boring all inclusive resorts, this one is for you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    28
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
74
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newington, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This beautiful former plantation is everything a weary traveler could ask for. Small, only 16 rooms including 2 suites, but lacking nothing. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the grounds gorgeous, and the staff attentive and thoughtful. My laundry was returned within hours allowing me the luxury of clean DRY clothes after several days of wet ($5 for 2 shirts and pants!) Morning coffee on our balcony overlooking the lake started the day. A beautiful sunset watched from the poolside veranda with a cocktail capped it off. Excellent food, with produce from the hotels own organic gardens.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous and spacious enough for 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint louis
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here two nights with my family so we could go rafting on the nearby river. I would recommend the hotel for its location but I would only recommend the remodeled suite. We stayed in a nice suite with a remodeled bathroom and nice porch. The interiors are still quite dated but the high ceilings and charm do make up for the 1980s heavy brocade furnishings. My children stayed in a room that was in desperate need of updating. It was small, hot (no A/C) and had a moldy smell. The bathroom was cramped and not well cleaned. I would not be rating the hotel with 4 stars if we had stayed in a room and not a suite.
The service was very good and the food was expensive but well prepared. We stayed out by the pool (that does not have towels available) but we had to share our quiet time with a large group that had come in to eat lunch and go riding. The pool area was clean and nice and the waiter was quick to bring drinks and offer us lunch.
The hotel is charming and had some nice pluses but I would not recommend it for everybody.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Gorgeous property not to be missed.Think of an isolated colonial estate with extensive grounds, great staff, beautiful views, and large well appointed suites. Walk over to the barn and watch the horses being fed in the mourning, eat breakfast by the pool, raft the Pecuare river, or just relax. Jana, the concierge/manager, a transplanted Canadian, was phenomenal! . Besides being an excellent source of local activities, her vast experience with many different parts of Costa Rica, along with her generous gift of time and help, made our vacation,wonderful!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We have very high standards and this distinctive hotel exceeded them. Miraculous how in the middle of a very rustic and mountainous area this hotel could have been in Palm Beach, FL or Santa Barbara, CA for its seeming ease in delivering high quality menu, exquisite service, comfort, safety, and beauty. Concierge service - they delivered two children's bikes to us with one hour's notice (borrowed from a staff member's family!), used a saw to cut down the bike seat on their adult bike to fit more comfortably, brought our discovered sugarcane into the kitchen to be cut for us to bring home, and encouraging and with smiles dealt with our appalling Spanish (their English was fine). We stayed a week and tried every menu item - a few were just okay, but most were fantastic. Horseback riding at hotel (even had double seat for me to ride with my 6 yr old) through coffee and sugarcane fields is a must do. The rescue Macau center across the street with beautiful gardens and about 30 scarlet and green Macaus is a must-see. Pejibaye River whitewater rafting with class I-III rapids are only 20 minutes away - it's a Hollywood-worthy beautiful river and thrilling without fear. Costa Rica Expeditions has the best far and away - true white glove service. The entire atmosphere is that you are in your wealthy family's Costa Rica 'Southfork' estate.

Room Tip: Rooms near trees get a private show of the birds in the canopy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuraVida-HCT, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Turire, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Elaine & Family!
It was so great to meet you have with us for the week!
We very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay so much!
We look forward to your return!
Best wishes,
Jana Daigle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

You drive up the palm tree lined road to The Grand Hacienda and travel back in time. Get a ride on the horse drawn carriage to explore the grounds. The rooms are above expectations while the food is not. You dine in a beautiful room while listening to the blender in the Bar. How loud can a blender be? Very loud!

We stayed in suite 16 and had to move to 15 because our balconey was next to the fan on top of the roof. The kitchen fan was like the blender. Out next suite was better as far as the noise goes but not much. In side of bedroom and bathrooms were A+. I like the candles in the bathroom.
I would stay here again but not in room #s 15 and 16.

Room Tip: Room that are near the roof top fan should be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuraVida-HCT, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Turire, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank very much for the kind words, we have shared with the staff!
We hope to see you soon again at Casa Turire!
Kindly, Jana Daigle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We adored the charming atmosphere of this authentic hotel and the friendly and helpfull manager and staff. We had a lovely suite (it was huge) and a spacious terrace. The place invites you to dream and brings you back to the sphere and elegance of colonial times.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but the suites are just great! Enjoy the spa facilities in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuraVida-HCT, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Turire, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Casa Turire.
It was lovely to have you with us and we are glad you enjoyed our Spa!
We hope you have you again!
Kind regards from Casa Turire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa Turire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Turire

Also Known As:
Casa Turire Hotel
Hotel Casa Turire Costa Rica/Turrialba
Address: Turrialba, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Turrialba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Turire 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Casa Turire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Turire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.